Okta "great company" Reviews | Glassdoor

Okta Employee Reviews about "great company"

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
74%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Okta CEO & Co-Founder Todd McKinnon
Todd McKinnon
291 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great leadership, great product, great enviornment(in 31 reviews)

  • "Solid team, great CEO, great company culture(in 21 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great company"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Highly Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SDR 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company culture. Highly competitive and collaborative sales team. Everyone pushes each other for the betterment of the company.

    Cons

    Hyper-growth comes with growing pains for a younger company, however, nothing truly notable to complain about.

    Continue reading
    Okta2019-02-26
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Regional Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company vision led by a CEO who truly cares about his employees and maintaining an excellent culture. Okta continues to innovate in a way that will allow them to dominate the Identity and Access Management market for years to come.

    Cons

    Some minor growing pains as expected with an organization that is in hyper growth mode.

    Okta2019-01-21
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Okta full-time

    Pros

    Solid team, great CEO, great company culture

    Cons

    some of the managers are micromanagers

    Okta2017-07-18
  4. "Amazing company. Period."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Okta is a truly great company; a leader in the IDaaS space with thoughtful executive team and truly intelligent people trying to be the best they can be. There are free lunches on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, all hands to share the company happenings, and well stocked kitchens. This is a place to work if you want to execute on things. It's a bit more bureaucratic that many other companies of it's size, however, a good business case goes very, very far with this group, which speaks to the more "adult" approach to business than you'd find at many tech companies in the Valley.. The CEO is pretty open-door and seems very engaged with the business and employees. Overall, the pros are solid perks, and really healthy business, and an engaged, professional approach to work.

    Cons

    Managing change and transition is difficult. I am not sure the people piece of this is being well managed at all times, but it's not due to lack of effort. Okta is still growing quickly and as anyone in tech knows, the people who are right from 0-100 employees, aren't always the same employees to get you from 100-500, or from 500-1000....I think Okta is at an inflection point where some (I wouldn't say many) legacy people are leaving because they simply aren't the right people to drive the company forward anymore and this creates unnecessary concern for many remaining employees. There are some negative Glassdoor posts that reflect this which is unfortunate because Okta is a genuinely great place with a good heart and amazing technology.

    Continue reading
    Okta2016-10-24
  5. "After 15 years in tech, Okta is the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta

    Pros

    If you want the opportunity to have an impact, work with a phenomenal team and to grow with a great company then Okta is the place for you. Customer success is part of our DNA and, in addition to great products, is our biggest differentiator. This is key to running a successful SaaS business--Okta has this nailed. Hard work, creativity and teamwork required in order to do well here.

    Cons

    Does not offer 401k matching yet.

    Continue reading
    Okta2016-10-17
  6. Helpful (14)

    "Harsh Reality for Non-Engineers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Success Team 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Okta

    Pros

    Great company with lots of amazingly talented and driven people. The product in principle is awesome, in implementation it needs lots more refining to actually make it successful. The peer to peer culture is great with a very flexible work environment (laid back clothes, flexible work hours, and working from home policies). There is some transparency from the upper management, but it is shrinking week by week, and they are only transparent and tell you things about stuff they are ready or want to share. Some questions are simply swept under the rug and people hope that it won’t surface again.

    Cons

    Senior and executive management is hiring based on connection and buddy systems. There are a handful of people that are nay-sayers by principle and are absolute road blocks to the growth of their team, the product and the company. There is a lot of SalesForce connection and very little diversity from experience and employment history in the executive team. “Inbreeding” is always a bad thing for a start up. Most recently, the company has been making some short sighted decisions on compensation and hiring practices. Yet, they keep people in place who are friends, yet are not delivering anything supportive to the company’s goals and visions. This buddy system is protecting senior management staff who are detrimental to the company and the CEO’s vision. Not sure if this is a broken communication/ escalation path, but the little people are certainly not heard in some departments of the company. Most recently they also announced the refusal of earned bonuses and are thereby violating employment agreements. Overall I have experienced professional disrespect, employment law violations, and simple nepotism so many times in my short time with this company that I cannot whole heartedly recommend this company as a good employer.

    Continue reading
    Okta2016-09-19
  7. Helpful (3)

    "One of the Bay Area's best tech companies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta full-time

    Pros

    Hyper growth, no bureaucracy, strong leadership, highly transparent, real products, massive market opportunity, ability for everyone to move the needle, no limitations to your job scope, help continue to build out a great company

    Cons

    Not for the candidate that isn't willing or doesn't want to step into the spotlight on occasion. Also, not the best environment for those that need a lot of hand holding or constant direction.

    Continue reading
    Okta2016-09-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "The Real Deal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Many companies impress during a loop, but once you join you quickly see the soft underbelly - product issues, customer sat issues, political infighting, etc. In my experience Okta is exactly what it appeared to be - A market leader with great technology, run by (and staffed by) people who want to build a great company with fanatic customer at the center. And I believe the same people that starting this company actually also know how to scale it - that is not too common.

    Cons

    Not a con to me, but worth noting. You do not have to work around the clock, but you better work with urgency and be very good at what you do.

    Okta2016-09-15
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Engagement Manager in Fort Wayne, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Okta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company making a great product and building an amazing team. I really enjoy the work i do mostly because of the team.

    Cons

    be prepared to work hard and long hours (not really a con). if you're not on your game, get out of the way. that being said, the hours don't seem that bad when you feel like you contribute to something important

    Continue reading
    Okta2016-03-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome company to work at!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta

    Pros

    I work with some of the most talented people in the bay area. Great company values. Great leadership. Feel like you are part of something big.

    Cons

    Although benefits are good there is no 401k

    Continue reading
    Okta2016-01-19
Found 21 reviews
</>Embed