Odysseys Unlimited Reviews

Updated Mar 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
87%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Odysseys Unlimited President Bruce Epstein
Bruce Epstein
22 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company

    Mar 19, 2021 - Copywriter in Newton, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Strong leadership, accountable coworkers, positive culture, fantastic product offerings!

    Cons

    Digital marketing seemed a lesser priority

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Odysseys Unlimited Response

    VP of Marketing

    Thank you for your positive comments! Leadership, accountability, and a positive culture are important to us at Odysseys, and we appreciate that you noted these elements of the company. And, it is duly noted that digital marketing has been a lesser priority for us, though we have definitely stepped it up during the pandemic. Our goal now is to build on that growth. Again, our thanks for offering your opinion here.

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Treated as a valued person

    Jan 31, 2021 - Travel Counselor in Newton, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have always felt valued and respected from day 1 of the job.

    Cons

    Non-essential role. Pandemic hit hard

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Odysseys Unlimited Response

    Human Resources

    We really appreciate you sharing this with us. As a company, we have been working to emerge from this challenging year even stronger - and will only succeed because of the contributions of all of our dedicated, talented employees. Thank you! Danielle P., Vice President Human Resources

  3. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Great people, horrible flexibility in schedule

    Mar 2, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bruce CEO is fantastic Free FAM trip Great coworkers Casual dress code

    Cons

    Extremely strict schedule - even told when to take lunches with no flexibility Fight for all vacation days off Not treated as professional adults - more like an adult day-care situation

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Odysseys Unlimited Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to review your work experience at Odysseys Unlimited. We agree that FAM trips are a great benefit and we do work with wonderful people! We understand the importance of work-life balance and how essential it is to take time off to recharge (and travel if possible!). Use of vacation and personal time is encouraged and we apologize if that wasn’t your experience. While we try to be as flexible as possible, we also recognize that some positions within the company, namely those that are customer facing, require a more structured schedule in order to be available to our guests during advertised office hours. This includes a scheduled lunch hour that can be switched with co-workers. Scheduled time off is essential to all employees and coordinating schedules so that requests can be approved whenever possible is a priority. It is important to us to balance the vacation needs of all department members while also ensuring adequate coverage so we can continuously provide exceptional customer service to our guests. We are always striving to improve and appreciate your candid comments. Sara T., Vice President Guest Services

  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company to work for

    Mar 4, 2021 - Travel Consultant in Newton, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people. Owner is very involved. FAM trips

    Cons

    Low pay. No potential for growth

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Odysseys Unlimited Response

    Human Resources Coordinator

    Thank you for your taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your colleagues and we agree that taking an Odysseys Tour (FAM trips) is a pro! Bruce, Odysseys’ President, values working closely with our employees here in the Newton office, as well as our Tour Directors abroad. We are a small company, so sometimes opportunities to advance take longer than they would at a larger one. Because of that, we strive to provide professional development at all levels, including our tuition reimbursement benefit, and to promote from within whenever possible. Thanks again for your feedback. Caitlin C., Manager, Human Resources

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Wonderful Working Environment

    Oct 21, 2020 - Operations 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Supervisors and Management team are all courteous and truly care about their employees. The company has a strong commitment to diversity and inclusion. Great benefits and lots of room for job growth.

    Cons

    Pay is a bit low

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Odysseys Unlimited Response

    Human Resources Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to hear about your positive experience with your supervisors and management. We believe we have created an environment that is kind and supportive and it sounds like that has been your experience at Odysseys. The company’s diversity, equity and inclusion initiatives are of critical importance to us and we are looking forward to continuing this work together as a company. Regarding the pay scale, we strive to offer competitive wages for our industry and are happy to be able to offer comprehensive benefits including a fully vested 401k employer match, a generous medical plan and vacation policy and discounted tours. Caitlin C., Manager, Human Resources

  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Very nice place to work

    Oct 1, 2020 - Accounts Payable in Newton, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People are really nice, manager very knowledgeable. Lots of training opportunity

    Cons

    Not very diversity, even doing worldwide travel

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Odysseys Unlimited Response

    Human Resources

    We are happy to hear that your experience at Odysseys was a positive one that included knowledgeable managers and training opportunities. It is one of the company’s goals to provide training at all levels across the company and to promote from within. We also appreciate your feedback regarding diversity. We know that we can always do more and be better, and with a strategic approach, we will continue with our commitment to increase diversity across the organization and in the travel industry. Danielle P., Vice President Human Resources

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Truly a great place to work

    Sep 30, 2019 - N/A in Newton, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love it here.; the people are great, the atmosphere is relaxed (without being unorganized), and you aren't micromanaged. I prefer to come in, do my job, and go home, without having to report every single thing I'm doing to my manager - and that's my life here (I would assume this varies from dept. to dept. and only as long as you're meeting your deadlines). The Human Resources department is very fair - I came from a company who played favorites, but Odysseys truly weighs out everything to make sure things are fair, which is appreciated. Also- the benefits are great!

