Omnitracs "entry level" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Omnitracs Employee Reviews about "entry level"

Updated Jun 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
49%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Omnitracs CEO Ray Greer
Ray Greer
68 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "High turnover and low pay relative to other companies in the area(in 16 reviews)

  • "engineers for every 50 entry- level 2(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "entry level"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Exciting products, management not so much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Omnitracs full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Interesting products, mostly intelligent and friendly coworkers

    Cons

    Few career development opportunities and out of touch management. Constant hiring of entry level employees meant too much time spent training and little time to actually improve the product line.

    Omnitracs2019-06-23
  2. Helpful (13)

    "if lying was an Olympic sport, #1 right here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Omnitracs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You could probably work 3 hours a day for a few years before they fired you. they care, I mean seeing "competitive market" as a con on a pro vs con list for paying people more. I mean they do care just not about you. If you need some experience then get in and get out.

    Cons

    pay: the pay is garbage and its an amazing tier system. If you enter the company on the right side you get real pay. If you enter anyway else you are going to get 20-30k below what you should. below you can see an example. Numbers and names are made up to make it easier to understand. A entered the correct way so for his 3 years he gets 80k and is level 2. B entered the wrong way so for his 3 years he gets... 65k and is level 2. B then goes and asks for a raise and gets told 72k is above his level. A goes and asks for a raise and gets 90k now. Everyone that works there knows this is true as well, they try really hard to make you not talk about pay but everyone does it. They went through a whole giant "compensation fix"(this took months + more months + some more) the fix was a 2.5% raise for the majority of people which puts them at maybe closer to 20k-25k underpaid for their level instead of up to 30k. Management: is a complete mess, you might go weeks without anything to do . Projects are all dead or close to dead with zero actual help. The technical debt is insane and instead of trying to fix it, its better to just make it work and hope it gets killed before it comes back with revenge. PM :You will have some random PM decide a full 1,000,000 code rewrite should only take a week then get mad when that's not the case because they think they are the ones who should estimate your work half the time. agile: as agile as a dead cat. 20+ scrum meetings where they lose any real scrum masters so those meetings that used to be 15mins are now 30+ if you are lucky. meetings: holy crap the amount of meetings, I get it X and Y need to know about Z. that does not require half the team to be there so the lead/manager can tell X and Y. people : They are bottom heavy and top heavy at the same time. Top heavy in the way there are way to many people who can order you around but not actually help. Bottom heavy in the regard if you are not soloing a project you don't understand then its you and other people who have no experience. They have maybe 1-2 senior+ engineers for every 50 entry- level 2. the list just goes on.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    maybe just start over from the C level to basically almost all of the managers. The C level change was suppose to bring in good change not the same old with a nice face.

    Omnitracs2019-05-10
  3. Helpful (13)

    "Leave with your head high and your bank account empty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Omnitracs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Shinny cement floors. Orange walls and good A/C. The boys in Maryland stay away, locked behind their own egos. You get to take a test to see if you can get an interview. If get a high enough score for the position you applied for... ... you get an interview, you are stamped a HPELs (high-potential entry level). Just know your test score is as high has you can ever go in the PE firm's company... portfolio.

    Show More

    Cons

    The place is a mess with little chance of improvement. Vista (PE owner) had a buyer for this show, but once the books were opened the reality was visible. The other companies owned by Omnitracs (RoadNet, XRS) have little to no value, expect for the office furniture. Dallas HQ treated them like dirt and everyone worth their weight in salt left . There are no real promotions, on bonus, no merit increases. ... As a college Grad your time is more valuable than a year of your life to consider this a stepping stone position. If you decide to interview, please ask what is the turn over rate for the position and group. Make sure you ask this question to all the people that interview you. If you only talk to the HR rep and hiring manager and no team members. RUN AWAY!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat people with respect and tell the PE firm you need to hire better seasoned people then only 45K college grads.

    Omnitracs2019-02-21
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Place could be great, but they are thinking too small..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Specialist in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Omnitracs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place for entry level job seekers. Come in grab your experience and leave

    Cons

    Not a place to stay and grow. Evaluations are based on feeling and not on facts

    Advice to Management

    Departments don't work together and think and act as if they don't and won't ever need the help of another department. This lack of communication affects the customer the most.

    Omnitracs2019-01-22
  5. Helpful (26)

    "Innovation to Nowhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Omnitracs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    After working here over 3 years, I don't see any pros anymore. This company is feeling like a sinking ship, we have lost so many experienced and talented people. The brain drain will be harmful to our future success because Omnitracs cares only about profit and not it's people. Back-filling positions with inexperienced, underpaid, overworked college grads or H-1B isn't the answer. This company isn't going in the... right direction with or without our new CEO. Yes, we have a new leadership team, but we all know Vista has a stranglehold over the strategic direction of this company. You guys really think Ray's bold long-term plans for the company are going to happen? I doubt it.

