Oil States International Reviews | Glassdoor

Oil States International Reviews

Updated Jan 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Oil States International CEO Cindy B. Taylor
Cindy B. Taylor
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oil States International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance is great. Your role and boundaries are clearly defined.

    Cons

    Not much room for advancement, but that is mainly due to no one leaving.

    Advice to Management

    Not much to say here. Keep the course. Communications could improve a tad.

    Oil States International2018-07-19
  2. "Field service technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Oil States International

    Pros

    Easy lots of hours to be had

    Cons

    Long hitches with lack of time off

    Oil States International2019-01-11
  3. "Field Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Supervisor in New Iberia, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oil States International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay for Field Supervisors working land and offshore, benefits are good, and less likely to layoff , 401k match up to 6%

    Cons

    long hours, have to work at the shop if not on jobs, use to get time off from amount of days on a job but has been eliminated from what I haver heard

    Advice to Management

    need a documented rules, perks, bonuses, and stronger accountability system

    Oil States International2018-03-16
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Bad management. They promote people to positions in which they have no business being ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Welder in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Oil States International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay is decent as well as the benefits.

    Cons

    Terrible management. Promotions tend to be based off of who you're friends with or related to. People wind up being in managerial positions in departments they know nothing about. I've also had a continual problem regarding racism in the workplace. I've literally had to report multiple people.

    Advice to Management

    Start all over. Fire everyone that's in a managerial position and hire from outside of the company.

    Oil States International2017-12-14
  5. "lead dispatch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oil States International full-time

    Pros

    Field techs and drivers were amazing.

    Cons

    pay and the attitudes were terrible.

    Advice to Management

    take care of those that take care of your company

    Oil States International2017-07-28
  6. "Good place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QC Inspector in Tulsa, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oil States International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The benifiets are good if you want over time it's always available . The people that work there really make it fun to come into work everyday!!

    Cons

    There's not a lot of cons that I have seen

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Oil States International2017-06-08
  7. "I liked it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Well Tester in Auburn, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oil States International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay for well testers. Did pay for travel. They pay for your lodging if your in a hotel or staying on location.

    Cons

    Not much of a family life if you live outside of state, but that's a part of it. They give easy jobs to lazy employees.

    Advice to Management

    Most of the time they promote friends.

    Oil States International2017-01-22
  8. "Work hard and get paid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Service Supervisor in Midland, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oil States International for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of money when busy

    Cons

    Not busy right now, but it will be again soon

    Oil States International2016-07-24
  9. "OilStates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oil States International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    work/life balance is accepted here more than other companies I have worked with.

    Cons

    Oil & Gas Industry - leadership

    Oil States International2016-05-12
  10. "Engineering Analyst Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, TX

    I worked at Oil States International for less than a year

    Pros

    Good team work, working environment, work was challenging but not difficult great learning experience.

    Cons

    I do not have anything negative to say about oil states I enjoyed my time there.

    Oil States International2015-10-08
Found 28 reviews