    Cons

    While some of the company outings and special events can be really great, I find myself wishing the company would put some of that money towards bonuses or some sort of compensation for the employees. Not many people in the company make a ton of money, so to have a Christmas bonus or higher salary would be more appreciated than one of the wellness classes or company lunches (that being said, I still appreciate the outings and the work that goes into them). Also, the option to work from home once or twice a week would be IDEAL. For those of us who have really long commutes and jobs within the company that can be done 100% from home, it would really make a world of a difference to be able to have that option.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Odysseys Unlimited Response

    Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We are happy to hear that you love the working environment at Odysseys! We hear and appreciate your constructive feedback regarding company events. We continue to strive to be a great place to work and believe in creating an inclusive and healthy environment that fosters community and wellness, which is why we put such a focus on events that bring us together and provide opportunities for personal development. We are mindful of the cost of these programs and we don’t let them impact our compensation practices. Also know that we take each review to heart and will continue to evaluate work-from-home options and other benefits as they impact the needs of our employees. Again, thank you for your comments. – Caitlin C, Supervisor, Human Resources

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company with great people!

    Aug 5, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Newton, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Odysseys’ views employees as their most valuable resource. I truly feel supported by my manager and know my thoughts and ideas are valued. We have an open dialogue in regards to my professional growth and I feel supported in my career path. Management understands the value of their staff and decisions are made based on what is most beneficial to the employees. There are various examples of this from the great benefit package to company sponsored events. My favorite is the chair massages and pedometer contest! Everyone is very friendly and there is a positive atmosphere when you walk into the office. They value hard work and believe in promoting from within. Odysseys’ truly believes in a work life balance with 37.5-hour work weeks and a generous time off policy. As a travel company, they encourage employees to use their time off to experience the world.

    Cons

    The company has grown quite a bit over the past few years. With the continued growth, it has been hard to maintain the small company vibe, but management does a great job to stay connected to employees.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Odysseys Unlimited Response

    Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing your Odysseys’ experience with us. We appreciate your kind words and are happy to hear you feel supported and valued. We will continue to listen to feedback and strive to find ways to keep employees connected. Please continue to take advantage of chair massage and we look forward to another great pedometer contest in 2020! – Danielle P, Director Human Resources.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Wonderful place to work!

    Jul 15, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Those working at Odysseys Unlimited truly care about their employees and colleagues. Management understands the concept that if you take care of your employees, your employees will take care of the business and its customers. Quality standards are high and I feel good about the tours and service we provide to travelers. There are many opportunities to grow within the company for those willing to put in the time and commitment. And benefits just get better and better the longer you stay! Benefits go beyond the traditional 401(k) company matching and medical insurance (which are extremely competitive!) and include charity events, the opportunity to give back to our community, fresh fruit (it’s the little things), wellness programs focused on mental and physical well-being, as well as company lunches and bonuses. I’ve enjoyed my time at Odysseys so far and I look forward to continuing on my career path here.

    Cons

    Fortunately, there aren't any from my perspective!

    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Not the best fit for growth

    Aug 17, 2019 - Operations 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits, travel perks, and a decent amount of experience working in the travel/hospitality industry. CEO Bruce Epstein is a very personable professional and amazing at what he does.

    Cons

    Growth is at a standstill which is dependent on your department. It’s best to start as a Travel Counselor and work your way up to a department that you want to grow in. Also FAMs aren’t every two years as advertised when you first become employed. Some departments get to travel more than others. Company culture is okay and all, with company lunches, random events and the annual double Christmas party that happens. Cliquey behavior was quite uncomfortable as it made social events outside of work interesting and quite uneventful at that.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Odysseys Unlimited Response

    Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for your positive feedback along with your advice to management and comments about career growth. Growth can vary within departments and based on the needs of the business. Currently we are experiencing healthy growth with more opportunities and are committed to promoting from within. We do truly value all our employees and keep raising the bar with enhanced benefits, salaries, social activities and events to keep pace with what our employees are seeking. We appreciate your 8 year tenure and do realize that as a smaller company we may not meet all employees’ career expectations. Please know that we will use your feedback, as well as that from current employees, to continually learn, evaluate, and make changes as needed. – Claudia S. Executive Vice President

Viewing 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews

Popular Careers with Odysseys Unlimited Job Seekers

Air Operations Coordinator
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Manager, Product Development
Learn About the Job
Talent Acquisition Specialist
Learn About the Job
Senior Accounts Payable Specialist
Learn About the Job

Work at Odysseys Unlimited? Share Your Experiences

Odysseys Unlimited logo
or