Odyssey Charter School Reviews | Glassdoor

Odyssey Charter School Reviews

Updated May 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Nick Manolakos
5 Ratings
  1. "An Educational Home for All"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Instructional Aid in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Odyssey Charter School full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      I adore Odyssey Charter School in Las Vegas, Nevada and feel so lucky to be a part of their middle school team! I was a substitute teacher with CCSD for many years when I began to have that sense that there must be more, there must be a better way to have a greater impact in the lives of the students I work with. As I began to weigh my options within CCSD, I was introduced to Odyssey Charter School. I didn’t think...

      Show More

      Cons

      I haven't discovered one. Having been given the opportunity to make a difference for Las Vegas students has been a pleasure.

      Odyssey Charter School2019-04-05
    • "Good until it's not (Newnan, GA)"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Teacher in Newnan, GA

      I have been working at Odyssey Charter School full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Coworkers are friendly School will purchase supplies for you Good location

      Cons

      Small school means small politics. If you make the wrong person mad, you can lose your job easily, even over something small and not professionally related. Almost no subs are ever available. If specials teachers are out, you have to keep the class.

      Odyssey Charter School2019-05-25
    • "Excellent Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Math Teacher in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Odyssey Charter School full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      I have worked at Odyssey Charter School in Las Vegas for 17 years. It is a hybrid program, where lessons are delivered online, and students come in to the school once a week, for 4 hours. During this time, teachers, working in teams, rotate into the classroom to deliver direct instruction. We have an excellent student to teacher ratio. Class size ranges from 18-25 students, and there are usually 3-5 instructors in...

      Show More

      Cons

      Our students only come in one day a week, as their curriculum is online, so we don't get to see them daily.

      Odyssey Charter School2019-04-04
    • "Caring School in Las Vegas"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Middle School Teacher in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Odyssey Charter School full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      This is the eighth year I've worked at Odyssey Charter School in Las Vegas, and I am so thankful I found this school. It's a wonderful community that has continued to improve every year, with more of an emphasis on teamwork than most schools. They offer the same pay and benefits as the district. The culture of the school is very caring and respectful, toward both students and staff.

      Cons

      The school grows and changes some every year.

      Odyssey Charter School2019-03-20
    • "Teacher - Las Vegas, NV (2 years)"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Teacher in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Odyssey Charter School full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      We are a 5-star school! I have died and gone to Teaching Heaven! This is the first district/school, in 20+ years of teaching, that I actually get to teach and make a difference with the students. The students get the help they need and the staff is not burdened down with the nonsense of that is found in other districts/schools nationwide. NOTE: The Las Vegas OCS is not affiliated with the Florida or Delaware OCS that...

      Show More

      Cons

      NONE! - Well almost, we still have a few students that will not do their work, even after giving them multiple chances and working with them 1 on 1 - but dosen't everyone. NOTE: The Las Vegas OCS is not affiliated with the Florida or Delaware OCS that is getting the negative reviews on this site. We are a 5-star school with top staff and Excellent Administration from the top down.

      Advice to Management

      Work with Glassdoor to get Odyssey CharterSchool Las Vegas reviews separated from the Reviews linked to the OCS in Florida or Delaware.

      Odyssey Charter School2019-03-20
    • "Hidden Gem"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Teacher in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Odyssey Charter School full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Supportive administration. Competitive pay. Insurance. PERS.

      Cons

      Everything about this student focused culture and environment is positive.

      Odyssey Charter School2019-03-14
    • "AMAZING!!!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Teacher 

      I have been working at Odyssey Charter School full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      This school fully supports its teachers. We are encouraged to focus on providing the highest quality education. Administration takes care of students or issues that normally would take teachers away from teaching responsibilities.

      Cons

      Teachers only get to physically work 1-2 hours per week with their students. All other lessons are completed via the online curriculum.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the incredible job of having education at the forefront of all your decisions.

      Odyssey Charter School2019-03-14
    • Helpful (1)

      "Teacher"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Special Education Teacher in Palm Bay, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Odyssey Charter School full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Teachers are very helpful with helping one another.

      Cons

      Can't trust what the upper management is telling you. They would rather have you take zero PTO days.

      Advice to Management

      Be honest about what is really going on and what your job will be.

      Odyssey Charter School2018-06-08
    • "OCS School"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I have been working at Odyssey Charter School full-time

      Pros

      Teacher to teacher support is unmatched. Young and lively staff.

      Cons

      You forfeit a percentage of a normal teacher salary working at this Charter School.

      Advice to Management

      Teachers are on the frontlines and many feel as if they have no voice in any decisions that are made.

      Odyssey Charter School2017-04-12
    • "Horrible Educational Environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Teacher 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Odyssey Charter School for more than a year

      Pros

      Many of the teachers are of high caliber and seek to support students.

      Cons

      Students have mostly failed out of traditional schools. Terrible communication between parents, teachers, and admin. They go through admin like babies go through diapers. We lost both APs and went for half a year with just a bumbling principal who was at a different campus half the time. No real collaboration. Nothing but teaching to the test and trying to boost enrollment.

      Advice to Management

      Get real leadership.

      Odyssey Charter School2017-05-04
    Found 15 reviews