Ohio University Reviews in Athens, OH | Glassdoor

Ohio University Athens Reviews

Updated Jun 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 236 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Ohio University CEO David Descutner
David Descutner
25 Ratings
  1. "Best Student Job On-Campus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Public Service Desk Assistant - Alden Library in Athens, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ohio University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have worked at Alden Library for 4 years now, and this has been one of the most informative and fun work experiences I have ever had. My student supervisor is the best and really easy to get along with, and it is so clear to everyone that he has all of his students' best interests in mind. The work hours are flexible, and school always comes first so you never have to worry about missing something class-related because...

    Show More

    Cons

    The only downside is that it can be difficult to get a lot of hours, but this is only a part-time job and the supervisor definitely tries his hardest to get his students as many hours as they can manage.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing! Y'all are doing great!

    Ohio University2019-06-10
  2. "Awesome job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Physical Therapist in Athens, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ohio University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and great staff to work for.

    Cons

    Located in a small town

    Ohio University2019-06-07
  3. "Love OU, the people, the students, then town..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Athens, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ohio University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I love the community, helping students, everyone has been incredible the last 16 years. I love my team and I'm very sad to leave OU.

    Cons

    HR processes do not lend themselves well to current employees seeking promotion.

    Ohio University2019-05-22
  4. "A nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Building Manager in Athens, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ohio University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is a lot of room for professional development and the supervisors always cared about your well being

    Cons

    The employees could have been managed better.

    Ohio University2019-05-20
  5. "Graduate Student Teaching Assistant/Math Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant in Athens, OH

    I have been working at Ohio University part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Minimal workload (15hrs/wk). Teaching is ok.

    Cons

    Given short notice of classes that I'd be teaching. They then wanted office hours and such very quickly.

    Ohio University2019-04-10
  6. "Advancement Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Athens, OH
    Recommends

    I worked at Ohio University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people, flexible and understanding management

    Cons

    Repetitive work, could use more special projects

    Ohio University2019-04-08
  7. "Not terrible experience, but not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Residential Assistant in Athens, OH
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Ohio University part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good money for college students Good resume builder

      Cons

      Not willing to work with organization schedules Training is minimal and not very good

      Advice to Management

      Be more respectful of your students and what they're going through.

      Ohio University2019-04-11
    • "Overall a decent place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Research Assistant in Athens, OH
      Doesn't Recommend

      I have been working at Ohio University full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Local supportive community. Small town benefits.

      Cons

      a lot of politics. Very negative work environment. Not a lot of room to grow.

      Ohio University2019-04-03
    • "great job for students"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Multimedia Specialist in Athens, OH
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Ohio University part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I found management to be very flexible with scheduling

      Cons

      I have not had any problems working here

      Ohio University2019-03-15
    • "Good opportunity"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Director in Athens, OH
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ohio University full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Working at a university has a lot of perks

      Cons

      Understaffed and failure to retain good employees

      Advice to Management

      Retain good employees

      Ohio University2019-03-13
    Found 236 reviews