Okta "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Okta Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Feb 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
74%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Okta CEO & Co-Founder Todd McKinnon
Todd McKinnon
290 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great leadership, great product, great enviornment(in 31 reviews)

  • "Great company with very strong products that customers truly love to use(in 21 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Awesome place to grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Executive team truly cares, exciting market opportunity

    Cons

    work/life balance, can be chaotic

    Okta2020-02-12
  2. "Hi"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Commercial Real Estate Intern 

    I have been working at Okta full-time

    Pros

    Great culture And decent lunch options

    Cons

    Better work life balance and more time off

    Okta2020-01-28
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Highly rewarding Work. Fast pace. Startup mentality."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely best product in the Identity as a service space. Maniacal focus on growth. Very sharp hires. Constant new hires. Open communication. CEO does an all hands call every Friday. You can ask anything.

    Cons

    Work-life balance. The motto is ‘Always On’ and I don’t agree with that. I work to provide for my family and I do need to be around to take care of them. Always-On is not my idea of balance. Too many apps for everything. Hard to navigate. Crazy amount of emails. You have to be very focused to not have email run your day.

    Continue reading
    Okta2019-09-19
  4. Helpful (21)

    "Great Product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Okta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Products Industry leader Great office location in SF

    Cons

    Too many politics No work life balance Poor management Unhealthy culture for minorities and women Too egotistical and boys club mentality

    Continue reading
    Okta2018-05-08
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Good company, great product, but no work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - TPM in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice work environment; some benefits

    Cons

    no work life balance no 401K match

    Continue reading
    Okta2018-01-15
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Everyone loves it here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Non Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - one of the fastest growing companies in tech - high quality colleagues - everyone is a big believer in the company mission and product - tons of things to do, but work life balance is very good depending on your department - certainly better compared to other companies. We come in at 9, leave at 5. - opportunities to grow in your career - they pay your cell phone and internet bill

    Cons

    - low name recognition despite being far and away the leader in the category - no bonuses, no ,401k match, food is just ok but new vendor is coming in

    Continue reading
    Okta2017-11-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Information Security Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst - Information Security and Compliance in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment Work time flexibility Great employee perks Friendly Management Awesome work life balance

    Cons

    Can't think of one at the moment

    Continue reading
    Okta2017-09-08
  8. Helpful (28)

    "Unwilling to help, no matter how much you ask."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent Salary, good opportunities at first but these quickly become fewer and fewer as you go. They feed you.

    Cons

    Forget work life balance, as well as being able to balance your workload in any other way. Expectations are not laid out and communicated clearly by management and are therefore unreachable by anything other than sheer accident. Annual reviews are based on 2 month periods. Assistance is never given regardless of how many times it's asked for, in fact asking for help can be detrimental to your work experience. Lack of communication and ownership means senior staff are often having to work multiple positions. Promotions are cosmetic and the job never, ever changes - they just add more stuff on until you leave.

    Continue reading
    Okta2017-06-29
  9. Helpful (2)

    "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Supportive manager who encourages growth and development - No micro-managing - Lots of transparency and everyone is honest - Flexible PTO! - Free food and snacks (Lots of healthy AND unhealthy options. It suits everyone!) - Friendly execs who actually know you by your first name! - Everyone at the company is genuine and really believes in the product. They're not superficial and didn't join the company just because of the unlimited food and good perks.

    Cons

    - Short staffed and need to hire more resources as we're rapidly expanding. - Not a lot of work life balance. Not a 9-5 job. - No 401k matching

    Okta2017-07-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Very Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta

    Pros

    incredibly talented people, great leadership team, phenomenal product

    Cons

    lack of work/life balance, as with any growing organization - growing pains

    Okta2016-11-15
Found 37 reviews
</>Embed