Ogilvy Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Intern

Ogilvy Intern Reviews

Updated Jan 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Ogilvy Global CEO John Seifert
John Seifert
16 Ratings
  1. "Great place to learn about a career in advertising!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Strategy Intern 

    I worked at Ogilvy

    Pros

    They give the interns a lot of freedom

    Cons

    Not a lot of freedom to chose what department you want to work in

    Ogilvy2020-01-14
  2. "Cool place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Intern in New York, NY

    I have been working at Ogilvy for less than a year

    Pros

    -fun -cool people -lots of benefits -horizontal movement is possible

    Cons

    -whether your projects are interesting or not depends on where you're assigned -people can be huge hardos

    Ogilvy2019-12-03
  3. "Fun work environment, Low salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Account Management Intern 

    I worked at Ogilvy for less than a year

    Pros

    They make the work environment very fun to work in, there is a pool table and a large balcony with a bar.

    Cons

    The salary is generally low, even for full-time employees. But this is common in all the 4A big advertising agencies.

    Ogilvy2019-09-29
  4. "Great summer internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Intern - Summer Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ogilvy for less than a year

    Pros

    Great relationship with HR Lots of learning opportunities and intern activities Seeing exciting client work The office is really nice (rooftop and gym) and there is free ice cream on Tuesdays and happy hour on Thursdays

    Cons

    Location of the office is really hard to get to but shuttles really help Employees work LONG hours No return offers (but such is the world of advertising)

    Advice to Management

    Give your interns work, they want to learn!

    Ogilvy2019-08-15
  5. "Confused and Dissapointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ogilvy for less than a year

    Pros

    -group of interns was a blast -networking -learning the basics of a full service agency

    Cons

    Lack of diversity, cliquey atmosphere similar to a high school, and no potential for growth. It seems as though the white male creatives have established their careers while younger junior employees cycle in just for the name on their resume. Interns were barely acknowledged, and support was not given. We could sit for hours with no work, even when asking our teams if we could help. The intern project and lunch-and-learns were nice, but expected minimums for an agency of this stature. Could not see myself working here. Underpaid and under-appreciated. I wish I could say I learned more. If you are a undergrad student looking to learn about the industry, weigh your options carefully.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop 'recruiting' interns via connections. Take the kids who put in the work into applying and it'll benefit in your favor. Let the interns know you appreciate their work and give them opportunities to explore a future at the company.

    Ogilvy2019-08-30
  6. "A wonderful experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Strategy Intern in New York, NY

    I worked at Ogilvy for less than a year

    Pros

    As an intern, we have access to: - Great mentors with years of experience and great openness to help out new people. - Good program to educate and integrate interns of different backgrounds. - Open discussions on the floor. - Good pay to interns compared to other agencies.

    Cons

    - Not many downsizes. - There are some confusion during the transitional re-branding period, but I lack the seniority to remark fairly on this.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up with you are doing.

    Ogilvy2019-05-07
  7. "Really great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Finance Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ogilvy for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart people, relaxed and fun work environment, great company name for resume

    Cons

    Working on 11th Ave in hells kitchen

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    Ogilvy2019-04-07
  8. "Incredible Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Business Development Intern in New York, NY

    I have been working at Ogilvy for less than a year

    Pros

    Challenging work and co-workers are great

    Cons

    The forced intern lunches aren't always tailored to intern's interests

    Ogilvy2019-02-06
  9. "Hopeful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern - Hourly in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ogilvy for less than a year

    Pros

    There are a bunch of opportunities to get involved in projects not directly tied to assigned accounts and the environment encourages curiosity.

    Cons

    A lot of empty promises for necessary culture shifts.

    Advice to Management

    Don't just talk about diversity... seek it out in talent and make intentional strides to retain it.

    Ogilvy2018-06-29
  10. "Ogilvy Summer Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ogilvy for less than a year

    Pros

    Hands-on experience, visibility with upper management

    Cons

    Not a good work-life balance

    Advice to Management

    Need more diversity on the executive level

    Ogilvy2018-04-24
Found 120 reviews