Ollie’s Bargain Outlet "20 discount" Reviews | Glassdoor

Ollie’s Bargain Outlet Employee Reviews about "20 discount"

Updated Jul 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 305 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Ollie’s Bargain Outlet CEO Mark Butler
Mark Butler
146 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Customers are messy, not great communication from upper management(in 14 reviews)

  • "(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "20 discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I just started at Ollies corporate office a little over one month ago. It's been a really great experience so far. Upper management is very helpful and they want to see you succeed. Everyone is willing to answer your questions. There is no disconnect between executives and regular employees which is really awesome. Executives are really easy to have conversation with. Very ethical work environment, great benefits, and...

    Show More

    Cons

    I have nothing negative to say.

    Advice to Management

    Keep encouraging your employees to succeed and work hard. Doing a great job.

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-02-18
  2. "So far so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Tuscaloosa, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    20 percent discount and as for my store we are a good team.

    Cons

    At the moment there are none

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-06-22
  3. "Be prepared to experience a real test of patience..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Supervisor in Greece, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -20% Discount -Earned Vacation time if you're full time -Pretty relaxed environment

    Cons

    Be prepared to move some heavy merchandise. Use this place as your opportunity to get into shape! You'll have customers who will try to switch tickets. Keep a watchful eye. Tight hours in the summer. Maybe two days if you're part time, and you're scheduled right to the minimum At 35 hours if you're full time during the summer. The place will feel pretty darn understaffed even if one person calls off.

    Advice to Management

    There needs to be better incentives for employees who deliver excellence to the company (I.e. productivity, outstanding customer service, etc). One annual raise of 3% of current salary is laughable. Profits for Ollie's are phenomenal. If you took even a fraction of a percent of revenue and invested it in your employees, I think you will all see just how great of an atmosphere that creates in an Ollie's. As a former Supervisor...

    Show More
    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-05-31
  4. "DON'T DO IT TO YOURSELF!!!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in Hixon, TN

      I worked at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Plenty of hours because everyone was quitting left and right. 20% Employee Discount

      Cons

      Way too much freight and apparently no one could mandate how much was received

      Advice to Management

      Work on listening to your lower colleagues. They are associates but they are people as well. What management fails to realize is that their attitudes effect those below them as well, too man bad vibes coming from this company.

      Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-05-18
    • "Corporate employee"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Corporate Employee in Harrisburg, PA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Work/life balance No micromanaging Free stuff in the break room at times 20% employee discount on already cheap items Krüieg machine with unlimited coffee All executives treat you with respect

      Cons

      No cons really. The only cons I see here is from working in the stores which I cannot relate to.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the good work!

      Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-03-25
    • "Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Sales Associate 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I have been working at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      20% discount for employees is nice.

      Cons

      Rotating hours, not a steady schedule. Limited training or explanation of job responsibilities.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to better ways to perform jobs.

      Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-02-10
    • "Be careful who you insist do their job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Freight Flow Supervisor in Lancaster, PA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      20% discount, co-workers were great

      Cons

      management dating subordinates,,,investigating allegations non existent

      Advice to Management

      look into things a little further before throwing somebody out the door. Was terminated for sexual harassment because I expected people to do their job and told them when they weren't. Little did I know one of them was dating the Co-manager and she made false allegations. Check into things more thoroughly.

      Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-02-10
    • "Co team leader"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Co Team Leader in Philadelphia, PA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      20 percent discount for employees

      Cons

      Upper management don't know how to run a store

      Advice to Management

      Try working a week at the store doing door to floor in 24

      Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2018-10-04
    • Helpful (2)

      "Department Supervisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Department Supervisor in Louisville, KY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good first job, lenient on schedule, 20 percent discount

      Cons

      Bad management, keep up with ur own hours because u might not get paid

      Advice to Management

      Work as hard as u expect ur employees to work

      Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2018-09-05
    • Helpful (1)

      "Assistant Team Leader"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time

      Pros

      Steady work, employee discount (20%)

      Cons

      short staffed, too much freight

      Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2018-05-18
    Found 305 reviews