Oliver Wyman Analyst Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Analyst

Oliver Wyman Analyst Reviews

Updated Apr 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Oliver Wyman CEO Scott McDonald
Scott McDonald
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Not perfect, but easily the best company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Oliver Wyman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The firm is fun, modern, and engaging. People are smart and respectful (if anything maybe a little on the pretentious side, but we're all ultimately harmless and open to new perspectives). On the whole, I really like it here.

    Cons

    Work-life balance is a challenge of course, and so is diversity. Still, both of these cons are common to almost every corporate firm, so honestly... just come work here and help address it!

    Oliver Wyman2019-04-09
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Just a solid consulting firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Summer Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oliver Wyman for less than a year

    Pros

    Really smart people Reasonable hours Small teams Able to move up quickly

    Cons

    Culture still feels rigid as compared to startups

    Advice to Management

    Embrace innovation truly

    Oliver Wyman2018-11-10
  3. "Great Consultancy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Summer Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oliver Wyman for less than a year

    Pros

    The people there are all really smart. Managers are typically empathetic and care about work/life balance. Pay is in line with the other consulting firms. There's opportunity to move up quickly, my partner was 33 and my PM was like 28.

    Cons

    All the typical cons of consulting. You travel all the time. Sometimes hours can be harsh.

    Advice to Management

    There's a lot of talk around how the company is entrepreneurial and innovative. The intent is there, but in action I don't see much of that. It's a consulting firm. They do a great job. But if you want to brand yourself as agile, and entrepreneurial, it takes more than just the words.

    Oliver Wyman2017-05-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Solid Experience, but lacks growth if you're not a consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oliver Wyman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great resources - Opportunities to learn a lot of different fields and areas of expertise - Solid pay - Experienced colleagues

    Cons

    - Tough to learn/develop skills if you're not a consultant; basically on your own - Interesting 'wall' between consultants and non-consultants - Strong hierarchy, difficult to escalate innovative ideas and project findings - Slow to adapt

    Advice to Management

    Enhance and further implement the training curriculum for non-consultants to develop their skillsets. I heard of a lot of opportunity in this area, but never saw it through.

    Oliver Wyman2017-05-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture, truly collegial yet remaining professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant, Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oliver Wyman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - the culture and flexible, open minded people - pay scale is satisfactory and at par or above competitors - Great reputation in the industry ensures flow of big impact, interesting projects - Solid chance for professional development as entry level analyst with constant and targeted feedback

    Cons

    - may take a while to get to responsibility, but the opportunity exists depending on the project and how you perform -Work life balance was not great, but there were efforts to look at improving this

    Advice to Management

    - Constantly scouting and matching the right people with the right work where they can meaningfully contribute while learning a great deal - Perks were lower than other companies, bonus, relocation fee, complementary corporate discounts etc.

    Oliver Wyman2015-01-22
  6. "Not much room to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oliver Wyman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * Small company feeling * Some flexibility to pretty much decide what you want to work on

    Cons

    * Not much room to grow

    Advice to Management

    * Offer better pay

    Oliver Wyman2013-05-30
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great first out of college work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oliver Wyman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Global staffing model - opportunities to work all over the world Very high quality of people Looking to keep and promote internally people rather than a 2 years, out model A lot of responsibility early on

    Cons

    Very focused on a few industries - you can get pigeonholed (though staffing tries to add variety) Not so good work-life balance Office cultures differ a lot, it can be sometimes challenging when working with teams with very different values

    Oliver Wyman2013-01-07
  8. "Summer Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Summer Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oliver Wyman for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Career Support, Collaborative Company Culture

    Cons

    The hours can be long towards the end of a case

    Advice to Management

    Good

    Oliver Wyman2012-12-26
  9. "work is your life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Analyst in New York, NY
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Oliver Wyman

    Pros

    steep learning curve - teaches good analytical and presentation skills interesting people perks

    Cons

    work/life balance non-existent meaningfulness of work

    Advice to Management

    care more about your employees maintain integrity of the work

    Oliver Wyman2010-07-02
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great for personal development - too bad nobody has heard of us"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Analyst 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Oliver Wyman

    Pros

    Oliver Wyman provides great opportunities to work with a variety of people in a variety of locations and industries right after you join. Unlike most management consultancies, you get a lot of say in the industry you prefer, which makes it easier to pick your expertise, your managers, and your teammates.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, nobody has heard of us. I constantly find myself explaining who we are and I am often apologetic for it. The rebranding effort was a failure - the Mercer brand was stronger - and recent cutbacks in recruiting have further dropped our brand recognition.

    Advice to Management

    Stop behaving like you're a second-tier company, and pursue work at a higher level.

    Oliver Wyman2009-05-30
Found 20 reviews