Oliver Wyman Reviews

Updated May 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
93%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Oliver Wyman CEO Scott McDonald
Scott McDonald
262 Ratings
Pros
  • "Too many to list, but primarily great people and culture(in 64 reviews)

  • "Very smart people and interesting work(in 64 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "The best in Financial Services"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oliver Wyman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Top people, good benefits, great culture

    Cons

    Typical consulting cons, hours, travel, etc.

    Oliver Wyman2020-04-28
  2. "Great Culture, People and opportunities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oliver Wyman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart people, great project experiences, mentorship, nonprofit and externship secondment opportunities, great firm brand

    Cons

    Sometimes not great WLB, projects can be burners

    Oliver Wyman2020-05-27
  3. "Great for personal development"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oliver Wyman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere, lots of social activities Many opportunities for career development All support staff eligible for bonus pool

    Cons

    Change fatigue, must constantly adapt to continuing changes in tech systems, mgmt initiatives, office protocols. Barely learn one system before they revise and setup a new one

    Oliver Wyman2020-05-21
  4. "Good learning opportunity, poor WLB"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Consultant 

    I have been working at Oliver Wyman full-time

    Pros

    lots of opportunities to grow and learn, great colleagues

    Cons

    Poor WLB, frequently working 16+ hour days

    Oliver Wyman2020-05-30
  5. "Great firm"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oliver Wyman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people, strong work experience in diverse sectors

    Cons

    Long hours (12 - 15 on avg Monday - Thursday)

    Oliver Wyman2020-05-15
  6. "Great people, great culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engagement Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oliver Wyman full-time

    Pros

    Terrific group of people and opportunities to have impact on industries

    Cons

    Work hours can be long at times

    Oliver Wyman2020-05-11
  7. "Great place to start your career"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Oliver Wyman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast-paced work environment with constant learning, great people, interesting industry exposure

    Cons

    Mix of leadership that does / doesn't care about consultants

    Continue reading
    Oliver Wyman2020-05-03
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Racist, EEOC violators, slavery, bully. harrassing, mocking, ridicule and insulting experience"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Oliver Wyman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You can violate any EEOC laws. You can violate any Department of Labors law. You can behave as unethically as you wish here and nothing will be done to you. If you are still into slavery, the company treats minorities like garbage at Olyver Wyman. Perfect place to bully and get away with it.

    Cons

    I experienced racism I experienced bully I experienced insulting behaviors I experienced retaliation I experienced harassment to resign I experienced Cyberbullying I experienced set up to fail and to be forced to quit I was discriminated against for the entire three months I worked here until I had to resign from stress I experienced name calling I experienced mockery and ridicule I witnessed racial discrimination I experienced unfair treatment during my injury I was refused worker compensation There is no confidentiality in this company I witnessed HR burying all personnel matters that concern minorities I truly regret working at Oliver Wyman Worst experience of my entire life Worst HR Worst Diversity team Worst management

    Continue reading
    Oliver Wyman2020-04-27

    Oliver Wyman Response

    May 6, 2020

    Oliver Wyman is deeply committed to a culture of diversity and inclusion that honors the fundamental principles of human dignity, equality, and mutual respect. Employees are urged to address any concerns or complaints of harassment to a manager, Human Capital team member, or our parent company’s Employee Relations Department. Oliver Wyman will thoroughly and fairly investigate reports or complaints of harassment, and will promptly take appropriate remedial action to resolve the problem.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "International, diverse, and tons of opportunity"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oliver Wyman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Open meritocracy, with leaner bureaucracy and fewer obstacles to advancement - Less cutthroat, no up or out policy and a shift away from MBA's to quicker promotion - Truly global P&L with top-tier clients and content (strategy focus) means lots of cross-industry international opportunities

    Cons

    - WLB challenges, though with management working proactively to improve - Growing brand name in many markets, though consistently improving - Some pains (for example, shared services like IT) associated with being the subsidiary of a major public company

    Oliver Wyman2020-03-16
  10. Helpful (3)

    "A top tier firm with leaders who truly care and a culture that is very human"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oliver Wyman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Top tier premium management consultancy experience - Company strategy and results focus on achieving amazing impact on industries and the world; we're at all the key clients needed to do this The above is tablestakes for this kind of firm. What makes OW special is: - The people, who truly care and treat each other in a human and humane way - The culture, which is a bit chaotic but also entrepreneurial and open to experiments or individual customizations

    Cons

    - Less known brand than MBB, on average across industries. (Financial Services probably more on par or OW ahead in places) - The chaotic entrepreneurialism can be unnerving until you learn to roll with it, love it, and get value from it

    Continue reading
    Oliver Wyman2020-02-14
Found 672 reviews