Ollie’s Bargain Outlet Reviews | Glassdoor

Ollie’s Bargain Outlet Reviews

Updated 18 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Ollie’s Bargain Outlet CEO Mark Butler
Mark Butler
147 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSA in Florence, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff truly is a team, and management really does look after employees. Twenty percent employee discount helps out a lot! They also hire above minimum wage, which is really helpful.

    Cons

    It's tough to make full time, as it seems to be based solely on seniority, not a combination of seniority and who works hardest. I plan to stick around awhile, though!

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-03-27
  2. "Corporate employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Employee in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work/life balance No micromanaging Free stuff in the break room at times 20% employee discount on already cheap items Krüieg machine with unlimited coffee All executives treat you with respect

    Cons

    No cons really. The only cons I see here is from working in the stores which I cannot relate to.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-03-25
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Great Environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I just started at Ollies corporate office a little over one month ago. It's been a really great experience so far. Upper management is very helpful and they want to see you succeed. Everyone is willing to answer your questions. There is no disconnect between executives and regular employees which is really awesome. Executives are really easy to have conversation with. Very ethical work environment, great benefits,... and 20% employee discount on already cheap stuff, 1 hour lunch, and 2 personal days/year!

    Show More

    Cons

    I have nothing negative to say.

    Advice to Management

    Keep encouraging your employees to succeed and work hard. Doing a great job.

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-02-18
  5. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Matthews, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great discount , management was awesome they try and accommodate your requested hours. Great place to work

    Cons

    They try to put to much on the floor at one time when there is no room. So they wind up sticking it wherever it will fit then customers cannot see what there is because there is just to much out

    Advice to Management

    If store was not cluttered by employees having to so much inventory out. Customer might respect store more. Other than that my MANAGERS WERE GREAT MATTHEWS NC

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-01-02
  6. "Enjoyable, straightforward work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Jackson, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy, good work environment, great boss

    Cons

    Customers are messy, not great communication from upper management

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2018-11-25
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Customers are rude, but the store is small enough to get to know your coworkers. Which improves the work enviroment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Gloucester, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My Store Manager is great, 20% off already cheap stuff, and flexible schedule.

    Cons

    Usually understaffed, constant theft, No set jobs.

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2018-10-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Unloader in Columbia, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay for a first time job

    Cons

    No time off would be nice

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2018-08-10
  9. "Great co-workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet part-time

    Pros

    I was told there was a great team/family vibe to working with everyone, and this is definitely true. My co-workers have been there for me throughout training. 8-hour shifts allow 2 15-minute breaks along with a 30-minute break.

    Cons

    Like with any customer service job, there can be less-than-nice customers.

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2018-05-21
  10. "Csa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet part-time

    Pros

    Nice place to work with great peopme

    Cons

    Nothing really just a lot of different merchandise

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2018-05-18
  11. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Dunbar, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Persistent schedule, decent pay, good benefits, great people to work with,

    Cons

    Can get redundant, just have to learn how to switch it up

    Advice to Management

    You're doing great

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2018-01-18
Found 316 reviews