Ollie’s Bargain Outlet Reviews | Glassdoor

Ollie’s Bargain Outlet Reviews

Updated Jun 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 301 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Ollie’s Bargain Outlet CEO Mark Butler
Mark Butler
145 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Customers are messy, not great communication from upper management(in 14 reviews)

  • "(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSA in Florence, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff truly is a team, and management really does look after employees. Twenty percent employee discount helps out a lot! They also hire above minimum wage, which is really helpful.

    Cons

    It's tough to make full time, as it seems to be based solely on seniority, not a combination of seniority and who works hardest. I plan to stick around awhile, though!

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-03-27
  2. "Ollie's bargain outlet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CTL 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay is good but no overtime

    Cons

    Unloading large carpet and appliance trucks

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-06-13
  3. "Be prepared to experience a real test of patience..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Supervisor in Greece, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -20% Discount -Earned Vacation time if you're full time -Pretty relaxed environment

    Cons

    Be prepared to move some heavy merchandise. Use this place as your opportunity to get into shape! You'll have customers who will try to switch tickets. Keep a watchful eye. Tight hours in the summer. Maybe two days if you're part time, and you're scheduled right to the minimum At 35 hours if you're full time during the summer. The place will feel pretty darn understaffed even if one person calls off.

    Advice to Management

    There needs to be better incentives for employees who deliver excellence to the company (I.e. productivity, outstanding customer service, etc). One annual raise of 3% of current salary is laughable. Profits for Ollie's are phenomenal. If you took even a fraction of a percent of revenue and invested it in your employees, I think you will all see just how great of an atmosphere that creates in an Ollie's. As a former Supervisor...

    Show More
    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-05-31
  4. "Work environment is hectic. Overwhelming job once you move into full time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freight Flow Supervisor in Beckley, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet

    Pros

    Good employee discount. Easy to move up in the company as long as you put the work in.

    Cons

    Their is no care put into loading the trucks. They give you too much work and not enough payroll to complete the tasks needed. The pay is not competitive at all.

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-05-21
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate in Statesboro, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours Good management Plenty to do Move up fast

    Cons

    The work is exhausting Often shorthanded

    Advice to Management

    DTLs- more hours in each store will solve 90% of problems...especially with freight and recovery

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-05-16
  6. "Ha"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you find them then good for you

    Cons

    Very few hours. If you don't keep up OA enrollment numbers then you get scheduled even less until you are fired. They will also use you for their own gain and take credit for your work so they can move up and get bonuses while treating you like sh*t and not acknowledging any of your work.

    Advice to Management

    F**k off

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-06-17
  7. "Pretty Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet

      Pros

      Easy work, pays decent, nice coworkers

      Cons

      Not enough hours, hard to move up in the company

      Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-04-21
    • "Needs some work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Service Associate 
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Friendly working enviroment and I love working there. However, depending on who is the manager, may give different working environments. They are very flexible with hours and will try to work with your schedule.

      Cons

      Miscommunication between from management about certain deals that have to be done through the cashier.

      Advice to Management

      communicate new items becoming on sale, stick to company policy

      Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-04-21
    • "DON'T DO IT TO YOURSELF!!!!!!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Sales Associate in Hixon, TN

        I worked at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Plenty of hours because everyone was quitting left and right. 20% Employee Discount

        Cons

        Way too much freight and apparently no one could mandate how much was received

        Advice to Management

        Work on listening to your lower colleagues. They are associates but they are people as well. What management fails to realize is that their attitudes effect those below them as well, too man bad vibes coming from this company.

        Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-05-18
      • "Great and fun place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Cashiering in Albertville, AL

        I have been working at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        I enjoy working at Ollie's! The have a great team in management and throughout the store, plus the customers are great!

        Cons

        The pay could be better More hours

        Advice to Management

        None. I have no complaints about the management at my location.

        Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-04-05
      Found 301 reviews