Olga's Kitchen Reviews | Glassdoor

Olga's Kitchen Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 61 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Matt Carpenter
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "A fast paced job that keeps you on your feet and lets you stay active(in 4 reviews)

  • "The servers get good tips, and we do not have to share them with the other servers(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Still my favorite place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dishwasher, Host, Cook in Portage, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Olga's Kitchen full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    It's a clean joint and the staff are like family. Everyone works together as a team to get through the day and the mood is usually pretty chill.

    Cons

    lol. The staff are like family. Sometimes personal stuff causes a little discord amongst the team, but it's all good. They work things out well there.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing, JD. Love you always!

    Olga's Kitchen2017-11-10
  2. "Good job for extra cash"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Olga's Kitchen part-time

    Pros

    The servers get good tips, and we do not have to share them with the other servers. Base pay is about 3 dollars and hour, but I make anywhere from 10-20 dollars an hour in tips. Coworkers are great.

    Cons

    Our team has been a little short staffed lately, so covering shifts/getting shifts covered can be difficult.

    Olga's Kitchen2019-01-02
  3. "Good place to start out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Waiter in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends

    I have been working at Olga's Kitchen part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    - Good place to start out - Easy menu to learn - Opens late and closes early - Decently priced - 20% off at Applebees, Mod Pizza and Del Taco - Coworkers are great

    Cons

    - Only 50% off one meal a day while working as a server - Does not serve alcohol, so bills are not as high - Target demographic is old people - Their motto is "We say yes" which means the customers can walk all over you

    Olga's Kitchen2018-12-20
  4. "Not Recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Clinton Township, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Olga's Kitchen part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    -Easy menu to learn -Not open as late as most places, which means you aren't there as late if you're a closer

    Cons

    -Typically worked with young and inexperienced coworkers. Olga's doesn't serve alcohol, so majority of the staff were high school kids -At my location the kitchen was very small. This meant it was challenging for the cooks to keep up with customer orders

    Olga's Kitchen2018-12-17
  5. "Olgas Kitchen :/"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Bloomfield Hills, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Olga's Kitchen part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very caring managers, half off meals, easy going serving job.

    Cons

    Can be very very slow

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what ur doing

    Olga's Kitchen2018-10-10
  6. "Waitress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Olga's Kitchen

      Pros

      There are no pros working here

      Cons

      Bad management, underpaid, limited opportunities to advance

      Olga's Kitchen2018-07-27
    • "Server"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Server 

      I have been working at Olga's Kitchen full-time

      Pros

      Good tips, quick tables, fast paced.

      Cons

      Awful scheduling, goes based off of who the manager likes for the week.

      Olga's Kitchen2018-07-27
    • "Server"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Olga's Kitchen part-time

      Pros

      Small menu, easy to understand

      Cons

      Cutting labor leaves cooks and servers responsible for too much-- every day the restaurant is left for at least an hour without a dishwasher or host and the servers are expected to take on these rolls themselves while still only getting paid serving wage. Closing servers make much less in tips but are expected to close a solid chunk of the kitchen as well as the entire front of house while simultaneously serving and hosting.

      Advice to Management

      Stop using servers as free labor to avoid giving dishwashers and hosts more hours

      Olga's Kitchen2018-04-03
    • "olgas kitchen"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - Server in Rochester, MI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Olga's Kitchen full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Rochester area provided decent money

      Cons

      management made you clean under servers wage, worked open to close, general manager was horrible, run badly from a corporate level

      Olga's Kitchen2018-03-28
    • "Server"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Server 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Olga's Kitchen full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      The employees that work at Olga's are wonderful, energetic, and friendly people.

      Cons

      They do not have a person to make the salads, soups, and snackers for the customers so the Servers make them. This takes up a major chunk of the time they should be tending to customers needs, but instead they are preparing food.

      Olga's Kitchen2017-12-06
    Found 61 reviews