Okta "great product" Reviews | Glassdoor

Okta Employee Reviews about "great product"

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
75%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Okta CEO & Co-Founder Todd McKinnon
Todd McKinnon
290 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great leadership, great product, great enviornment(in 31 reviews)

  • "Solid team, great CEO, great company culture(in 21 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great product"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (5)

    "the place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    From the perspective of a recent grad who has been with the company for around five months, I could not be happier with my decision to join this company. A few of the reasons why - - tendency to hire bright, driven people that also happen to be kind and fun - major perks that make going into the office enjoyable - management that cares to help you reach your goals / clear paths for advancement - an innovative company with impressive trajectory, a great product with a massive addressable market, and that tackles critical security concerns that will only grow in importance

    Cons

    when there is an avocado shortage on the sales floor

    Continue reading
    Okta2018-12-26
  2. Helpful (13)

    "Keep your head down and don't ask too many questions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiting in San Francisco, CA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Okta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great product, an industry leader, great benefits and perks

    Cons

    Politics - watched the organization lose sight of its values and vision in exchange for being an industry leader. The company placed outside talent with no understanding of the organization in place of several internal candidates. The opportunity for growth is a joke. If you are trying to move up the corporate ladder get experience elsewhere because it's not a top value when making a decision if you know the business from the inside. I've watched recruiters and hiring managers specifically decline to look at resumes due to candidates alma maters regardless of their experience and academic achievements. I watched turnover after turnover across all departments with the biggest reasoning being that management just didn't have the aligned vision or basic understanding needed for their role.

    Continue reading
    Okta2019-09-19
  3. Helpful (47)

    "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Okta full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Building a great product The company is continuously doing well SF HQ moved into a better location

    Cons

    Managers don't know how to run the teams, they just THINK they do Don't bother to tell your issues to HR, they don't care Transparency?? Yeah right... Unlimited Vacation?? Laughable

    Continue reading
    Okta2019-01-25
  4. Helpful (22)

    "SDR/BDR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Okta

    Pros

    Great product, really easy to sell, catered lunch MWF

    Cons

    The entire sales floor is a fraternity. If you aren’t a “bro” then this isn’t the place for you. The company preaches inclusion at every all hands, but they don’t practice it. Every new hire is a referral, and they all come from the immediate area of California for the most part. Steer clear if you’re looking to work with a diverse group.

    Okta2018-09-05
  5. Helpful (23)

    "The politics and favoritism runs deep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Okta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The office is nice, great people, always having fun with co-workers. Okta has a great product offering that is easy to believe in.

    Cons

    The senior management is so political and favoritism is at the heart of everything. It makes it so hard to actually do your job! Its definitely killing productivity and causing really great people to leave. Most of us just want to accomplish things for the greater good of Okta- I wish management would let us.

    Continue reading
    Okta2018-08-08
  6. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Okta full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great leadership, great product, great enviornment

    Cons

    Scaling can be a challenge

    Continue reading
    Okta2018-05-30
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Great Company, Fun Culture, Better Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Okta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great sales environment; everyone there wants to be successful and make enough money to survive SF, but that does not mean they selfishly will not lend you a hand if you find yourself in the hole. Open sales floor with a lot of experience. All you need to do is ask and people will open up to you. Great product; since I have left, I have seen the stock soar. This tells me that the product has really come into its own as an Identity and Access Management tool. Companies are starting to realize the importance of Okta's vertical and thus are open to learning more about the best company in the industry

    Cons

    There has been a lot of trial and error in terms of structuring and company layout. You need to be able to roll with the punches here as restructuring often goes hand in hand with poor communication. The sales training was nonexistent when I arrived. It was good and bad as you really had to figure it out. But when I asked in the interview for specific sales training and they said yes, I was disappointed with the reality. The company is growing...while this means more external employment opportunities it does not necessarily translate into internal vertical mobility.

    Continue reading
    Okta2018-05-07
  8. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta full-time

    Pros

    Great product, supportive & collaborative culture. Fantastic company to start your career or expand into new role/challenge.

    Cons

    None. You'll be thankful you work here.

    Okta2017-08-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Best Company I've Worked For!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, great product, great values, great culture, great leadership - the list of great goes on!

    Cons

    It's honestly hard to come up with any cons - the pace is fast, but it's exciting! Would like to see 401k match, but overall the benefits are good.

    Okta2017-01-23
  10. Helpful (18)

    "There are better places to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Okta

    Pros

    Motivated people Awesome product Great Perks Free lunch Good pay

    Cons

    Managers who aren't transparent Clear examples of favoritism I knew some contractors who were let go after they were lured into jobs that they were told would become full-time. I didn't like how they treated a lot of the contractors in terms of how they were let go etc.

    Continue reading
    Okta2016-11-18
Viewing 1 - 10 of 31 Reviews
</>Embed