Ohio Living Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

Ohio Living Reviews

Updated November 20, 2017
34 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Laurence G. Gumina
7 Ratings

34 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ohio Living full-time

    Pros

    Staff genuinely cared for their residents / patients.

    Cons

    The passing of residents / patients.

    Advice to Management

    Keep putting the residents / patients first.

    Ohio Living Response

    Oct 9, 2017 – Corporate Manager of Recruiting & Onboarding

    First, thank you for your service with Ohio Living! It's with people like you that we are able to realize our mission every day. And we also thank you for your review and honest feedback!

    We wish... More


  2. "1 African American in the entire department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Housekeeping Aide in Cleveland, OH
    Former Employee - Housekeeping Aide in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ohio Living full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Benefits and pay are decent

    Cons

    Department staff isn't diverse enough

    Advice to Management

    Be more understanding to the needs of employees

    Ohio Living Response

    Nov 27, 2017 – Corporate Manager of Recruiting & Onboarding

    First, thank you for your service with Ohio Living. And we also appreciate your review and honest feedback.

    At Ohio Living, we are committed to fostering, cultivating, and preserving a culture of... More

  3. "Unfair firing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Ohio Living full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    nursing assistants help each other

    Cons

    Not enough staff, low payrate

    Ohio Living Response

    Nov 17, 2017 – Corporate Manager of Recruiting & Onboarding

    Thanks for your review and honest feedback.

    While we make every attempt to hire people that show interest through the interview process to work for a mission-focused company based on ethically... More


  4. "Glad to have worked here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ohio Living full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, Two weeks of vacation after only one year, Personal & Sick days, Medical, Dental, and Eye, 403b, educational assistance, Yearly Holiday Bonus, Sick Time buy back

    Cons

    Lower pay to start with small yearly raises for all, but hard work and effort is recognized.

    Ohio Living Response

    Sep 18, 2017 – Corporate Manager of Recruiting & Onboarding

    First, thank you for your service with Ohio Living! It's with people like you that we are able to realize our mission every day. And we also thank you for your review and honest feedback... More


  5. "Worst place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Coordinator in Columbus, OH
    Former Employee - Insurance Coordinator in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ohio Living full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Hate it please don't apply

    Cons

    Horrible management stay away from this company

    Advice to Management

    Get new jobs

    Ohio Living Response

    Oct 9, 2017 – Corporate Manager of Recruiting & Onboarding

    First, thank you for your service with Ohio Living. We also thank you for your review and honest feedback.

    While we make every attempt to hire people that show interest through the interview... More


  6. "Rockynol"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - STNA in Akron, OH
    Current Employee - STNA in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ohio Living full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Cleanliness and a positive environment

    Cons

    Pay should be increased. Infection control should be improved.

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay. Value the workers that have been committed to staying on the job am extended amount of time.

    Ohio Living Response

    Aug 14, 2017 – Corporate Manager of Recruiting & Onboarding

    First, thank you for your service with Ohio Living! It's with people like you that we are able to realize our mission every day. And we also thank you for your review and honest feedback!

    It is... More


  7. "Unorganized but good team work with employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Therapist in Akron, OH
    Current Employee - Therapist in Akron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ohio Living full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly staff with good team work. Decent compensation for driving. Allows workers to be autonomous and not micro managed

    Cons

    Unorganized. Too many meetings. Patients are too spread out from each other. Management listen to concerns but will ultimately do what they want

    Advice to Management

    Get organized. Be more transparent. Try to help employees work life balance improve.

    Ohio Living Response

    Aug 14, 2017 – Corporate Manager of Recruiting & Onboarding

    First, thank you for your service with Ohio Living! It's with people like you that we are able to realize our mission every day. And we also thank you for your review and honest feedback!

    Our... More

  8. "Decent company, questionable accountability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Culinary Services Worker in Willoughby, OH
    Former Employee - Culinary Services Worker in Willoughby, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ohio Living part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    very flexible hours, worked well with school, or other plans
    Getting to work with, and talk to the residents at the building I worked at was wonderful, many of the stories they told will stay with me for the rest of my life.

    Cons

    Pay is minimum wage + a Christmas bonus, although the size of the bonus went down each of the years I was with OPRS.
    management is often slow to react when informed of issues, both those of the residents and of employees
    Yearly performance reviews often do not reflect workers effort or their productivity, scores seem to be random.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention when employees inform you of an issue and react to it quickly and appropriately.

    Ohio Living Response

    Jul 3, 2017 – Corporate Manager of Recruiting & Onboarding

    First, thank you for your service with Ohio Living! It's with people like you that we are able to realize our mission every day. And we also thank you for your review and honest feedback!

    It is... More


  9. "Excellent Social Services Department!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Social Services in Youngstown, OH
    Former Employee - Social Services in Youngstown, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ohio Living part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I completed an internship for school at Ohio Living and later was hired PRN in the social services department (LSW). The staff at Ohio Living are very accommodating, supportive, friendly and fun. If I hadn't been busy with school and moving to another area, I would have loved to continue working there.

    Cons

    Upper management can be difficult to effectively communicate with at times.

    Ohio Living Response

    May 19, 2017 – Corporate Manager of Recruiting & Onboarding

    First, thank you for your service with Ohio Living! It's with people like you that we are able to realize our mission every day. And we also thank you for your review and honest feedback!

    It is... More


  10. "Nice culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Ohio Living part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Treated as a professional. Good work life balance.

    Cons

    Redefining purpose which is not always a negative but created some issues while working out the process.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Ohio Living Response

    Mar 14, 2017 – Corporate Manager of Recruiting & Onboarding

    First, thank you for your service with Ohio Living! It's with people like you that we are able to realize our mission every day. And we also thank you for your review and honest feedback!

    We are... More


Showing 34 of 34 reviews
Reset Filters