Cover image for Odin
Logo

Odin

Is this your company?

Odin

Add a Review

Odin Reviews

Updated Jul 20, 2018

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 7 of over 7 reviews
3.3
54% Recommend to a Friend

Found 7 of over 7 reviews

3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
Odin President  Ken Thompsen (no image)
Ken Thompsen
0 Rating

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

497

70 Comments

Tech

469.6K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Odin~685277
Join the conversation on
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Small, fun team

    Jul 20, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I enjoy working at Odin. Employees are give the freedom to work on whatever projects they like. Established company so there's not a ton of stress. Fantastic work life balance. A close-knit team that enjoy working with each other.

    Cons

    Eccentric desktop apps. Lack of communication from certain remote employees.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Good, but blot takes a toll

    Aug 31, 2015 - Huskarl in Valhalla, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good career opporunities. Great benefits package. Godly peers

    Cons

    None. Cannot fault this place.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the Odin team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Very relaxed environment

    Dec 6, 2017 - Technical Support in Somerville, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The work is learn-as-you-go. The work environment is very relaxed and not stressful at all. Whatever you're interested in, you can work on by helping out in multiple areas. The employees are very kind and add to the feeling of a relaxed work environment. I never felt as though I had to take work home or was forced to work late. I worked here as a temp while I was between jobs, and it was a nice way to work and get paid, without having work stress pile up on you.

    Cons

    In order to gain more responsibilities or learn new skills, you really have to chase it yourself. No one will drop opportunities in your lap

    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Great employer

    Jul 21, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Small company, possibilities to make a change. Good work/ life balance. Easy access to fund managers. Good overview of the organisation. Generous holiday policy

    Cons

    Became more centralized. Most of the pros listed above became less and less frequent. The direction of the company was not clearly communicated to all of its employees

    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    "I would work here as a contractor again but I couldn't see myself longterm here"

    Dec 8, 2014 - Technical Support in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The other people that worked there were very helpful when they weren't busy dealing with there own problems. They were considerate when I requested a day off.

    Cons

    The work environment was the living room of a house. There was no privacy from anyone. The work was very demanding at some points and at other points there was nothing going on.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Contractor

    Just a waste of time

    Jun 11, 2018 - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Friendly People -Minamilistic work during school off season

    Cons

    -I worked as a temp for three months and was allowed to ask for full time after one, but when i was pressing to be paid salary, I saw he had hired 2 extra people while beating around the bush. Not only that, he had made me train one of the new employees a day before I was let go. That was not only extremely unprofessional but degrading. I was a diligent worker who got along with everyone in the office, but the boss cited that the job wasn't a 'fit'.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    total chaos

    Sep 23, 2014 - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I had a lot of freedom, got some pretty great experience here, dropping into the very deep end of the pool of information technology. I had previously had zero job experience in technical support or any kind of development, and wound up doing extensive support for a wide variety of things, and acting as lead / sole developer for one project.

    Cons

    I got to take on any project I liked - because the company was totally disorganized. During the six months that I worked here, I created most of the documentation the company currently uses (to my knowledge). Here's a tip, kids: if someone's trying to hire you to pick up a project built by another developer, and you ask him, "So, what version control are you using?" and he goes "What's that?" and he's been the lead developer and CEO of the company for ~20 years and is currently the only developer involved, that's your cue to RUN LIKE HELL. I sure wish I had. Also, the organization is so small and relies so heavily on burning through temporary workers that there is no opportunity for advancement and extremely high turnover.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 English Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Odin Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Odin? Share Your Experiences

Odin logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

  • Technical Support(2)

Odin Photos

+ Add Photo
Odin photo of: Odin (Former Parallels)

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Odin Job Seekers Also Viewed

Parallels Logo
Parallels

4.0

165 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 7 Odin reviews submitted anonymously by Odin employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Odin is right for you.