Ogilvy Assistant Account Executive Reviews | Glassdoor

Ogilvy Assistant Account Executive Reviews

Updated Jul 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.1
12%
Recommend to a Friend
3%
Approve of CEO
Ogilvy Global CEO John Seifert
John Seifert
3 Ratings
  1. "More than just a name"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ogilvy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -amazing office -great culture -cool, SMART coworkers

    Cons

    -you need to fight for yourself here, nothing will be handed to you. which really could be seen as a pro also

    Ogilvy2016-08-01
  2. Helpful (2)

    "David Ogilvy is rolling in his grave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ogilvy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The opportunity to work with exceptionally talented people who are overworked and underpaid.

    Cons

    When I got to Ogilvy I was genuinely excited to be a part of a company with a storied history. I was ready to be a part of a team and grow as a young professional. However, my outlook quickly changed when the first all team meeting in my first week was our managing director telling us that our business with the client is being significantly reduced, which made me wonder why I was added to the team in the first place. In the coming months, nearly half of the sizable account and project management team left to other agencies, including both of the account execs I worked under as well as the account supervisor they worked under. I was left to work under a different account supervisor for a completely different part of the business that clearly didn't know what to do with me. After about a month of confusion I was kicked off the team and told it was due to my own incompetence with no concession of the horrible management of the team. After sitting at my desk with no team and nothing to do but look busy for a month while operations figured out what to do with me, I was put on a small team consisting only of an account director and supervisor, neither of which had the desire or time to train a junior. In addition, I was put on a pro-bono client as well as one of the agencies largest and most needy clients. Ironically, I worked well with this team and they definitely had the capacity to help me succeed, but my responsibilities with the other two clients would get in the way of my duties time and time again. Eventually my position was eliminated after a tumultuous of being passed from team to team and going from no work to too much work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your young people, don't treat them like a commodity.

    Ogilvy2019-07-25
  3. Helpful (2)

    "In serious trouble"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Account Executive in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ogilvy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Looks good on resumes, fast-paced, and will learn a lot if you are young

    Cons

    Ogilvy as a whole is struggling as they "restructure". Keep that in mind when considering a role with them. They are not stable right now. In DC: Management constantly makes you feel undervalued as an entry level employee b/c management did not make time to train new/young employees, no HR in dc office, employees were not team oriented and people were out for their own personal and professional gain, the clients suffered all the time, certain staff were overworked and it reflected in their ability to be more team oriented or go the extra mile for their coworkers or clients, its not a very fun or social office

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Respect that new and younger employees may take more time to grow, be available to help them and at least pretend like you are interested in their growth. Some type of office bonding events could help smooth the awkward social gaps.

    Ogilvy2019-01-14
  4. "Assistant Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ogilvy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Collaborative, plenty of opportunities to be exposed to senior leadership

    Cons

    Can be too cliquey and a little uptight

    Ogilvy2017-12-18
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Robotic and unhealthy environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Account Executive in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ogilvy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learned a lot during my time here, whether or not most of it was from being relied on for extensive administrative work Decent training Big agency

    Cons

    Was not given one writing opportunity during my tenure They hire you if you are "moldable" rather than based on what you can bring to the table and your personality You have no chance of getting promoted under two years and there is hardly any room for growth Toxic work environment where senior leaders do not lead by example, will micro-manage you, not give you any independence, steal credit for themselves Horrible HR support No work-life balance

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire better senior-level people who can actually provide mentorship to your juniors. Don't forget your junior level staff will one day be the leaders of the company, so invest in them! Bring back the fun perks that once existed.

    Ogilvy2017-11-07
  6. "You Can't Beat the People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ogilvy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There truly is no culture like Ogilvy's. When they say it's a family the mean it.

    Cons

    That said, no family is perfect. Upward mobility in for title and salary can be a little tricky.

    Ogilvy2017-01-25
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great for learning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ogilvy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun office space You will learn a lot from intelligent, curious colleagues Lots of training opportunities

    Cons

    Typical agency, long hours Most projects are shared with different departments which require constant follow ups Very fast-paced

    Ogilvy2015-11-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ogilvy

    Pros

    Everyone enjoys working there even though the hours are long.

    Cons

    The long hours and work grind.

    Ogilvy2015-05-09
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Ogilvy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Ogilvy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team. Many learning opportunities. Wide exposure.

    Cons

    Low pay. No transparency in future prospects of career.

    Ogilvy2015-01-28
  10. "Long working hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Account Executive in Taipei
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ogilvy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You are able to work with a lot of big name companies

    Cons

    Low pay and long working hours(11-13hr/day average). Usually don't get paid overtime

    Advice to Management

    I don't feel the management levels care about their employees that much. So staff turnover is very high. But the opportunity to work for big companies still attracts people, especially fresh graduates, to join our company.

    Ogilvy2018-11-07
Found 17 reviews