Odysseys Unlimited Reviews | Glassdoor

Odysseys Unlimited Reviews

Updated Sep 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
83%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Odysseys Unlimited President Bruce Epstein
Bruce Epstein
15 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Wonderful place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Odysseys Unlimited full-time

    Pros

    Those working at Odysseys Unlimited truly care about their employees and colleagues. Management understands the concept that if you take care of your employees, your employees will take care of the business and its customers. Quality standards are high and I feel good about the tours and service we provide to travelers. There are many opportunities to grow within the company for those willing to put in the time and commitment. And benefits just get better and better the longer you stay! Benefits go beyond the traditional 401(k) company matching and medical insurance (which are extremely competitive!) and include charity events, the opportunity to give back to our community, fresh fruit (it’s the little things), wellness programs focused on mental and physical well-being, as well as company lunches and bonuses. I’ve enjoyed my time at Odysseys so far and I look forward to continuing on my career path here.

    Show More

    Cons

    Fortunately, there aren't any from my perspective!

    Odysseys Unlimited2019-07-15
  2. "Truly a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A in Newton, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Odysseys Unlimited full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I love it here.; the people are great, the atmosphere is relaxed (without being unorganized), and you aren't micromanaged. I prefer to come in, do my job, and go home, without having to report every single thing I'm doing to my manager - and that's my life here (I would assume this varies from dept. to dept. and only as long as you're meeting your deadlines). The Human Resources department is very fair - I came from a company who played favorites, but Odysseys truly weighs out everything to make sure things are fair, which is appreciated. Also- the benefits are great!

    Show More

    Cons

    While some of the company outings and special events can be really great, I find myself wishing the company would put some of that money towards bonuses or some sort of compensation for the employees. Not many people in the company make a ton of money, so to have a Christmas bonus or higher salary would be more appreciated than one of the wellness classes or company lunches (that being said, I still appreciate the outings and the work that goes into them). Also, the option to work from home once or twice a week would be IDEAL. For those of us who have really long commutes and jobs within the company that can be done 100% from home, it would really make a world of a difference to be able to have that option.

    Show More
    Odysseys Unlimited2019-09-30
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great company with great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newton, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Odysseys Unlimited full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Odysseys’ views employees as their most valuable resource. I truly feel supported by my manager and know my thoughts and ideas are valued. We have an open dialogue in regards to my professional growth and I feel supported in my career path. Management understands the value of their staff and decisions are made based on what is most beneficial to the employees. There are various examples of this from the great benefit package to company sponsored events. My favorite is the chair massages and pedometer contest! Everyone is very friendly and there is a positive atmosphere when you walk into the office. They value hard work and believe in promoting from within. Odysseys’ truly believes in a work life balance with 37.5-hour work weeks and a generous time off policy. As a travel company, they encourage employees to use their time off to experience the world.

    Show More

    Cons

    The company has grown quite a bit over the past few years. With the continued growth, it has been hard to maintain the small company vibe, but management does a great job to stay connected to employees.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to employee feedback on suggestions or interests to keep employees engaged.

    Odysseys Unlimited2019-08-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not the best fit for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Odysseys Unlimited full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits, travel perks, and a decent amount of experience working in the travel/hospitality industry. CEO Bruce Epstein is a very personable professional and amazing at what he does.

    Cons

    Growth is at a standstill which is dependent on your department. It’s best to start as a Travel Counselor and work your way up to a department that you want to grow in. Also FAMs aren’t every two years as advertised when you first become employed. Some departments get to travel more than others. Company culture is okay and all, with company lunches, random events and the annual double Christmas party that happens. Cliquey behavior was quite uncomfortable as it made social events outside of work interesting and quite uneventful at that.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get to know your employees. Make them feel valued and important for the job that they are there to do and offer support if requested and/or needed. Remember that people stay at a job if they are valued and appreciated.

    Odysseys Unlimited2019-08-17
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Not for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Odysseys Unlimited full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Generous time off, flexible schedule (department dependent), competitive insurance plan. FAM trips a nice perk but not competitive anymore (1 FAM trip every 2-3 years depending on dept.); The work was easy and people friendly. HR department sticks to open door policy and are willing to listen to concerns.

