Ogilvy Public Relations Reviews | Glassdoor

Ogilvy Public Relations Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 240 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Ogilvy Public Relations CEO Stuart Smith
Stuart Smith
100 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "long hours; what work-life balance(in 38 reviews)

  • "Long hours, restructuring hampered growth, below average salaries(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Account Suoervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ogilvy Public Relations full-time

    Pros

    Collaborative environment, smart people to work with - inspired creativity!

    Cons

    Very long hours, some managers were not pleasant to work for

    Advice to Management

    Don't keep people as managers that shouldn't be managing people! It sends the good people out the door quickly

    Ogilvy Public Relations2018-07-10
  2. "Good agency and nice perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Ogilvy Public Relations full-time

      Pros

      Agency offers a great name on your resume and has a good support system to ensure you're not overworked

      Cons

      Could work on integrating services and office services better. Slow with raises and promotions

      Advice to Management

      Incentivization could improve for employees deserving of recognition

      Ogilvy Public Relations2018-03-21
    • Helpful (6)

      "Ogilvy PR in DC = Understaffed, overworked, absent leadership, rock bottom morale"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Ogilvy Public Relations full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Ogilvy's legacy draws talent and appeals prospective clients. Decent pay and benefits. Nice office space in a good location in DC.

      Cons

      Unfortunately, the Washington, DC office is an afterthought in the Ogilvy network. It's like we don't exist. The office is understaffed (be prepared to wear multiple hats and do the work of 2-3 people), overworked (long evenings and weekends), underappreciated (no bonuses or recognition) and underfunded (lack of training and tools). The morale is rock bottom. The 3 group heads cannot agree on how to function. Little...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Management? What's that?

      Ogilvy Public Relations2018-04-19
    • "Great company culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Ogilvy Public Relations part-time

      Pros

      Great management, very team oriented!

      Cons

      Hours tend to be long.

      Ogilvy Public Relations2018-03-08
    • "Assistant Account Executive"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Account Executive in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Ogilvy Public Relations full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Collaborative, plenty of opportunities to be exposed to senior leadership

      Cons

      Can be too cliquey and a little uptight

      Ogilvy Public Relations2017-12-18
    • "Terrible culture in the DC office"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Associate Director in Washington, DC
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Ogilvy Public Relations full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Many wonderful, talented, smart, hard-working colleagues.

      Cons

      Management was truly terrible - from HR to senior group leaders. It led to massive turnover in staff. Horrendous work/life balance. It was very different from the other office cultures in OPR across the US.

      Ogilvy Public Relations2017-12-05
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great People, High turnover, Billable hours focused"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Ogilvy Public Relations full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      - The Ogilvy name will help get you future jobs. - They have some good benefits like Summer Friday, Close for 1 week during Christmas - The people are great. Not sure about upper management.

      Cons

      - They rarely give out raises. It's nearly impossible to get a raise unless you are upper management. It's confusing on how someone can get a raise. - You will work lots of hours. - Not a lot of work/life balance. - They used to have happy hour and other fun events but have removed several of the benefits that made the culture great to work at. - They used to have awards for the best employee but now they switched...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Give out raises and bring back events to bring employees together. Happy Hour can't be that much to fund

      Ogilvy Public Relations2017-11-15
    • Helpful (2)

      "Robotic and unhealthy environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Account Executive in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Ogilvy Public Relations full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Learned a lot during my time here, whether or not most of it was from being relied on for extensive administrative work Decent training Big agency

      Cons

      Was not given one writing opportunity during my tenure They hire you if you are "moldable" rather than based on what you can bring to the table and your personality You have no chance of getting promoted under two years and there is hardly any room for growth Toxic work environment where senior leaders do not lead by example, will micro-manage you, not give you any independence, steal credit for themselves Horrible...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Hire better senior-level people who can actually provide mentorship to your juniors. Don't forget your junior level staff will one day be the leaders of the company, so invest in them! Bring back the fun perks that once existed.

      Ogilvy Public Relations2017-11-07
    • "Great place to learn and grow in your career - not great for life outside work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Ogilvy Public Relations full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Was empowered in a junior-level role to manage clients and execute campaigns allowing me to learn quickly and grow in my career. I would recommend to other entry-level PR pros who are looking to learn and advance quickly, but not as a long-term career prospect.

      Cons

      Experience varied dramatically depending on your supervisor. Some incredible leaders and path-blazers. No work-life balance. Ogilvy PR was in a hiring freeze at this time which also limited the ability to compensate and promote staff appropriately.

      Ogilvy Public Relations2017-10-04
    • "Great team, hard work, but great support system"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Ogilvy Public Relations full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The clients were really great and I loved my team. My manager fought for me to get a bonus and a promotion. Hard work, but really smart people.

      Cons

      If you don't have someone to fight for you, you will not get a promotion or raise The industry in general has terrible hours and low salaries, not just specific to this company, but it leads to a lot of turnover.

      Advice to Management

      Try to reward those that work hard and do great work before they are ready to leave.

      Ogilvy Public Relations2017-09-29
    Found 240 reviews