OnDeck Reviews

Updated Aug 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
OnDeck CEO Noah Breslow
Noah Breslow
219 Ratings
Pros
  • "OnDeck has the potential to gain traction in a huge market (small business financing)(in 43 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance is very healthy(in 34 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great culture, Great people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OnDeck full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People across the organization are genuinely helpful. Management really makes the effort to engage both customers and employees. Competitive benefits.

    Cons

    As with any growing company, managing technical standards and tech debt is a challenge. Overall, I see less cons compared to all the other companies I've worked for.

    Continue reading

    OnDeck Response

    July 17, 2020Communications and Culture

    Thank you for your feedback!

  2. "Great Job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Direct Sales Agent in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OnDeck full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great culture, fun product, dynamic sales cycle, excellent benefits

    Cons

    lots of talent, not a lot of turnover. need to produce to be promoted.

    OnDeck Response

    July 17, 2020Communications and Culture

    Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that your team member experience has been a positive one.


  3. "Sales Employee Review"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OnDeck full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    OnDeck has a great culture and employees from all departments are accessible if you need information or questions. Management was clear on the mission at hand with clear commutation. Great office location with happy hours!

    Cons

    High Turnover. Low career development opportunities.

  4. "Good people, interesting work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Risk Management 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OnDeck full-time

    Pros

    Forward thinking, great work life balance

    Cons

    A bit of a boy's club

    Continue reading
  5. COVID-19
    Helpful (5)

    "Get in and Get Out"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at OnDeck

    Pros

    This depends on what you think is a pro. I think the only thing I can say is a pro is the flexible work from home policy and the salary. But if you like constantly being taken away from your task to eat, drink or listen to some “we are the world” stuff then there you go. Ondeck is full of younger people who think work should include happy hour and snacks. most of it is unnecessary.

    Cons

    They pay really high salaries which bit them in the rear during COVID. They furloughed people and after 99 days they laid off. If they kept salaries and entertainment reasonable they would not have had to reduce people. They also buy all the latest and greatest software some of it not being used. More ridiculous spending. I know there were alot of lay offs during COVID but These folks are extremely irresponsible with the budget. They spend tons of money on feel good items, entertainment, salaries, software. You can get a spot bonus for holding the elevator door for someone. This place is definitely a stepping stone. Use it to get your salary up or get a title. Then get in and get out.

    Continue reading

    OnDeck Response

    July 14, 2020Communications and Culture

    Thank you for your feedback and we regret to hear about your experience with OnDeck. We do believe in investing in our people and our culture, and we believe in that both before and during the COVID-19 environment. Like many companies, we did have to reduce expenses due to economic conditions, and are providing severance and outplacement assistance to departing team members. If you see opportunities for further cost saving, please raise through our internal communication channels.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OnDeck full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture is amazing with great benefits and pay structure

    Cons

    Industry is volatile so parameters on their loan product is constantly shifting. For example a person that could qualify today may not qualify tomorrow it never felt like the company kept that in mind when adjusting your monthly quota

    Continue reading

    OnDeck Response

    July 17, 2020Communications and Culture

    We are glad to hear that your team member experience was a positive one. We welcome all feedback and will discuss your comments with the appropriate teams.

  7. "very nice company to work for"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OnDeck full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    small nice family style atmosphere

    Cons

    start up at the time but has gotten bigger

    OnDeck Response

    July 17, 2020Communications and Culture

    Thank you for your review

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Tech issues"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech in New York, NY

    I have been working at OnDeck full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It’s not a good place to work right now. Tech team hasn’t improved anything in years. It’s a sinking ship.

    Cons

    It’s a real hole of a place. They have rats in their office.

  9. "Review"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lending Advisor in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OnDeck full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and overall place to work.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons.

    OnDeck Response

    July 17, 2020Communications and Culture

    Thank you for your review!

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good people, company working on the path to growth"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President OnDeck in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OnDeck full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people who work at OnDeck are great, very collaborative. The CEO is accessible and engaged, knows most people by name.

    Cons

    Company has been struggling with growth for awhile. They need to map out who they want to be and how they want to compete in the future.

    Continue reading

    OnDeck Response

    July 17, 2020Communications and Culture

    Thank you for your review. We welcome all feedback and will share your comments with the appropriate leaders.

Found 275 reviews