Ollie’s Bargain Outlet Supervisor Reviews | Glassdoor

Ollie’s Bargain Outlet Supervisor Reviews

Updated May 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
17%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Ollie’s Bargain Outlet CEO Mark Butler
Mark Butler
17 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Dunbar, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Persistent schedule, decent pay, good benefits, great people to work with,

    Cons

    Can get redundant, just have to learn how to switch it up

    Advice to Management

    You're doing great

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2018-01-18
  2. "Be prepared to experience a real test of patience..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Supervisor in Greece, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -20% Discount -Earned Vacation time if you're full time -Pretty relaxed environment

    Cons

    Be prepared to move some heavy merchandise. Use this place as your opportunity to get into shape! You'll have customers who will try to switch tickets. Keep a watchful eye. Tight hours in the summer. Maybe two days if you're part time, and you're scheduled right to the minimum At 35 hours if you're full time during the summer. The place will feel pretty darn understaffed even if one person calls off.

    Advice to Management

    There needs to be better incentives for employees who deliver excellence to the company (I.e. productivity, outstanding customer service, etc). One annual raise of 3% of current salary is laughable. Profits for Ollie's are phenomenal. If you took even a fraction of a percent of revenue and invested it in your employees, I think you will all see just how great of an atmosphere that creates in an Ollie's. As a former Supervisor...

    Show More
    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-05-31
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Absolutely horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Supervisor in Radcliff, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a job that's about it

    Cons

    Pushing so much merchandise that there is no room for. Truck come in 2-4 times a week after unloading there is little to no time to get product out onto the floor especially with only one person in each department. And if your stuff isn't on the floor quick enough then you get in trouble.

    Advice to Management

    Give you people time to get things done.

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2019-04-04
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Department Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Supervisor in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good first job, lenient on schedule, 20 percent discount

    Cons

    Bad management, keep up with ur own hours because u might not get paid

    Advice to Management

    Work as hard as u expect ur employees to work

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2018-09-05
  5. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Niceville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If your young and strong good opportunity, if you get a good starting wage.

    Cons

    Can be psychically exhausting' must exercise do do this job.

    Advice to Management

    If they stay a year give them a decent raise.

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2018-09-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Supervisor in Cordele, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great hours, Some great staff, and most of the time friendly customers

    Cons

    management does not know what it is doing in some stores, most superviors do not know how to do their job and employees spread drama around like they are stil in high school.

    Advice to Management

    watch employees better, be there for the employees and make sure you properly train everyone in their postion and do not asumme they know what they are supposed to be doing

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2018-07-09
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Not sure if it's worth it..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Supervisor in Albemarle, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers, 20% discount, holidays off

    Cons

    Disorganized, no communication, unrealistic expectations, underscheduled, overworked, underpaid, untrained! Lazy management.

    Advice to Management

    My advice to upper management would be to communicate more between each other AND your employees. Lack of communication between management and just zero organization or planning ahead. Also would like to mention the lack of training.

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2018-04-28
  8. Helpful (4)

    "in a rough transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Steady hours can transfer locations 0ffer some benefits

    Cons

    can request time off, get approved, then they 'loose' paperwork. if there is inter-employee issue management wouldn't report it or handle it at all. I was stalked and they blamed me for him. they said my pants were too tight (even though they were dress code) and that i might have been encouraging him(i wasn't). high turn over no training no raises men make more that women (flooring makes more than any other supervisor...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat us like people, train qualified management not just ones who suck up . Promote within and pay everyone fairly. DON'T VICTIM SHAME.

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2018-05-15
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Work, Needs Better Compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Oil City, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There was always work to be done. The job could be physically demanding (lifting, lots of walking), but I enjoyed that aspect--like getting paid to work out. I usually had a really solid team with whom I worked as well. I was given plenty of opportunities for problem-solving as well.

    Cons

    The wages are, of course, typically low. The store was also often short-staffed--again, typical of retail.

    Advice to Management

    For the work expected, I think that Ollie's should start employees at a rate above minimum wage. I also think that, as a department supervisor, I would have stayed longer if my pay would have been higher. I enjoyed the job.

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2018-03-08
  10. "Face paced work environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Domestic Supervisor in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ollie’s Bargain Outlet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The employees are very helpful and try to help you have a good shopping experience. They have very good and reasonable prices.

    Cons

    The stores are very crowded with merchandise and are somewhat disorganized but offer great deals on a large variety of things.

    Ollie’s Bargain Outlet2017-11-07
Found 44 reviews