Old Country Buffet Reviews | Glassdoor

Old Country Buffet Reviews

Updated May 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
35%
Recommend to a Friend
28%
Approve of CEO
Old Country Buffet CEO Anthony Wedo (no image)
Anthony Wedo
32 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good people and the pay was okay(in 10 reviews)

  • "clean, family oriented, good food(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, your dealing with entry level workers and must compensate to maintain productivity(in 7 reviews)

  • "Everything else hours no opportunity to advance management doesn't care about employees(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Old Country Buffet part-time

    Pros

    awesome people and good food

    Cons

    bad pay and hard work

    Advice to Management

    try

    Old Country Buffet2018-10-01
  2. "I am a hard worker and ready to always learn new skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Line Server in Yakima, WA

    I worked at Old Country Buffet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good employes nice people to work with

    Cons

    The managers not go with understanging

    Advice to Management

    Learn to be more caring

    Old Country Buffet2019-05-15
  3. "OCB"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Old Country Buffet full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Crew in the building, we were a family that worked thru thick and thin.

    Cons

    Didn't feel a part of the company, just another employee

    Old Country Buffet2018-11-24
  4. "Not the same"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Old Country Buffet full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Was good once before baught

    Cons

    Let something good die , not baught by uncaring people

    Advice to Management

    Let the good memories stat

    Old Country Buffet2018-05-26
  5. "Old country buffet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Old Country Buffet part-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with, most are friendly and very hospitable

    Cons

    Dinner can be a bit pricey

    Advice to Management

    great job

    Old Country Buffet2017-11-17
  6. "collected money, check, and coupons from customers. Clean work and beverage areas. Answer phone calls."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Medford, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Old Country Buffet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    dinner and lunch, employees, customers, music, environment

    Cons

    manager, mice, restaurant size, and breakfast

    Advice to Management

    Hire more professional managers and supervisors

    Old Country Buffet2017-09-19
  7. "Dishwasher nice friendly employees everyone is a team everybody works together"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dishwasher in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Old Country Buffet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's nice clean and friendly and everyone works together we all are a team to help keep it up and running

    Cons

    The downfall was they had to close

    Advice to Management

    Very possible in a short. Of time that you working and you prove yourself

    Old Country Buffet2017-09-07
  8. "Not the worst.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waitress 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Old Country Buffet part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    everyone in the kitchen and dish room was really nice, some other staff was cool too

    Cons

    some employees were not carrying their share of work and management did not help to make it better

    Advice to Management

    don't keep bad employees

    Old Country Buffet2017-09-06
  9. "line server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Old Country Buffet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    clean, family oriented, good food

    Cons

    needs new management, and employs needs to be looked at to

    Advice to Management

    new managment

    Old Country Buffet2017-07-24
  10. "So many illegal ethical issues one person minumum quits a week"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kennewick, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Old Country Buffet part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is better then no job at all, if you can take it they give you such low hours plenty of time to look for a better job.

    Cons

    I am overwhelmed by the amount of OSHA, L&I, and Employee rights violations. Unsafe, unsanitary and volatile people skills, with multiple mangers who cont First off there no breaks, discrimination, low hours, like they said I would get at least 36 hours a week I get 7-23 now. Everyone quits or gets fired because our shift manager takes everything out on employees, verbally insults, degrades, and retaliates I.e.... low hours, no proper paperwork, constant berating, threats of job or hour loss, then punished with low hours. For example I was threatens to be fired while calling from emergency room, so I got treated left against medical advice, and came in, only to be told that my shifts were covered for the next 4 days" Gives people of her own race preferential treatment. Working there for over a year now the most turnover I have ever seen. 1-5 employees hired then quit, or fired per week. All due to one person! Costing the company, money, time, and a stable running restaurant until the management corrects the issues.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Need to have Managers properly trained, and the current shift manager is the reason for most of these problems, proper training, stopping of verbal threats, intimidation , and retaliation. Boost employee morale especially the ones who have been there a long time. Increase hours, and cut cost of employee turnover by cross training current employees for multiple positions and opportunities for advancement. ... A guarantee for retaining their employment with the ability to steadily gain more hours, and skills, so they can support their families and not need to find another employer.

    Show More
    Old Country Buffet2017-07-24
Found 100 reviews