Ollie’s Bargain Outlet Reviews | Glassdoor

Ollie’s Bargain Outlet Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 306 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Ollie’s Bargain Outlet CEO Mark Butler
Mark Butler
146 Ratings
  1. "Ha"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you find them then good for you

    Cons

    Very few hours. If you don't keep up OA enrollment numbers then you get scheduled even less until you are fired. They will also use you for their own gain and take credit for your work so they can move up and get bonuses while treating you like sh*t and not acknowledging any of your work.

    Advice to Management

    F**k off

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-06-17
  2. "Pretty Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet

      Pros

      Easy work, pays decent, nice coworkers

      Cons

      Not enough hours, hard to move up in the company

      Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-04-21
    • "Needs some work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Service Associate 
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Friendly working enviroment and I love working there. However, depending on who is the manager, may give different working environments. They are very flexible with hours and will try to work with your schedule.

      Cons

      Miscommunication between from management about certain deals that have to be done through the cashier.

      Advice to Management

      communicate new items becoming on sale, stick to company policy

      Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-04-21
    • "DON'T DO IT TO YOURSELF!!!!!!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Sales Associate in Hixon, TN

        I worked at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Plenty of hours because everyone was quitting left and right. 20% Employee Discount

        Cons

        Way too much freight and apparently no one could mandate how much was received

        Advice to Management

        Work on listening to your lower colleagues. They are associates but they are people as well. What management fails to realize is that their attitudes effect those below them as well, too man bad vibes coming from this company.

        Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-05-18
      • "Great and fun place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Cashiering in Albertville, AL

        I have been working at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        I enjoy working at Ollie's! The have a great team in management and throughout the store, plus the customers are great!

        Cons

        The pay could be better More hours

        Advice to Management

        None. I have no complaints about the management at my location.

        Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-04-05
      • "Corporate employee"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Corporate Employee in Harrisburg, PA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Work/life balance No micromanaging Free stuff in the break room at times 20% employee discount on already cheap items Krüieg machine with unlimited coffee All executives treat you with respect

        Cons

        No cons really. The only cons I see here is from working in the stores which I cannot relate to.

        Advice to Management

        Keep up the good work!

        Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-03-25
      • "My Time at Ollie Bargain"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Sales Floor Associate in Mableton, GA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Great chance to pick up some hands on skills

        Cons

        No opportunities for growth or any great leadership

        Advice to Management

        Listen to your lower level workers

        Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-04-09
      • "Good store besides drunk manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Sales Associate in Carmel, IN
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet part-time

        Pros

        Most co workers are friendly and helpful. OK starting pay for a part time retail job

        Cons

        A Co Team Leader (CTL) was drunk on the job half the time and nothing done.

        Advice to Management

        Don't keep managers because you will be inconvenienced to fill their position. No one wants to work for an alcoholic Team Leader that does not work and is abusive to those that do all the work.

        Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-03-23
      • Helpful (1)

        "Worse Company to work for Award:"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Store Manager in Lexington-Fayette, KY
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Really can't think of any pros

        Cons

        No ethics whatsoever, cheats people out of pay, vacation and a life. 70 to 80 hour work week. The Company key's the managers out for a 2 hour lunch and your lucky to get 30mins . Going to the restroom is a luxury.

        Advice to Management

        Run

        Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-04-19
      • Helpful (1)

        "Went down hill fast"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Store Team Leader in Jacksonville, FL
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Associate discount, formed alot of friendships throughout the years, met some great people

        Cons

        Watch out for yourself, district managers and above dont care about your well being. Was hurt on job and still continued to give as much as my body was able to do and injury didn't get better just irreparable only to get terminated. Definitely dont have your back.

        Advice to Management

        Take care of your managers, dont dismiss them when they get hurt trying to keep your stores running

        Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-04-14
      Found 306 reviews