Okuma Reviews | Glassdoor

Okuma Reviews

Updated Apr 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
38%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Okuma President, CEO, and Director Junro Kashiwa (no image)
Junro Kashiwa
3 Ratings
  1. "Great opportunity to make a difference"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Inside Sales Intern 

    I worked at Okuma

    Pros

    Ability to take on multiple projects with different departments

    Cons

    Office environment is enclosed with no windows

    Okuma2019-04-26
  2. "Field service technicians"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Service Technician in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Okuma full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent benefits. Uniform supplied. Good people

    Cons

    Rampant nepotism. Extremely poor management.

    Continue reading
    Okuma2018-10-13
  3. "Great Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okuma full-time

    Pros

    Extremely generous organization, well structured and managed. Excellent benefits and working environment.

    Cons

    None that I can currently share

    Continue reading
    Okuma2017-12-22
  4. "Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC

    I have been working at Okuma full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent health insurance, wonderful colleagues that care about eachother and the community.

    Cons

    Average salary and not many opportunities within for promotion. Work schedule is not very flexible .

    Continue reading
    Okuma2017-12-19
  5. "Best company that I have ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Inside Sales in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Okuma

    Pros

    Great benefits, Family Focused, great upward mobility. Tuition Reimbursement. I worked for OKUMA from 1988 to 1997. It was the best professional experience that I have ever had. I had great mentors in Mr Nakano and Noble Tokomoru ( I know I probably spelled his name wrong). I worked as a warehouseman, assembler, QC technician, Mfg Engineering, Sales and the Rebuild unit. Any and everything that I asked to do they provided me an oppty to do it. They paid for my of my degrees/ Associates, Undergraduate and Masters Degree. Was able to use that experience and education to become a Big Five Consultant. The friendships that I made at this company have proven to be lifelong relationships. Okuma really cares for its people and their success. I would recommend to anyone looking for a challenging opportunity with a high tech company that values family and teamwork.

    Cons

    They could pay a little better in terms of salary. The benefits at least during the time that I worked there were great. The upper level leadership often could have some pretty mean and contentious meetings. I remember some of these from my time in sales

    Continue reading
    Okuma2016-09-30
  6. "Inside Sales Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Inside Sales Intern in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Okuma for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and great people

    Cons

    Older crowd and I wasn't interested in manufacturing

    Okuma2016-07-10
  7. "No hard jobs in company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Okuma full-time

    Pros

    Small amount of employees at this site. Good benefits

    Cons

    Limited possibilities of advancement and raises

    Continue reading
    Okuma2016-03-01
  8. "Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Okuma full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good people to work with. Decent benefits. Stable work.

    Cons

    Promotions not based on qualifications. Managers are "Yes" men. Raises not very good (2-3%) even in good years. Review process is merely more paperwork for employees and manager.

    Okuma2015-12-03
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - North Carolina in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okuma full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people. Great product - Okuma Machine Tools last 20+ years and hold the same tight tolerance they did when first installed.

    Cons

    Most of management has been with the company 20+ years, which can be good, but can also leave some things stuck in the past.

    Continue reading
    Okuma2015-09-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great employees who are devoted to a company that has been operating too long to operate like a startup."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager in Charlotte, NC

    I worked at Okuma

    Pros

    The comaraderie is exceptional. The mfg environment is clean and organized. The total rewards program seems to be on matching external salaries and leading in benefits. The Japanese PCNs are wonderful to work for and enjoy the mentor roll. As expected, they are slow, methodical, calculating and protective of the Mother company's assets. Their American counterparts shoot from the hip so it creates a synergy that works most of the time. Small, intimate company. Close relationship with the distributors and end-users who often describe Okuma's service as "better than the others" instead of provider of excellence. They offer the best, most reliable products in the market.

    Cons

    silo functioning with little cross-communication. Short-term results oriented. As many hours as you want to work with little recognition if you go above and beyond, so you must be self-satisfied at a job well done. Disappointing, as there are many opportunities for improvements but they seem happy with the status quo. No succession planning. Strong monthly sales quota oriented to the exclusion of common sense and costs to achieve them. Strong, smart CEO who would be better over the Sales function than running the company.

    Continue reading
    Okuma2011-02-02

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 15 reviews