Ogilvy "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Ogilvy Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
70%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Ogilvy CEO John Seifert
John Seifert
286 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great experience--Ogilvy takes care of their interns"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Public Relations 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ogilvy for less than a year

    Pros

    Very caring team who dedicate a lot of their time to helping you understand more about the PR industry. Also, they give you real and meaningful work that you can see has an impact on their projects immediately, which was very gratifying.

    Cons

    Work life balance could be improved.

    Ogilvy2019-09-26
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Change is Constant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Ogilvy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work/life balance (better for some employees but not all), ability to work remotely, vacation time.

    Cons

    Low morale, layoffs or people leaving due to culture. Employees not wanting to go above and beyond anymore, lack of accountability, lack of bonuses and raises. Long hours. Constant changes and no improvements.

    Ogilvy2019-05-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Decent experience on a cool brand came with terrible work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ogilvy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tons of exposure with ownership of projects. I really did like the brands I worked on, they were interesting and engaging with the plus side of undergoing major strategy shifts that I got to support (even lead on some aspects). I cultivated relationships with senior company leadership that made it a bit easier to survive. Great for moms (though I am not one) and generally accommodating. I liked my immediate account... and strategy peers very much. From a perks standpoint, a cafe on the ground floor meant I didn't have to leave the building on busy days. The medical center in basement was amazing on days when I needed attention but had a major meeting to prep for (and my trip abroad - I got all my vaccines with minimal disruption to my project schedule).

    Show More

    Cons

    Creative genius/a**hole trope was very real (and surprisingly high up) and poorly managed by leadership that had the power to squash it. Unfortunately a few bad apples spoiled the bunch. I bore the brunt of the bad behavior on my team. As for work/life balance, I can likely count on two hands the number of days I worked an 8 hr day (with a 30min lunch break) over the course of two years. Found out at the end of... my tenure that I was paid less than other AEs on the team and in the building (despite my original attempts to negotiate a higher salary when offered the job). So that made the outrageous hours even harder to swallow. Lastly, as I was told, they call it "slow-gilvy for a reason." I could not seem to get promoted on the team and was told that an internal rotation w/a bump was unlikely.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to the people who suck culture dry, overwork your teams, and seem to hold promotions hostage. I would have stayed but for those few things. Hoping with the recent internal reorg, things have changed. There is a great history to this agency. Would love to see it thrive!

    Ogilvy2019-02-15
  4. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ogilvy

    Pros

    Awesome clients Great co-workers Cool projects Great offices

    Cons

    Sometimes long hours Hard to plan work/life balance with uncertainty Far walk from the train

    Advice to Management

    Keep hiring the best

    Ogilvy2018-11-13
  5. "Needs to invest more in their employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ogilvy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent work/life balance, reasonable hours, flexible working arrangements, 401(k) matching, decent benefits, roof deck, many spaces to work privately.

    Cons

    Inept benefits department, hemorrhaging talent, no upward mobility, office is remotely located, prima donna clients.

    Advice to Management

    If you want to stop hemorrhaging talent, pay the talent more. Promote the ones who excel. Give workers the option to work from home on Fridays. Give workers more vacation time. Give workers at least six discretionary summer Fridays. Get your benefits department to run a tighter ship and communicate more effectively. I endured rampant miscommunication about several crucial issues, and it was often a struggle to... get straight answers and resolve situations. I also recommend setting up a new health insurance plan; Aetna is a notoriously terrible insurance "provider." Keep 401(k) matching, flexible working arrangements, work-from-home days, and pre-tax transit benefits. Keep the holiday schedule. Keep You Matter Day. Pouring hundreds of thousands of dollars into renovations of an overpriced cafeteria was foolish and short-sighted. Do not make similar mistakes in the future. Invest in your people. Also, think about adding a couple more big umbrellas for the roof deck in the summer. It can get pretty bright up there.

    Show More
    Ogilvy2018-10-25
  6. "The LA office is not the Ogilvy you're expecting...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ogilvy full-time

    Pros

    - Great company culture - Close, small knit, fun team - Located in Silicon Beach (Playa Vista) - Surrounded by many other top notch agencies - Good work-life balance - Weekly WFH days

    Cons

    - No sexy clients - PR runs all - no creative, strategy, production, technology, data, business development or HR departments - Digital team supplement PR teams - New business acquisition never happens - Promotions and professional development - does not exist - Senior leadership does not support junior staff in their promotion/development strategy - Extremely low pay compared to the industry - Management... is not transparent with employees - Ogilvy West has no presence in the larger Ogilvy network - Does not recognize employees who go above and beyond and immerse themselves in new projects, accounts, ect.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Be transparent with employees about pay raises, promotions and the cycles (especially those in LA who never receive promotions) - Change and update your current new business strategies - they are not working - PR should not run all - office needs to be more collective and collaborative

    Ogilvy2018-08-23
  7. "account supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ogilvy full-time

    Pros

    it is one of the most creative and innovative agencies to be a part of

    Cons

    work life balance takes a miss

    Ogilvy2018-05-04
  8. "Ogilvy Summer Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ogilvy for less than a year

    Pros

    Hands-on experience, visibility with upper management

    Cons

    Not a good work-life balance

    Advice to Management

    Need more diversity on the executive level

    Ogilvy2018-04-24
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Lots of potential, good chance for growth, hit or miss leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ogilvy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved the people and culture at Effective. The teams were some of the most talented and passionate I've ever worked with. The opportunities for growth were good if you were a star performer. Plenty of different clients and project types so within a year you had a chance to build plenty of diverse experience. Design was given a seat at the table (probably at the head of the table) so opportunities to lead and have... an impact were numerous. You could be pretty open with your views or suggest improvements and feel like leadership was listening and genuinely cared. Overall really great work/life balance with plenty of space for choosing hours or working from home. Travel opportunities were amazing if you were a lead or on a remote client. If you lean in and work hard, you get an amazing and rare chance to grow.

    Show More

    Cons

    There was a pretty large contingent of long-term employees in leadership who had been there 5-9 years. It could often feel like a secretive vibe or a clique and if you weren't in, you felt like you weren't involved in decisions or heard sometimes. Issues with the work or client experience weren't readily addressed and often you would feel like you were repeating yourself or you would give up and see co-workers leave... the company. If you were good enough and clients loved you, it was easy to get stuck on one project for over a year and burn out. We saw that often ... what felt like choosing the client and pipeline over employee burnout. As mentioned in other reviews, the switch to Ogilvy probably had a big impact on a lot of these issues. Once you leave, you realize they pay at least 25% less than similar roles at other companies so it's hard for them to be competitive.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more open and respond faster to employee needs. Try to be more genuine with listening and addressing issues so employees feel more valued and want to stay at a great company that cares. Recognize when it might be time to address issues on the client side so employees aren't seen as secondary to the revenue.

    Ogilvy2018-01-28
  10. "Awesome mission; great team; middle of transformation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ogilvy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Effective lives and breaths human-centered design. Awesome work/life balance. Great client roster. Leadership is committed to authentically lead through transformation. More than 12 years of experience. Part of a global company, Ogilvy (a WPP company) -- this has its pros and cons. The pros include access to some of the best clients in the world, global reach, amazing talent, and career opportunities.

    Cons

    Effective is going through a transformation within Ogilvy -- Google "John Seifert Ogilvy transformation" The Denver office shrunk in 2017 which hurt culture but it's on the rebound.

    Advice to Management

    Keep casting vision and sharing where we are going. With so much change the more information shared the better.

    Ogilvy2017-12-14
Found 203 reviews