    Show More

    Cons

    -If you work in the field or not in the Dallas HQ, prepare to feel out of the loop and neglected. The Dallas office will forget you exist and just want you to pump out revenue. -Wages are below market rates, often up to 20-30% below. This is why we have issues hiring experienced mid-career talent and why we have a glut of 20-somethings in entry-level+1 roles. Good luck trying to negotiate your salary if hired......you'll be insultingly low-balled. Benefits are also lackluster with a terrible HDHP plan that the company puts less and less money into every year. -We constantly over-promise and under-deliver on new products. There is a near-obsession with bringing out new products as fast as possible to look "innovative" to the market, although our QA process is a joke so they are bug-riddled, over-priced, and never fully work angering our customers. On top of that, we neglect our core products and can't maintain or improve what we already have out there. -Supervisors and managers are so overworked, there is little daily employee accountability. I've had co-workers be incredibly incompetent, lazy, or make job-ending mistakes...but their managers never know. -Because we have a lot of 20-something entry-level hires, some departments can feel like a frathouse. For example, it is an open secret in the sales team in the Dallas office if you aren't a straight white bro, you won't last long...and that HR enables the behavior because the bad managers in question bring in a lot of business. I know for a fact that valid discrimination complaints are not taken seriously by HR in this company and swept under the rug. I think this causes some sales staff to be downright rude and toxic to other teams in the company because they feel "untouchable".

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I have never seen a more disengaged HR team in my professional life. So unhelpful and aloof. You seek them out with questions or concerns? You'll get a few stock answers: 1) Not our department's problem, go ask someone else (but we won't tell you who) 2) Vista's fault (they won't give us the resources to fix it, no matter the severity) 3) Go look it up yourself in our intranet (but you'll have to go on a... scavenger hunt to find it because the site is a disorganized mess ) 4) We're too busy so let's set up a meeting in a few weeks so hopefully you'll forgot about your problem but even if you do, we'll cancel the meeting anyway 5) Stop whining, at least you don't work at Vista company (insert here) where things are a lot worse! Also, HR team...don't put up obvious fake Glassdoor reviews where you do nothing but praise Ray and put out talking points and platitudes. Don't think we didn't notice.

    Show More
    Omnitracs2018-05-31
  6. Helpful (16)

    "Million dollar company that should be a billion dollar company, but they're not for obvious reasons."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Account Manager in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Omnitracs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A paycheck just for showing up. For entry-level, rapid growth potential (albeit limited to just that +1 level) - looks good when adding to the resume.

    Cons

    Where to start... Vista has absolutely torn the soul out of this company. In any company, you are a spoke on the wheel. At Omnitracs - and based on Vista's plans - it is told directly to you that you are a replacable spoke on the wheel. "If you don't like it - LEAVE!" is the response from the CEO and management on just about everything. Proposing solutions to help you and others be more successful at your job... receives that response. You are essentially painted as a malcontent who isn't willing to put up with the terrible decision making and execution from those at the top and are completely out of reach with our industry. The CSO is a complete joke. Again, poor planning and worse execution. His plans coming to life are simply rash decisions and throwing wet paper towels at the wall in hopes that they stick. Can't speak for other departments, but sales is set up to fail from the outset. Plans are constantly started, stopped, carried out halfway, or just completely forgotten. The cart is constantly put before the horse. It's especially a shame for the support side and account managers; departments who are customer-facing and have to carry out the objectives set by the out of touch execs/Vista. It truly is amazing how badly they are set up to fail. Severely understaffed, undersupported (unless you handle Strategic accounts), given directives that constantly change, disregard customer satisfaction, and essentially cut our legs out from under us to perform at a high level. If you are on the side that retains customers, you're an afterthought (and so are the customers who are already in the door) - Vista's focus is just to bring in new customers to boost profits and eventually flip Omnitracs... But guess what? All these failures are the reason why Omnitracs hasn't been sold yet for the price tag they believe they're worth. It's a million dollar company that should be a billion dollar company but aren't because of the shameless, out-of-touch C-level execs (and Vista, of course) who continually carry out these plans. All in all, Omnitracs is lucky to live off the successful name of Qualcomm - other than that, the name Omnitracs has been stained by this terrible regime all in a matter of 4 years.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I'd like to think Omnitracs would be better off if they're finally sold, but Vista has done so much damage to the name that it's just an absolute shame. They never listened when I was there, so there's not much point in providing advice here now.

    Omnitracs2018-02-21
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Where mediocrity goes to look good!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Omnitracs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - great if you are looking for a "lifestyle job" - they have innovated by updating the ivory tower concept. It is now just their 14th floor - Dallas employees can expect a nice work environment and perks. Remote offices should not expect that.

