Oldcastle "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Oldcastle Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Aug 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
51%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Oldcastle Group Chief Executive Albert Manifold (no image)
Albert Manifold
25 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Poor Upper Management and poor work environment(in 26 reviews)

  • "Employees expected to work long hours and the rule of thumb for incentive is a pat on the back(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oldcastle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, friendly coworkers, exciting work environment

    Cons

    Gaps between lower and upper management directly impacted progression and execution.

    Continue reading
    Oldcastle2017-10-10
  2. "Sorry company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Worker in Lilesville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Oldcastle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There were no Pros at this site

    Cons

    Poor Upper Management and poor work environment

    Continue reading
    Oldcastle2019-08-23
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Area Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Oldcastle full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stable employment, good benefits, flexible hours

    Cons

    upper management lacked leadership skills and clear objectives, company behind in technology and slow to adapt to change.

    Oldcastle2018-06-11
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Love hate relationship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Chandler, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Oldcastle full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working at Oldcastle has been fairly rewarding in the almost 5 years here. -Good benefits for medical/dental/vision -401k -profit sharing, dumps directly to your 401k -room for advancement -2weeks PTO, hours accrue each paycheck -2weeks vacation time up to 5years, 3weeks after 5years, hours accrue each paycheck -good people

    Cons

    -more processes that building a space station, makes it very difficult to do daily tasks, to much red tape and the customer is the one that suffers in the end -heavy workloads to the point of failure. Your are given a load that is impossible to keep up with unless you work 15hr days 6-7days a week. Managing 30+ projects plus estimating and all the site work, overcapacity and PM’s start missing, overlooking details. Projects are very detailed and require a lot of time to review specs and drawings -low pay for responsibility and tasks expected on a day to day basis. You are responsible for the entire project and even portions you don’t have control over, if the concrete is damaged or not straight, it’s your fault, if the electrician hangs a panel upside down, it’s your fault, if the door isn’t closing right, it’s your fault. -upper management is lack luster, complain about projects or drawings taking to long, yet also know and tell you they are overloading you and understand you have too much on your plate yet won’t provide any support, say are sales aren’t high enough yet we have more work with less PM than we have had in the past 3 years. Management doesn’t keep their commitment to the people, only the numbers.

    Continue reading
    Oldcastle2018-05-07
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Jewell / Oldcastle Texas - A Culture of Politics and Fear"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Oldcastle full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very strong and large company with good health benefits, 401k match, etc. This is why I've given the company 2 stars instead of 1.

    Cons

    This is a review of Oldcastle Texas. As I understand it, each region is run very differently and I don't want to act like I know what goes on in those other areas as a salesperson. Jewell / Oldcastle is a very political place to work. The "executive management team" which were all promoted by glad handing their way to the top, has their own small clique and their own favorites. I've seen the top earning, most hardworking employees "laid off" due to performance. This "management team" breeds a culture of fear and if you're not part of this good ol boy network there is a high chance of being let go no matter what your performance or the performance of the company. This upper management team consistently gossips and talks about employees publicly to other employees. Human resources and the "leadership" are the biggest offenders here. I've been long enough tenured here to have become close to this group for my own safety and security at this company. I've also had good friends work their tails off for Jewell and be let go for no fault of their own, losing everything and putting their families in a terrible position. This happens several times a year with great and amazing people. Everything about this company is inconsistent which you wouldn't think being under the umbrella of a multi billion dollar company. Commission rates are all over the board and usually are based on relationships and friendships with "upper management". Luckily I've worked myself up to the higher end here. As salespeople we are told to go in one direction and then another direction just weeks later putting us in a terrible place with our customers consistently. There is no clear or coherent strategy and the company is run by daily sales reports. This puts tremendous strain on our relationships in the field. The products we manufacture are now of very poor quality and consistency. Which used to not be the case. There is zero quality control and as sales people we are tasked with lying to our customers about testing and what occurred during production on a regular basis. The fact that major claims or failures haven't occurred yet is astonishing. There is zero training for new employees and anyone coming to this company from the outside will never be given a fair chance to succeed. No one, not even the direct managers, take responsibility for this. It's a culture of CYA at all times for self preservation within the job. Finally, if anyone ever dare speak out about the company or any of its issues, like I'm doing right now, you will be completely black balled for the short remainder of your career. OIdcastle has "anonymous" tip lines that are continually called and those employees are then managed out of the company. The only reason I'm writing this is because of the anonymity and my love for the company and how it used to be run for the hopes of improvement.

    Continue reading
    Oldcastle2018-03-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Don't recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oldcastle full-time

    Pros

    Insurance is acceptable and affordable. Benefits are nice with profit sharing. Year end bonuses and have opportunity for advancement. Very high on safety.

    Cons

    Upper management is insane. First sign of insanity is doing same thing over and expecting different results. Spends very little money to keep equipment working and get belittled when something breakdown and parts should last forever. Get told doing 99.9% a fantastic job but have 45 minute lecture on .1% that one needs to improve.

    Continue reading
    Oldcastle2017-08-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Developer in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oldcastle full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good bonus and profit sharing incentives. Flexible work schedule. Relaxed environment. Good people to work with. They have a good severance package.

    Cons

    Very political environment . Too many ppl in upper management and not enough ppl to do the work. Too much responsibility for the low base salary. Not enough resources to focus on proper solutions to permanent issues. Severance package is structured in a way that is more appealing for employees who have been with the company the longest than the relocation package. Lots of turnover!

    Continue reading
    Oldcastle2017-03-25
  8. "Service Desk Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oldcastle full-time

    Pros

    Close nit team. Great immediate supervisor.

    Cons

    Upper Management (Service Desk Manager and CIO) not really in-tune with IT work flows which makes meeting some expectations in realistic.

    Continue reading
    Oldcastle2017-01-23
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Demand Planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Demand Planner in Napoleon, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Oldcastle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They pay decent and it's such an unorganized disaster that you can get experience in many areas of plant operations pretty easily. It served it's purpose and was a stepping stone to the next level of my career.

    Cons

    If you are a type A personality on a career path, proceed with great caution. I've never worked for such a disorganized bunch in my life. Very reactive vs proactive environment. Continuous improvement is a foreign concept. Lacking people who can understand how decisions impact all areas of the business. Once the negative outcomes of these decisions are realized, a "fall guy" will be appointed to be fired over it. They then will promote unqualified people to fill the void, and then will fire them when they are unsuccessful. If you go to OC, have a plan. I was lucky enough to find a new job before my "number was called", I saw others with spouses, kids and mortgages to support who were not as lucky. When I submitted my resignation, not my boss or a single member of upper management even spoke to me! Such an awkward leaving! No "good luck". No "don't let the door hit ya"....nothing... Confirmed I made the correct decision.

    Oldcastle2017-02-17
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Production laborer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Laborer in Oxford, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Oldcastle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Mon through Friday. Friday's being overtime in season. There's nothing more good about this job. I'm just writing the minimum words to submit.

    Cons

    No advancement. Your not valued. Mandatory overtime. Management is lazy and communication is minimum. The upper management is even worse. There promise you advancement but will not see you through. The regional guy sounds like a car sales man

    Continue reading
    Oldcastle2017-02-18
Found 26 reviews