OmniVision Technologies Reviews | Glassdoor

OmniVision Technologies Reviews

Updated Sep 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 130 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
OmniVision Technologies CEO Shaw Hong
Shaw Hong
67 Ratings
Pros
  • "Besides we're focus on CMOS image sensor for more than 20years, we're focus on a new field, i(in 5 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "too many chinese language are using here(in 9 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance is not considered important at this company(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OmniVision Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed, good food, good manager

    Cons

    too many chinese language are using here

    OmniVision Technologies2019-01-19

    OmniVision Technologies Response

    March 5, 2019Global Mobility Program Manager

    Thank you for your comments. We are happy to embrace diverse cultures lead us to amazing results.

  2. "Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at OmniVision Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent medical benefits, 401K matching

    Cons

    No work from home flexibility

    OmniVision Technologies2019-09-02
  3. "Good company, great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Digital Design Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at OmniVision Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great colleagues, good benefits, medium level pay.

    Cons

    Poor work life balance due to high volume of work. Lack of training.

    OmniVision Technologies2019-08-17
  4. "good platform for new graduate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at OmniVision Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    working stable, leading technology in CMOS image sensor field.

    Cons

    heavy work loading, no life balance, low pay than marketing avg rate.

    Advice to Management

    Avoid top-down management, reduce unefficient meeting/conference call.

    OmniVision Technologies2019-08-25
  5. "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OmniVision Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There were none. Worst place I have ever worked.

    Cons

    Terrible management. Ignorant, arrogant, and verbally abusive towards employees. Over a year and a half stretch, we averaged an employee resignation every two weeks for a staff of 50.

    OmniVision Technologies2019-09-01

    OmniVision Technologies Response

    September 11, 2019Global Mobility Program Manager

    Thank you for offering your feedback. We encourage an environment that embraces collaboration and open communication. We encourage all employees to speak with their managers, project leaders, and Human Resources if any communication barriers exist. Thank you, again for your feedback, ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Culture and working environment comment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at OmniVision Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not much layoff. Good for young energy single employee.

    Cons

    No work life balance at all. Sweat shirt company.

    Advice to Management

    Better work life balance. Management is pushing too hard.

    OmniVision Technologies2019-02-11

    OmniVision Technologies Response

    March 5, 2019Global Mobility Program Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am really sorry that your experience did not match our intention of being the best place for you to work. Thanks again for your feedback.

  7. "Physical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at OmniVision Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Majority of colleagues are easy-going and nice to work with.

    Cons

    Should consider invest in more machine resources.

    OmniVision Technologies2019-01-10
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Design Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OmniVision Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Seldom to layoff people, some leaders are very smart, talented, and experienced. Lots of employee who are working over 10 years and they are still working hard. Average level of base salary in bay area, fairly good benefit, especially lot of PTOs. Company provides dinner but the quality is not tat good. Still, it's a choice for their workers. Building is fairly new and open. Cubic is great!

    Cons

    After private, income is less though base salary is ok, no ESPP, no RSU anymore. The new stock related incentive is a miracle that it's very hard to tell the true value. Company somehow does not like to disclose enough information to their employee such as M&A related information. They face very challenged competitors though CIS market is growing fast. Lots of talent employees left but new hires are slow and... in-experienced. Some long time employees especially some directors and managers like to blame instead of do their work better. Company seems not care about losing talented employees.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employee's opinion, disclose more information to employee, and more communication from high level management.

    OmniVision Technologies2018-11-08
  9. Helpful (3)

    "HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OmniVision Technologies

    Pros

    Excellent engineering innovation and technology

    Cons

    No work life balance due to high volume of work

    OmniVision Technologies2018-06-24

    OmniVision Technologies Response

    July 11, 2018Global Mobility Program Manager

    Thank you for offering your feedback. We encourage all employees to speak with their managers regarding their workload, and our HR department is more than happy to assist you.

  10. "Sr Digital design Eng"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at OmniVision Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Nice working Environment, Opportunity to learn all aspect of IC design

    Cons

    Can not work remotely No stock bonus at the moment

    Advice to Management

    None

    OmniVision Technologies2018-06-04
Found 130 reviews