Olive Reviews | Glassdoor

Olive Reviews

Updated Aug 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 63 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Olive CEO Sean Lane
Sean Lane
48 Ratings
Pros
  • "Additionally, perks like free-lunch, beer and a cool office were nice as well(in 7 reviews)

  • "Fantastic perks (beautiful office, MacBooks, unlimited PTO, craft beer on tap, in-house chef with free lunch, the list goes on and on)(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "I think everyone at Crosschx/Olive had the opportunity to work more cohesively and they unified to do so to get new results(in 10 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A Healthcare Technology Rocket Ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SDR in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Olive full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The perks at Olive are abundant. Free lunches, gym, ping pong, arcade games, free healthcare, unlimited PTO and a barbershop all under one roof. That's what you will see on the surface, but when you really get down to it, Olive is a great place filled with so many smart and dedicated people to building a company that will make an impact

    Cons

    You have to be okay with changes occurring on a moments notice here.

    Continue reading
    Olive2019-07-31
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Olive full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free food and drinks. However you better get in line quickly otherwise there won’t be any left.

    Cons

    No yearly raises, no merit raises, long work hours. Claim to have an AI product however it’s not actually AI at all.. Deception at every level in the company. Run far...

    Olive2019-08-30
  3. "Best training I've ever received, Strongest team atmosphere I've ever been a part of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Olive full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Given a lot of responsibility beyond a typical SDR, you're selling a cutting edge technology, and anyone is willing to help you out

    Cons

    Some may view this as a con although I do not... Constant change occurring at the company, have to be open to moving around and adapting to change.

    Olive2019-07-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Unfair Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Olive full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free Lunch, Drinks and snacks

    Cons

    Expect to not have a work life balance at all. They will expect you to work 10 - 12 hours per day and keep piling work on you while others do nothing. Sales also is making 6 - 8 percent in commission on top of their base pay. When that is a couple million in contracts that's a lot of money. So make sure you ask for what you want really want compensation wise because they do not give yearly merit raises or cost of living increases.

    Continue reading
    Olive2019-07-23
  5. "A great place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Olive full-time

    Pros

    -Everyone is incredibly dedicated -Rather mission driven and focused on changing healthcare in tangible ways -Puts emphasis on pushing technical bounds -Great transparency -Awesome perks

    Cons

    While its very transparent, at times some decisions can seem to come out of nowhere

    Continue reading
    Olive2019-01-08
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Not what I expected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Olive full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and cool people... that’s it. Unlimited PTO 100% paid benefits Paid parking Free lunches Work from home

    Cons

    Boring job. I was hired as an engineer and all I do is try to figure out the messy, undocumented code base with very little help or success. Product is ambiguous and after months of being there, I’ve never been able to use it myself. Claims they have a work life balance, but most people work 10-12 hour days. Work from home often requires an excuse.

    Olive2018-11-15
  7. "a lot of heart with good intention"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Olive full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Kind people Intellectually stimulating environment Provided an ability to learn advanced strategic organizational, developmental and sales concepts and how to apply them successfully A mission worth putting effort towards if you're into helping to heal others Healthcare needs fixed if you're up for the challenge Opportunities to work cross-functionally with smart business folks and top-notch developers (both front and back end) Yum, food!

    Cons

    Organizations/businesses all want to grow, and keep growing. Sometimes that doesn't happen how we want and it then happens in other ways we didn't expect. That can take time, which caused some friction on our team. I think everyone at Crosschx/Olive had the opportunity to work more cohesively and they unified to do so to get new results. It was a bit chaotic before this started to happen, in fact sometimes it seemed like no end in sight. But the energy was always there. Other things just needed to be let go in order to move in a different direction.

    Continue reading
    Olive2018-08-30
  8. "Things seem better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Olive full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Amazing team... smart and fun * Cool office, food, etc. * Recent shift toward gender diversity * Exciting challenges * No pivots for over a year

    Cons

    * Basic work gripes * Increased diversity in leadership is not across all departments

    Continue reading
    Olive2018-06-26
  9. Helpful (3)

    "So much more than a pretty office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Olive full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people: This is the most intelligent, inspiring group of people I’ve ever met. They’re committed to their work, but they’re also a ton of fun to hang out with. I haven’t experienced the bro-y culture other people have referenced in their reviews, and as a female employee, I've never felt like my insights are disregarded or unappreciated by my team. Based on previous reviews, I’m thinking the company has changed a lot in recent years. Everyone on the team is also very accommodating: I’m fairly new here, but everyone has gone out of their way to answer my questions, help me learn the ropes, and set me up for success. The pace: Things are constantly changing, so this makes for a great environment if you never want to feel bored and if you want to feel like you’re part of building something impactful. Of course a faster pace can be tense at times, so I think you need to be comfortable rolling with the punches to make it work. That said, everyone here’s so willing to help, so I think it’s manageable even while maintaining pretty standard working hours. The flexibility: We’re encouraged to work remote and take PTO as needed. I work remote at least one day a week, and my entire team has been really supportive of it. The growth opportunities: Leadership actively looks for ways to challenge people and put them in the spotlight. Even in a short time, I’ve felt like my work has been recognized and appreciated at the highest levels of the company.

    Cons

    The environment: Don’t get me wrong, the space is GORGEOUS and I love coming to work here every day. For me, the biggest challenge for me has been adapting to the work style in the office—it’s very collaborative and can get noisy at times, so I’ve had to adjust my own habits accordingly. You have to really take ownership of your time to succeed here, and it’s easy to lose your day to “got a minute” meetings. There are plenty of places to get away from the hubbub and focus, though, and you can always work remote part of the week. The past: I’m incredibly proud to work here and am excited about the work we’re doing, and it makes me sad to see that others haven’t had the same experience. I’ll admit, I was pretty hesitant too when I was interviewing and I saw the Glassdoor reviews, but once I started working here, it became clear that those reviews don’t really reflect how CrossChx is anymore. My advice to people considering working here: come see for yourself what we're about here. Take old reviews at face value, because I think you'll find they don't necessarily reflect the culture or values of the company.

    Continue reading
    Olive2018-06-11
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Columbus, OH
    Recommends

    I have been working at Olive full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    CrossChx is a great place to learn and grow. The engineering team is immensely supportive of each other and all work incredibly well as a team. Also, the push for diversity is showing and it's great to be a part of a team with women engineers in leadership positions.

    Cons

    No cons so far, my hope is they've learned from some growing pains over the last year or two. Leadership openly requests and is open to feedback and suggestions, so I only have positives to share at this point.

    Continue reading
    Olive2018-02-24
Found 63 reviews