Omnicom Reviews | Glassdoor

Omnicom Reviews

Updated Jul 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 118 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Omnicom CEO John D. Wren
John D. Wren
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people that treat you with respect(in 12 reviews)

  • "Growth opportunity, good benefits, nice people(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, at times long hours especially for more junior staff(in 9 reviews)

  • "Omnicom is a holding company that is turning into a profit center at the expense of it's owned agencies(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Group Acct Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Omnicom full-time

    Pros

    Company is well run. Good talent.

    Cons

    Some of the men think it is a Mad Men environment.

    Omnicom2018-07-27
  2. "Great Company. I've been there for many years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 

    I have been working at Omnicom full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company. Lots of opportunity.

    Cons

    Slow with reviews and raises

    Omnicom2019-07-15
  3. "Great agencies, tough corporate oversight"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Corporate 

      I worked at Omnicom full-time

      Pros

      Agencies are entrepreneurial, diverse in offerings and talent, engaged with clients where it matters.

      Cons

      Like other holding companies, corporate oversight is demanding and often described as excessive.

      Advice to Management

      Protect the cultures of the agencies, even if that runs against ever fiber in your financial DNA.

      Omnicom2019-03-25
    • "Senior Project Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Omnicom full-time

      Pros

      Benefits are very good in all areas.

      Cons

      Very large company with too many tiers.

      Omnicom2019-01-03
    • Helpful (3)

      "bureaucratic"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Analyst in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Omnicom full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      If you kind of don't care about your career and just need a place to grind it out for a few years, this is the place to do it. Just use it as a

      Cons

      If you're really ambitious you will come into friction with the bureaucracy. Nobody is really able to excel here. The company is losing money in a slow drain and most people are just biding their time, waiting for retirement. If you're ambitious, just use it as a stepping stone and move on.

      Advice to Management

      Hours are too long. We're doing a lot of pointless work that could be eliminated if we just could get a little more leeway and control over our own destinies.

      Omnicom2018-12-23
    • Helpful (7)

      "Omnicom the Dinosaur"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Omnicom full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Group I was in was a great group. Had a good time working with all the team members

      Cons

      Omnicom is a holding company. As such, they look only quarter by quarter into the future. This drives some really poor decisions that will save them money in the short term but will have deleterious effects in the long run. Example: they RIF'd the main support group that integrated applications for the agencies and sat between the PAAS underlayment and agency initiatives. By so doing, they sent 200+ years of tribal knowledge...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      The quarter by quarter vision you seem to have might have worked in the past. It will not serve you well in the future. Stop acting like a holding company; it will negatively affect Omnicom and its agencies. Instead, put a design into place that will help the agencies succeed in the new digital marketing world that is rapidly replacing the old school way of marketing.

      Omnicom2018-08-27
    • "Omnicom"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Omnicom full-time

      Pros

      Opens door to experience multiple technical platforms

      Cons

      Fast paced. If not good at high-deman, you could have a problem

      Omnicom2018-08-11
    • "Finance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Omnicom full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Good opportunity for advancement

        Cons

        Commuting to NYC can sometimes be very tedious

        Omnicom2018-07-13
      • Helpful (2)

        "Omnicom outsourcing to Unisys"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - WinOS Team Lead in Irving, TX
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Omnicom for more than 5 years

        Pros

        This used to be a great place with good culture.

        Cons

        Rather than outsourcing in a planned manner, they are rushing the process.

        Omnicom2018-07-08
      • Helpful (2)

        "Cloud Engineer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook

        I have been working at Omnicom full-time

        Pros

        My peers are fantastic, there's very little negative conflict between the engineering staff.

        Cons

        The organization is in a state of flux, and it's difficult to identify the intended end result. Without understanding the goal and process, I do not wish to make any judgements.

        Omnicom2018-06-19
      Found 118 reviews