Ogilvy "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Ogilvy Reviews

Updated Oct 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Ogilvy Global CEO John Seifert
John Seifert
291 Ratings
  1. "Great work environment. Long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ogilvy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Creative work environment with lots of smart people

    Cons

    More innovation and experimenting with new ideas.

    Advice to Management

    More training.

    Ogilvy2016-07-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Overworked, not guided and under paid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ogilvy full-time

    Pros

    Work environment is great - offers different networks to connect with others

    Cons

    - NO mentors - with the politics that's happening, no one cares to nurture future leaders - HORRIBLE pay - the fact that you're expected to work 10+ hour days for scrap of change is insulting. Also, when it's identified that certain people are "reaping from the promotion pool" aka senior leaderships are protecting their bonuses

    Advice to Management

    With the recent climate at Ogilvy, it is imperative that Ogilvy reevaluates how they treat their employees as they're on the front lines to do great work. Also, Ogilvy needs to get out the "traditional" mindset and start to go for new opportunities to bring life back into the agency. If not, we're going to keep losing great talent.

    Ogilvy2016-07-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Front-end digital intern at Redworks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Ogilvy

    Pros

    Good and modern working environment. Close to subway station. Work with cool and chic people. Big boss sits just two tables away from me.

    Cons

    Off-work always too late till 7-8pm. Need to improve their efficiency during designing and discussing.

    Ogilvy2016-05-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "working at ogilvy and mother"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Quality Assurance Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ogilvy for less than a year

    Pros

    I loved the working environment which was full of fun.

    Cons

    sometimes working for long hours

    Ogilvy2016-03-25
  5. "PR Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Ogilvy

    Pros

    Very fast-pace working environment where you have no choice but to learn new things all the time.

    Cons

    Stressful, I have to say. I sacrificed a lot of weekends and OT all the time.

    Ogilvy2016-02-23
  6. "Creative Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

    I have been working at Ogilvy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart people, great benefits, good working environment.

    Cons

    Large company, stressful working conditions at times,.

    Advice to Management

    Investment in management training and mentorship skills.

    Ogilvy2015-10-06
  7. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ogilvy

    Pros

    Very motivated work environment and friendly staff

    Cons

    Workplace bias and lack of opportunity for advancement.

    Ogilvy2015-09-12
  8. "Intern Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Finance Intern in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ogilvy

    Pros

    I am still constantly learning even though I have been working as an intern over three months at Ogilvy Atlanta Office. I am constantly delegated with lots of responsibilities, which helps me to learn and grow professionally in my field. Also, since the Atlanta office has such a superior working environment, I can reach out to almost anyone in the office when I have a question. Lastly, Ogilvy provides a special learning opportunity for interns through an intern project, for which I and my team members had to develop a marketing strategy for one of the Ogilvy's clients.

    Show More

    Cons

    The work can be busy sometimes. Even though you are allowed to leave at 5pm, you will not be able to finish the work if you leave early all the time. However,

    Ogilvy2015-08-20
  9. "Very hands-on and memorable experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ogilvy

    Pros

    Mentor was friendly and approachable, work environment was very stimulating, the staff was very international and diverse, work was exciting and challenging

    Cons

    Some segregation amongst expat and local staff, Working here is basically like working in a creative space/design lab so if you expect a highly formal and corporate environment this isn't the place for you

    Advice to Management

    Try to minimize segregation between expats and locals

    Ogilvy2015-05-06
  10. "Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Art Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ogilvy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    International brands, big budget accounts and production. Civil working environment, people are decent.

    Cons

    Mostly Business to Business accounts. A fair amount of layoffs.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the civility, go after consumer accounts. Keep creative management more consistent, too many changes.

    Ogilvy2015-02-06
Found 137 reviews