OhioHealth Registered Nurse Reviews | Glassdoor

OhioHealth Registered Nurse Reviews

Updated Aug 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
75%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
OhioHealth President and CEO David P. Blom
David P. Blom
22 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Loved working here! (RN - MSIU)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Columbus, OH
    Recommends

    I worked at OhioHealth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very welcoming to new grads, LOVED my coworkers, opportunity to change units/floors, close parking garage for night shift, nurses across the hospital are helpful and friendly, learned a ton

    Cons

    Take shuttle for day shift, many older nurses who have worked there for years and years who have too much pull, quick burnout due to intense patient population

    OhioHealth2016-06-14
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Poor compensation for increasing RN workload and stressors."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bedside RN in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at OhioHealth full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pretty Facilities, central location, relatively safe environment, good group of coworker's, have concierge service onsite, working to build new and exciting programs and specialties.

    Cons

    The upper echelon of administration is horrible. Run it like a for-profit. The Terrible compensation that does not take into account the drastically increased cost of living in Columbus. It's actually pretty shocking how poorly the bedside staff is paid here in comparison. CEO makes almost 2 million(including full benefits package), and we a non-profit!!!!! The will build huge overly extravagant new buildings(that are set up like hotels, and very unsafe for patient care), but don't even staff a physician for 16 hours out of the day in one of their 31 bed ICU's. Forcing nurses to work outside their scope of practice, and consistently short staffed, but got rid of every single staffing incentive for nursing. While hiring more and more travelers instead of actually paying their staff when they work extra. Add increasing responsibilities and roles on the bedside RN, and say that it's to save money, but are decreasing staffing and staffing ratios, all the while spending millions on making the campus look like a hotel. Prioritize HCAPS over their employees.

    Continue reading
    OhioHealth2016-06-04
  3. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at OhioHealth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    OhioHealth is one of the largest hospital systems in Ohio so there are a wide variety of jobs and job locations to choose from. There is a lot of room for advancement and they offer tuition assistance.

    Cons

    Health insurance isn't the best if you have chronic health problems but I don't know if it's any worse than any other hospital systems these days.

    Continue reading
    OhioHealth2016-05-09
  4. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Dublin, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at OhioHealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome co-workers. Skilled surgeons and anesthesia staff.

    Cons

    Strict vacation rules and not much incentive or compensation for improvement

    OhioHealth2016-04-23
  5. "Hospice case manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Case Manager in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at OhioHealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits; good training except no training regarding bereavement/ loss; loved my fellow nurses, they were dedicated to their work in hospice.

    Cons

    Understaffed, huge turnover, unsupportive managers, unrealistic expectations, nurses do work of whole team, continued to pile on workload at expense of quality care.

    OhioHealth2016-03-21
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Over worked, no one has your back, even with good coworkers there is never enough time to do everything correctly."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Emergency RN in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at OhioHealth full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Money was pretty good but in the end I hated to come to work. Emergency is just running from fire to fire

    Cons

    Manager said we were just warm bodies and there were 100 applicants for each of our jobs. Days were long and most days no break for 12 hour shift

    Continue reading
    OhioHealth2016-02-13
  7. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Registered Nurse in Reynoldsburg, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at OhioHealth for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits good management room for growth

    Cons

    There is always a shortage of nurses

    Continue reading
    OhioHealth2015-10-12
  8. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Marion, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OhioHealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work with a team that shares the same goals for the most part Smaller setting with the excellent productivity Benefits Provides staff with a lot of experience

    Cons

    Inconsistent plans and lack of follow through Not much loyalty for staff that is consistent, works hard, and gives 100% Less pay than other Ohio health, same productivity with less resources

    Continue reading
    OhioHealth2015-09-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "I can't help but feel OhioHealth administration see nurses as interchangeable and disposable parts of their operation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at OhioHealth full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Close to home, good interdisciplinary cooperation and coordination

    Cons

    Pay for nurses is not commensurate with responsibility, no clinical ladder or advancement opportunities for nurses, no pay differential for BSN nurses versus ADN nurses, minimal tuition reimbursement, chronic lack of support staff

    Continue reading
    OhioHealth2014-06-09
  10. "Good place in Columbus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OhioHealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, competitive pay, positive culture, excellent company performance. Leaders seem open to new ideas but things do not move very quickly.

    Cons

    Limited advancement; communication from leaders in big organizations is hard. Has anyone mastered that?

    OhioHealth2013-10-09
Found 55 reviews