    Cons

    - the only career progression you should expect is if you are an entry level employee looking to make it to an entry level +1 career level - the exec team doesn't even know how to articulate the good things in a way that actually connects with the front line. Cost of living adjustments offered every 18 months don't keep pace with inflation, and are packaged as "merit increases". In other words, kick butt and your... real wages won't decrease if you are a top performer. The forced bell curve ensures only 20% will see that. - while bonuses get missed year after year due to "performance", the exec vesting schedule for the top 5-8 continues unabated, and they will continue to tell you how everything is great, and working, and just like they planned. Just not...how they planned for your bonus to be paid. - the concept of “empowerment” is something you will want to forget if you work here. You will get “accountability” without autonomy.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - engage. Meaningfully. Several C Suite members couldn't tell you the first thing about the personal lives of their direct reports (spouse? Kids? Hobbies?), let alone coach and enable their growth. - you need to make the corporate goals more tangible and attainable at a individual and departmental level. The system today is horrible and breeds distrust. It’s hard to hear how great everything is when bonuses... are paid out at 40%. - people rise or fall to your expectations. The multiple approval processes, controls and “desks” simply show the org that you don’t trust their decision making and they shouldn’t try. The implicit message here is that nobody is allowed to innovate or make a decision. When you can’t make decisions, you aren’t really invested in the outcome. When you aren’t invested...you disengage. When your employees are disengaged...you get 25%+ turnover. Own the root cause.

    Show More
    Omnitracs2018-02-08
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good Starter Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Omnitracs full-time

    Pros

    Relaxed environment, entry level learning, friendly coworkers

    Cons

    Pay, lack of opportunity, company is looking to sell

    Omnitracs2017-07-31
  9. Helpful (14)

    "Great for fresh fish waiting to swim the shark world and beautify their resume."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Omnitracs full-time

    Pros

    PTO that accumulates to 15days your first year however you use it or lose it -Good place for recent graduates to work for 6 months and beautify your resume and look elsewhere. -Great hardworking coworkers that make the job role easier and make the day go by and help the company succeed -Wireless headsets with long range broadband where you don't have to be in your desk all the time. -Goodies that are randomly... given out in different departmental floors such as fruits'n veggies. -Nice view of the morning sunrise letting you know its another great day at Omnitracs -Nice welcome lunch during our first weeks as a new hired to make you feel that this company is not too good to be true (cough) (cough)

    Show More

    Cons

    Since HR and Management wont listen to your concerns I hope you as a job seeker will take the advice posted here. -No training don't understand how they promised us that, when at the end they terminate people without allowing them 30days to improve. -Inaccurate data displaying top performers on top because management undercoverly hands them qualify leads. -Management that seeks help from entry level employees... to input their timecard or even operate simple excel functions or even how to function a headpiece that was order by them. Google is available for a reason!! -Marketing department that won't respond to feedback or take considerations because your a minority. Funny because the marketing team has no diversity no wonder there hasn't been new ideas or strategies. -Sales cycle process that has no effective closing rate -Management that brags their years of experience but won't provide the resources or support that is needed or even signs of leadership. -Vista equity is selling this company in which coworkers were terminated with bogus information from management with little time for improvement. They terminated many hard working employees from different departments to fatten the upper tier leaders wallets. -Company likes to explode recent graduates and terminate them later. I have not meet many employees that have worked for more than 10 years with the company. -I could go on and consult you the cons of the company but to make it easier for you please avoid and search for a company that offers you career not a temporary job position you know a company where they value your intellectual knowledge and work ethic.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None because you guys apparently hire stubborn managers that know how to scapegoat hardworking employees without listening to their concerns. Best of luck!!

    Omnitracs2017-06-24
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Management is AWFUL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Omnitracs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -The employees become like family and make the job bearable. -This is a good entry level position for people who recently graduated college and need a first time job. -Free coffee -Great benefits

    Cons

    -The management with this company is unorganized and unprofessional. -There is no real training like they promise there would be. -You will not be given the right tools to succeed with this company. -There is no way to move up the corporate ladder which means you can forget about a promotion or the recognition of doing a good job. -Despite how hard you work and how hard you try at your job you will still get... let go at the end of the day without a logical explanation as to why. -You will be set up for failure because management doesn't care about how you feel, Nor will they listen to anything you have to say. -HR does NOTHING when you have a sincere complaint and problem with how management is treating you. This includes harassment of any sort, racism and sexism. -The system that we were given to work with is slow and crashes a lot. This company refuses to pay to have it updated as well as refuses to pay for new lead sources that are reliable. -I'm not even sure what the marketing department does because they sure didn't help promote any products in any of the departments. -The departments are like daycare's and frat houses. If you're into that then this job is beyond perfect for you!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Teach your managers how to use a computer and treat their teams with respect. -Listen to your employees when they tell you they are being harassed and disrespected by management and then do something about it. -Provide more training for your employees instead of setting them up for failure. -Hire more experienced workers that will actually give you more bang for your buck. If you keep hiring fresh out of... college inexperienced employees then you will continue to get the same results..... which aren't great at this time if you ask me.

    Show More
    Omnitracs2017-06-22
Found 15 reviews