Olive Garden Italian Restaurants Reviews

Updated May 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
69%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Olive Garden Italian Restaurants CEO Gene Lee
Gene Lee
1,333 Ratings
Pros
  • "great for students who need a flexible schedule(in 391 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours, management at my location was generally willing to work around 2nd jobs or college courses(in 215 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Soup and salad combo is no joke and refilling both can get annoying(in 246 reviews)

  • "Only 3 table sections are given to each server(in 135 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Olive Garden Italian Restaurants and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Lots of fun, good money

      Mar 21, 2021 - Togo Specialist in Bountiful, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hourly pay $10 plus tips

      Cons

      Long shifts, can be slow

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Lots of great and lots of bad

      Mar 15, 2021 - Server 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      At my Olive Garden, it truly was a family atmosphere. It was my first serving job and everyone was so kind and helpful to me from the start. I was able to make great money, especially on the weekends, and you are paid right after you leave the shift. Cash will go home with you and credit tips will go straight to your bank account.

      Cons

      There are "Ziosks" at each table, little mini computers that guests can play games, order food, pay their tab, and then answer a guest experience survey. The survey asks things like, did you server recommend a beverage to you? Was your food tasty? Did you get enough value for your money? Many questions do not relate to the server's service, but the scoring does. Even if you ask the customers if they'd like to try a specific beverage every single table, many customers will forget and say you didn't. Or some customers will admit that they never give anyone five stars "because there's always room for improvement." These scores affect your job and management can get ridiculous about them because they affect their job too. The unlimited soup and salad makes your job so much harder. At many restaurants, you serve your guests drinks and then wait for their food. At Olive Garden, you could be visiting a table 50 times while serving unlimited soups and salads, while running around to your other 3-4 tables doing the same. When you're in the weeds, you are in the weeds. Starting out was very hard, but I did have some amazing nights that I really enjoyed.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Olive Garden is a great job for the first time

      May 7, 2021 - To Go Specialist in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Friendly Staff -Great Environment -Great System and easy to learn

      Cons

      - Does not pay well depending what position you work at - Tips are optional and shared with other To - Go Specialist (sometimes you make $10 tip or $50 on a good day)

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Marathon

      Feb 18, 2021 - Dishwasher in State College, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The work is straightforward so it’s a matter of pacing yourself, for the long haul. Half priced food for all employees and dollar breadstick/soup/salad deals apply to employees. Sweet hardworking bartender Jackie was serving up smoothies/coffee drinks to fellow coworkers despite the rigorous duties of bartending in itself. Most of the already established dishwashers were great to work with. Wages can be discussed and/or renegotiated practically any time with reason. Many interesting walks of life to learn from.

      Cons

      You can take a 30 min dinner/lunch break at the cost of leaving your dishwashing partner alone and having piles stack on within seconds. I’ve had to close down by myself due to dishwasher teammates calling out last minute. Few employees in other department suffer from privileged-superiority-complex so always stand your ground. Never dealt with prejudice: overheard one racist remark from a gay guy, it was strange to hear in this day an age. Strange rules were set where “dead food orders” (incorrect/cancelled orders) were to be disposed of. I refuse to live in a world where we throw away perfectly edible food and have the poor cook’s effort completely go in vein. Such a waste of time energy, resource & space. I would never let that fly under my management. A waitress was fired for eating a dead food order, very strange to punish rather than discipline. Usually finished closing dishwashing shift 2 hours after closing time on average.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Fun to work at

      May 8, 2021 - Server 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good tips, lots of people from different walks of life

      Cons

      Tips can be bad, depending on region

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good first job

      May 9, 2021 - Server in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Pay Coworkers Can exchange shifts

      Cons

      Bad Hours offered money made in afternoon

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Overall good place to work

      May 9, 2021 - Hostess in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great coworkers flexibility easy job

      Cons

      Chaotic, rude customers , tight seating

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Overall bussing experiance

      May 5, 2021 - Busser/Food Runner in Clifton, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent tips and quick training

      Cons

      Can be a pain to work for customers and servers can often treat you poorly

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      It’s okay

      May 5, 2021 - Hostess/Server in Rome, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Family oriented Good schedule Good and fast money Easy to move up

      Cons

      Bad management No work balance Occasional hostile environment

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Become a trainer

      Apr 6, 2021 - Togo Specialist in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pros of working here is the family environment and if you're really social you can really make great tips. I was a trainer in ToGos so I did get a higher hourly while I was training and with my raises that I got

      Cons

      You have so many random tasks and the servers and managers don't realize how many random tasks we have to do that make operations run smoothly and you can get taken for granted that's why I ended up leaving because they take advantage of the people that are willing to help and don't care if the ones that don't want to help don't help because they expect you to pick up their slack.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 5,313 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Olive Garden Italian Restaurants Job Seekers

    Server
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Olive Garden Italian Restaurants? Share Your Experiences

    or