Old Navy Reviews

Updated May 9, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
63%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Old Navy President and CEO Sonia Syngal
Sonia Syngal
532 Ratings
Pros
  • "Cool job , nice employee discount(in 586 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours and great management(in 405 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "getting customers to apply for credit cards(in 496 reviews)

  • "only part time job opportunities(in 235 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Old Navy and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company culture

      Feb 18, 2021 - Merchandiser 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work with great people who are passionate and invested in their jobs

      Cons

      Always moving parts and late changes

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great for College/HS students

      Apr 22, 2021 - Old Navy Sales Associate in Whittier, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -flexible hours for college student to adjust availability and work around school -hires 16+ with school permit -good for pocket cash for young student (not liveable wage) -fun environment -great discount and store/sister stores

      Cons

      -not great pay -stressful -management doesn’t always back you with difficult customers -sometimes if busy will forget to give you your break or will give it to you too early or to late. - certain assignments given will not have adequate time for completion (ie finish recovering all of these sections in the next 2 hours but it’s a 4 hour job, plus they keep pulling you on register and stopping your task). -no real room for growth. Everyone in a supervisor position had dedicated like 8+ yrs to the company

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Excellent Job for teens or new graduates

      May 7, 2021 - Team Lead in Fairfield, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - great work environment - reasonable pay - understanding management

      Cons

      - no room for growth -

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      idk

      May 7, 2021 - Sales Associate in Riverside, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very professional, I liked the people I worked with.

      Cons

      There were some weird people since it was in a sketchy area.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      I love the company and what it stands for but once in management its really hard to move up.

      Feb 17, 2021 - Assistant Manager in Newington, NH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits. Fantastic discount. When run by the right management it can feel like you're all a big family.

      Cons

      They tend to schedule you outside of your availability. When a manager if you call out or take vacation you MUST use your PTO. You can't just opt to not use which is the most frustrating thing. Especially with COVID. I had to quarantine for 2 weeks and I had to use PTO and am now negative a week and plan on leaving the company before when it resets so I will have to pay that extra week back. Often times the best associates are the ones that end up leaving due to poor treatment. Or they're held to higher standards than others who fly under the radar. They say they hire from within but in reality they hire external more often which makes it even harder to advance through the ranks.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      flexible starter job

      May 5, 2021 - Lead Sales Associate in Ladue, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      flexible hours, good team and management, great first job

      Cons

      can be expected to do a lot at once, can be short-staffed due to age range of employees

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      draining work and uneven workloads among workers and not enough pay

      Apr 7, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      not sure there are any

      Cons

      So I was a full-time student working part-time at old navy. They made me work 39 hours a week even when I told them that was too much. I was made to work more demanding hours (evenings and weekends) and was the go-to employee whenever customers needed anything. Other co-workers would sit on their phone on the floor while I was expected to do all the work. Maybe I'm just too nice, but IDK. I would complain, and management would say they would speak to other employees about their poor work ethic but never did. Honestly, I should have been paid a manager salary, for I did just as much as they did, sometimes even more. $10 at the time seemed amazing pay for my coworkers who weren't even asked to do anything, but for me, it definitely wasn't enough. I even reached out to the district manager, who constantly promised me he would try to fix the issues going on at our store, but he never did. also, the store was also a mess, and it was embarrassing to work there. Anyways I guess it's a good job for 16 year olds, but definitely don't work for more than a year.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Help lead the lead with mangers

      May 7, 2021 - Senior Sales Associate in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They work with you scheduled a lot

      Cons

      Low starting pay but non really

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great work environment!

      May 7, 2021 - Sales Associate in Burlington, VT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Super friendly coworkers and flexible schedule !

      Cons

      Can’t really think of any!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Getting worse and worse

      May 1, 2021 - General Manager in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Great benefits: pto plan, 401k etc. -Decent salary (however they pay outside hires more than internal) -Growth opportunities

      Cons

      -Not enough payroll given for job functions, yet they continue to through on more workload and expect bigger results -NO WORK LIFE BALANCE -Treated poorly from DM, RM, and even HR -Unrealistic goals and those goals are what determine your quarterly bonus.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 7,709 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Old Navy Job Seekers

    Brand Associate
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Assistant Manager of Merchandising
    Learn About the Job
    Product Operations Specialist
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Old Navy? Share Your Experiences

    or