Ollie’s Bargain Outlet Reviews | Glassdoor

Ollie’s Bargain Outlet Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Ollie’s Bargain Outlet CEO Mark Butler
Mark Butler
147 Ratings
  1. "Retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Operations Manager 

    I worked at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time

    Pros

    Easy to move up there

    Cons

    Retail really really really sucks

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-10-18
  2. "Cluttered, crazy mess of a storei"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Supervisor in State College, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get 20% off and they do have decent stuff to buy and real name brands. My shifts were about 36 hours which is full time and I never had to be there super early.

    Cons

    The inside is just cluttered with way too much merchandise. You have product hidden behind other product. Working there you have more clutter with your U boats in the aisles blocking customers cramming more and more merchandise into the shelves.

    Advice to Management

    You need to remove the rude and disrespectful management.

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-10-10
  3. "Not pleased"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy place to work at. Employee discount is a plus.

    Cons

    Hours are horrible. Don't give enough hours yet hires more people. Yearly Raises are not good.

    Advice to Management

    Care about your employees more especially the ones who have been there a long time.

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-09-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good Stuff Cheap; Bad Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RETAIL SALES SUPERVISOR 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits Nice coworkers Friendly customers

    Cons

    Manager was terrible which made the working environment hard to deal with, very unprofessional. Terrible culture, low pay for what you did. Employees were mistreated verbally by manager. Shipments would come in damaged and disorganized from the warehouse; so many violations from them. A couple employees got injured from unloading. Food merch would be mixed with house chemicals merch, etc. Most palettes were not... accommodated to use with a palette jack. Heavy items would be stacked on top of light items and not securely wrapped. Storewise, finding space for new merchandise was a nightmare. No means of keeping inventory, they just kept piling it on. Only 30 minute lunch breaks for full time employees except management. A lot of the way the company was run didn't make any sense and it made work a lot harder to deal with than it needed to be.

    Show More
    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-09-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great as a first job or someone just joining the workforce"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ATL in Eagleville, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company will move you up fast if you can stand out and show you are a great worker

    Cons

    Very Low pay/ Low hours Always short staffed

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-09-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "No head line"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Stocker 

    I worked at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet part-time

    Pros

    There was friendly employee s that I worked with

    Cons

    If someone didn't show up, I would have to do their work by myself, while doing my work and helping others with their jobs. They only had me working sometimes 2 maybe even 1 day a week

    Advice to Management

    Don't hire so many people where you have to cut their hours down to 2 days out of a 7 day week

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-08-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "The company isn't good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - CSA in Muskegon, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The employee discount is the only pro

    Cons

    Management doesn't help, they expect you to do all the work with no incentive,

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-08-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Ollie's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in York, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good team work and co-workers

    Cons

    Dirty, disorganized and somewhat dangerous in some aspects

    Advice to Management

    Clean and organize

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-08-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "No support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You get a 20% discount. There is no planogram, so you have full creative merchandising. You have the ability to drive your own profits.

    Cons

    There is no support from your DTL or support center. If you ask a question, the support center calls your DTL, and then you get yelled at. The hours you are given to run a store are abysmal, and they expect there creative culture to be cookie cutter, which is absolutely ridiculous. The support is a joke, the expectations are a joke, and you will always be expected to give more and more. No payroll, too much... freight and not enough communication.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire competent DTLs that know how to focus on an entire district, and not just one dumpster fire at a time. Listen to your STLs when they say they need certain things. They know!! Stop being stingy with payroll and allow us to offer better wages!! People that are paid well and given more hours will stay! The turnover is due to corporate tying our hands when it comes to paying what people are worth!

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-07-31
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Day in the life of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Store Team Leader 

    I have been working at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time

    Pros

    Salary is competitive based on experience

    Cons

    There is not enough payroll to meet the demands of job

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-07-21
Found 316 reviews