Okta Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
70%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Okta CEO & Co-Founder Todd McKinnon
Todd McKinnon
278 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great leadership, great product, great enviornment(in 31 reviews)

  • "Great company with very strong products that customers truly love to use(in 22 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fabulous"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong leadership, great product, very smart team

    Cons

    None, the Okta employee experience is excellent

    Continue reading
    Okta2020-06-04
  2. "Great people"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Engineering Support 

    I worked at Okta full-time

    Pros

    Love the community, smart colleagues

    Cons

    None that come to mind

    Okta2020-05-26
  3. "Looking good so Far"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Engineer in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Okta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Team welcomes you. Honest feedback

    Cons

    100% remote hard to get some people face to face

    Okta2020-05-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Product Management in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good product that is loved by customers, competent CEO and co-founders, good people and fun work environment. WFH friendly.

    Cons

    Hard to break into the inner circles if your intention is to be more politically impactful

    Continue reading
    Okta2020-05-13
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Good perks, but harsh culture"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Enablement Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Okta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food, benefits and perks are nice

    Cons

    Culture is a you are either in or out style, don't expect support or empowerment here, and pay is ok...

    Okta2020-04-23
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Okta Does Not Care About Their Employees"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Okta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the usual stuff, they have a nice office and benefits

    Cons

    Be weary of fake 5 star reviews talking about how great this company is. Those are most likely from hiring recruiters that are trying to do damage control. Okta doesn't treat their employees fairly and everything people are saying about being in the "in crowd" is true. People cheat here and the managers know about it. Not only do they let it happen, but they reward it.

    Continue reading
    Okta2020-05-14
  7. Helpful (12)

    "Leadership, culture, etc trending down"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer First in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Genuinely nice CEO, mostly nice employees. Strong customer focus. Solid product

    Cons

    I've been a part of a lot of fast growth companies, but never have I seen one have such a rapid descent into negative territory as I have over the last 4 years at Okta. The culture went from friendly, collaborative and customer focused to becoming quite political, territorial and having more and more folks with a 'me first' attitude. Some department heads display questionable maturity and/or leadership ethics. The senior leadership team has shifted into what feels more like a typical 'bro' club than what you'd hope to see at a modern organization. While there has been a key female hire (CPO, for example), they lost a key female leader (CCO) and haven't replaced her. There is little meaningful effort to grow female leadership from within, or- if I'm fair- to grow any leadership from within actually (male or female). Diversity efforts are mostly just show at this point. Some teams are more disastrous and broken than others. IT for example- so many business critical/business accelerating projects stall or die on the vine due to this team. Little effort seems to be focused on trying to fix these things as no one is looking across the business at what's needed, they're all too busy managing their own fiefdoms.

    Continue reading
    Okta2020-04-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Support Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Pay, Autonomy in work

    Cons

    They do not match 401k contributions

    Continue reading
    Okta2020-02-26
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Cool if you're in the boys club"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Director in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Okta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Market recognition and maniacal focus on competition

    Cons

    If you're not in the boys club, no possible room for advancement and unlikely to get your first-year vest

    Continue reading
    Okta2020-02-26
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Beginning to think Okta is too tolerant of bad managers, employees, and culture"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The product is obviously industry leading. The office has many perks and smiling faces, and many of the senior execs I've met are incredibly down to earth and good-humored.

    Cons

    Okta tends to throw ill-conceived surveys at you in an attempt to figure out how they can help improve your job, then they misinterpret the results by concocting an almost insulting solution. In our team, I have seen external hires start at a higher salary and job title than people with long tenure, for no explicable reason -- these folks often struggle with onboarding and lean heavily upon their lower ranked/salaried peers for several months. I have observed this not being so great for morale, and rumors run amok that there is cronyism and nepotism from various managers. There is evident supporting this should leadership choose to look.

    Continue reading
    Okta2020-02-15
Found 353 reviews
</>Embed