Olympus Corporation of the Americas Reviews | Glassdoor

Olympus Corporation of the Americas Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 488 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Olympus Corporation of the Americas CEO Nacho Abia
Nacho Abia
161 Ratings
Pros
  • "I never considered work/life balance as a thing until I joined the organization(in 42 reviews)

  • "Great people that work for Olympus(in 30 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (6)

    "Working for Olympus Surgical Technologies America in Brooklyn Park, MN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Buyer in Brooklyn Park, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Olympus Corporation of the Americas full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    I have been working for Gyrus ACMI dba Olympus Surgical Technologies America in Brooklyn Park, MN for close to 12 years. Excellent company to work for. This organization values employees and shares a healthy work-life balance. I would recommend Olympus Surgical Technologies America to anyone who is looking for an excellent Medical Device organization in the Greater Twin Cities are.

    Cons

    I have nothing bad to say about Olympus Surgical Technologies America.

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Olympus Corporation of the Americas2018-04-29
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Global Technology Leader in Medical Technologies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Center Valley, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Olympus Corporation of the Americas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    New governance, leadership and human resources framework has transformed Olympus and paved the way for accelerated growth.

    Cons

    Only dedicated employees that are committed to a culture of continuous improvement and accountability enjoy working at Olympus Medical.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to engage the employees in the bold new future and keep the organization future focused.

    Olympus Corporation of the Americas2019-01-28
  3. "The Urology Division is a great part of Olympus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in McAllen, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Olympus Corporation of the Americas full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    This is an excellent company

    Cons

    Some divisions do need to combine together

    Olympus Corporation of the Americas2019-04-15
  4. "Great Company. Great People. But..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Engineer in Center Valley, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Olympus Corporation of the Americas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Olympus is a great place to work. I never considered work/life balance as a thing until I joined the organization. My colleagues were some of the best and brightest people that I have ever worked with.

    Cons

    Too many meetings. Many of the groups are siloed. Mangers ignore the advice of the engineers.

    Advice to Management

    Free yourself from the legacy systems ( Dead weight managers). Get a real IT person to head the department.

    Olympus Corporation of the Americas2019-03-30
  5. "Ok to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Engineer in State College, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Olympus Corporation of the Americas full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Well intentioned and determined people.

    Cons

    Poor management, lack of respect, limited upward mobility

    Olympus Corporation of the Americas2019-03-29
  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Technician II 

      I have been working at Olympus Corporation of the Americas full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good place to gain your experience.

      Cons

      Try your best to hit target

      Olympus Corporation of the Americas2019-03-27
    • "You stay for the people"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Territory Manager in Kansas City, MO
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Olympus Corporation of the Americas full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great people that work for Olympus. Typical benefits for car, 401k, etc

      Cons

      Company gets in its own way with time consuming policies. Makes the rep responsible for things that the company should be responsible for. No help from corporate when it comes to selling or providing for clients.

      Olympus Corporation of the Americas2019-03-10
    • Helpful (2)

      "Generally ok place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Business Analyst 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Olympus Corporation of the Americas full-time for more than 19 years

      Pros

      Generally competitive compensation. Company makes efforts to make impression that they want it to be a good place to work and indeed it can be. There are very good people at all levels and most are caring people.

      Cons

      Apparently some people's bonuses are tied to how many people they can lay off. If you aren't moving up, get out before you are let go. Limited loyalty from the company, Bean counters view long time employees not as an assets but as an expenses and liabilities. Mixed bag as for career advancement, appears career advancement is totally contingent on the subjectivity of your manager. If your manager is disinclined to...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Be real.

      Olympus Corporation of the Americas2019-03-12
    • Helpful (1)

      "Changing organization"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Olympus Corporation of the Americas full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Introduced core values Flex time Development for leaders to be more effective

      Cons

      Would like to see senior leadership demonstrate the values

      Advice to Management

      See above

      Olympus Corporation of the Americas2019-02-15
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Southborough, MA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Olympus Corporation of the Americas full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good pay, good benefits, great people. Flex time. Striving to improve.

      Cons

      Consistently reorganizing and losing people or letting people go. Makes employees feel uncertain. Job stability for American workers is questionable.

      Olympus Corporation of the Americas2019-02-10
    Found 488 reviews