    Cons

    Salary not competitive (department dependent), company spends too much money on wellness program which prevents employees from being paid more (and not all can/want to take advantage); depending on which department you work for your experience could wildly differ, many positions open up due to high turnover and growth but they are lateral moves so no pay increase despite higher workload and responsibility; some senior management are unwilling to adapt to change within the company/refuses to learn new reservations system/hate technology; growing within the company takes a LONG time and usually only title change and salary increase but no actual growth in responsibilities (there are supervisors in company who do not supervise anyone); depending on dept. yearly reviews are late and employees are expected to figure out own path of growth and ask for more work on their own; a lot of job is dedicated to covering for coworkers since everyone is always taking advantage of all the time off. This is a social company, everyone knows each other and hangs out after work, but it also means that some departments are cliquey and don't take their work seriously and spend a lot of time chatting. There is a lot of drama and gossip within the company and gets passed around like it's high school. You can actually walk through the office and see many people shopping online instead of doing work. People take advantage of lax time stamp program and take longer lunches or hour-long coffee breaks plus lunch and no one cares. I think the company prides itself on being easygoing, but this encourages others to slack off and makes the company seem unprofessional. Not saying this is inherently bad, but it's not for me.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If your valuable employees tell you exactly what they need to feel better supported, listen to them and work with them before they move on. Acknowledge the issues, address the issues, and take action in a timely manner. Do not let months go by without follow up and pretending that everything is ok. Watch out for bad eggs in your department. Some people radiate negativity and take advantage of lax company policies and brings other people down with them. PRO TIP for prospective employees: During your interview, no matter which position, ask if you can sit with a Travel Counselor and listen to their calls. Ask them about the department position you are applying for. Travel Counselors are the best resource for knowing how each department works/how dysfunctional they are.

    Show More
    Odysseys Unlimited2019-07-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great people, benefits, and interesting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Copywriter in Newton, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Odysseys Unlimited full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people here are wonderful. I've met a ton of friends here and we hang out outside of work all the time, and everyone that I've worked with is smart, professional, and easy to get along with. The benefits package is really competitive, with great health care, a nice flexible schedule, and solid time off. Also, the work we do is super interesting, as I've learned about the history and culture from places all around the globe just from working here.

    Show More

    Cons

    It's not a huge company so there aren't many structured opportunities for promotion, depending on how big your department is.

    Odysseys Unlimited2019-06-11
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Department Dependent - beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Odysseys Unlimited full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary is decent, benefit package is unbeatable. Great co-workers, friendliest HR staff. President is a nice guy, but he won't know bother to learn your name unless you've been there for years.

    Cons

    The way each department is treated and valued is wildly different, as well as the management styles in each dept. If you land in a dept with poor mgmnt, you will be talked down to constantly and overly-criticized. Don't dream of voicing your own opinion. On top of this, they make no attempt to adapt for the current work environments. No fun perks offered, not even happy hours. Turnover is crazy high in some depts. Lateral moves only, promotions are very rare.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get all your managers to treat their employees fairly and equally. Streamline training in all departments, not just the ones w/ high turnover.

    Odysseys Unlimited2019-03-28
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent company with strong leadership and competitive benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Odysseys Unlimited full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Odysseys is lead by an experienced management team that values the contribution of each employee and recognizes and rewards achievement with bonuses, promotions, and travel and development opportunities. The company nurtures a professional, positive, and supportive work environment in which the owner puts our employees and our travelers ahead of the bottom line while continuing to be highly successful. This philosophy starts from the top down and is truly a unique thing in the business world! The salaries and benefits are competitive and the company offers perks such as fresh fruit deliveries and chair massages, as well as routinely celebrating employee milestones and company successes.

    Show More

    Cons

    Continue to be open to change and new ideas.

    Advice to Management

    Maintain Odysseys unique identity and values as we continue to grow.

    Odysseys Unlimited2018-08-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Odysseys Unlimited full-time

    Pros

    - Great perks (FAM trips, benefits, e.t.c.). - Great job for recent college grad looking to get into the hospitality sector/industry.

    Cons

    - Salary is on the low end and not competitive within the job market. - Upward mobility is at a standstill in most departments.

    Advice to Management

    I would say to honestly try your best to approach your employees in a positive way and make them happy to work at Odysseys.

    Odysseys Unlimited2018-08-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newton, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Odysseys Unlimited full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It’s a family atmosphere. Everyone truly cares about their jobs, they go above and beyond constantly because they believe in the company. Travel perks every now and then are great. It really helps keep up morale and helps us with our jobs.

    Cons

    Pay is too low for employees that have been there for a long time because most moves within the company are considered “lateral” even if your new role has more responsibilities, or would be difficult to accomplish without prior experience at the company. There is virtually no way to move up pay wise in the company, short of becoming a manager or supervisor (which don’t open often). I think this is why people have been leaving at a more consistent rate.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Contemplate changing the lateral move policies, it’s really discouraging as a travel counselor to work very hard and get “promoted” and take on more responsibility for the same pay.

    Odysseys Unlimited2018-07-19
Found 22 reviews