Ohio Living Reviews | Glassdoor

Ohio Living Reviews

Updated September 13, 2017
30 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Laurence G. Gumina
4 Ratings

30 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Glad to have worked here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ohio Living full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, Two weeks of vacation after only one year, Personal & Sick days, Medical, Dental, and Eye, 403b, educational assistance, Yearly Holiday Bonus, Sick Time buy back

    Cons

    Lower pay to start with small yearly raises for all, but hard work and effort is recognized.

    Ohio Living Response

    Sep 18, 2017 – Corporate Manager of Recruiting & Onboarding

    First, thank you for your service with Ohio Living! It's with people like you that we are able to realize our mission every day. And we also thank you for your review and honest feedback... More


  2. "Rockynol"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - STNA in Akron, OH
    Current Employee - STNA in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ohio Living full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Cleanliness and a positive environment

    Cons

    Pay should be increased. Infection control should be improved.

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay. Value the workers that have been committed to staying on the job am extended amount of time.

    Ohio Living Response

    Aug 14, 2017 – Corporate Manager of Recruiting & Onboarding

    First, thank you for your service with Ohio Living! It's with people like you that we are able to realize our mission every day. And we also thank you for your review and honest feedback!

    It is... More

  3. "Unorganized but good team work with employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Therapist in Akron, OH
    Current Employee - Therapist in Akron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ohio Living full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly staff with good team work. Decent compensation for driving. Allows workers to be autonomous and not micro managed

    Cons

    Unorganized. Too many meetings. Patients are too spread out from each other. Management listen to concerns but will ultimately do what they want

    Advice to Management

    Get organized. Be more transparent. Try to help employees work life balance improve.

    Ohio Living Response

    Aug 14, 2017 – Corporate Manager of Recruiting & Onboarding

    First, thank you for your service with Ohio Living! It's with people like you that we are able to realize our mission every day. And we also thank you for your review and honest feedback!

    Our... More


  4. "Decent company, questionable accountability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Culinary Services Worker in Willoughby, OH
    Former Employee - Culinary Services Worker in Willoughby, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ohio Living part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    very flexible hours, worked well with school, or other plans
    Getting to work with, and talk to the residents at the building I worked at was wonderful, many of the stories they told will stay with me for the rest of my life.

    Cons

    Pay is minimum wage + a Christmas bonus, although the size of the bonus went down each of the years I was with OPRS.
    management is often slow to react when informed of issues, both those of the residents and of employees
    Yearly performance reviews often do not reflect workers effort or their productivity, scores seem to be random.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention when employees inform you of an issue and react to it quickly and appropriately.

    Ohio Living Response

    Jul 3, 2017 – Corporate Manager of Recruiting & Onboarding

    First, thank you for your service with Ohio Living! It's with people like you that we are able to realize our mission every day. And we also thank you for your review and honest feedback!

    It is... More


  5. "Excellent Social Services Department!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Social Services in Youngstown, OH
    Former Employee - Social Services in Youngstown, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ohio Living part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I completed an internship for school at Ohio Living and later was hired PRN in the social services department (LSW). The staff at Ohio Living are very accommodating, supportive, friendly and fun. If I hadn't been busy with school and moving to another area, I would have loved to continue working there.

    Cons

    Upper management can be difficult to effectively communicate with at times.

    Ohio Living Response

    May 19, 2017 – Corporate Manager of Recruiting & Onboarding

    First, thank you for your service with Ohio Living! It's with people like you that we are able to realize our mission every day. And we also thank you for your review and honest feedback!

    It is... More


  6. "Nice culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Ohio Living part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Treated as a professional. Good work life balance.

    Cons

    Redefining purpose which is not always a negative but created some issues while working out the process.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Ohio Living Response

    Mar 14, 2017 – Corporate Manager of Recruiting & Onboarding

    First, thank you for your service with Ohio Living! It's with people like you that we are able to realize our mission every day. And we also thank you for your review and honest feedback!

    We are... More


  7. "Sales and Admissions Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales and Admissions Associate in Willoughby, OH
    Current Employee - Sales and Admissions Associate in Willoughby, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ohio Living full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Definitely the people and ethics of the organization which are faith based. Pure satisfaction in helping elders find the best continuum of health care organization in the country!

    Cons

    Low paying salaries since a non profit which is hard when one has worked for over 30 years in a lucrative corporate environment.

    Advice to Management

    Increase base salary and return sales staff to being salaried instead of on an hourly status. Too hard when we are in and out of the office continually with no overtime budget.

    Ohio Living Response

    Jul 3, 2017 – Corporate Manager of Recruiting & Onboarding

    First, thank you for your service with Ohio Living! It's with people like you that we are able to realize our mission every day. And we also thank you for your review and honest feedback!

    It is... More

  8. "Transitional Liaison"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dayton, OH
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dayton, OH
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ohio Living full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great people who are like one big family

    Cons

    Training is too short

    Advice to Management

    Make training a week long

    Ohio Living Response

    Mar 14, 2017 – Corporate Manager of Recruiting & Onboarding

    First, thank you for your service with Ohio Living! It's with people like you that we are able to realize our mission every day. And we also thank you for your review and honest feedback! We are so... More


  9. "Stna... low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Ohio Living full-time

    Pros

    All about residents, forget about employees

    Cons

    Low pay, always short staffed, not respected, they always want you to work, even full timers

    Ohio Living Response

    Oct 13, 2016 – Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback to us. We take into consideration all comments as we evaluate enhancements to our employment experience.

    One of our top priorities is... More


  10. "Watch out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ohio Living full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Working with and helping the family and residents.

    Cons

    Depending on your dept you need to watch your backs. Upper Management/officers are not what they seem. Getting stabbed in the back was a surprised.

    Advice to Management

    Don't lie.

    Ohio Living Response

    Oct 13, 2016 – Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to this feedback to us about Westminster-Thurber and OPRS. We take into consideration all comments as evaluate enhancement to our employment experience.

    We are sorry... More


Showing 30 of 30 reviews
Reset Filters