KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

OnDeck

Part of Enova
Is this your company?

OnDeck

Add a Review

OnDeck Reviews

Updated Jun 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 312 of over 322 reviews

4.3
78%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
OnDeck CEO David Fisher
David Fisher
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "OnDeck is a great company to work at and gives you great exposure to the Small Business FinTech space(in 47 reviews)

  • "Fun and chill culture, very good work/life balance, pretty good benefit package, solid comp(in 40 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The work environment was a bit chaotic(in 8 reviews)

  • "The company is going through its share of growing pains at the moment(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of OnDeck and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company

      Jun 10, 2021 - Customer Service 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Inclusive Culture and fun work environment

      Cons

      Difficult to schedule conference rooms

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      great place to work

      Jun 3, 2021 - Partnerships Account Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      fair pay and good benefits

      Cons

      I dont have anything bad to say

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      I used to love working here

      Nov 3, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, great co-workers, interesting work

      Cons

      Before the acquisition by Enova, I would have told you that I loved my job, I loved where I worked and that I wouldn't be looking for another job. Unfortunately, that's no longer the case for me. Enova is a pay day lender (do yourself a favor and do some research on pay day lending) and this kind of practice is at odds with how I know OnDeck operated before the acquisition. Pay day lending punishes the poor and vulnerable people in our society. It preys on people that are in extreme financial hardship. OnDeck would not have offered a product like this at all. On top of that, there have already been a lot of re-orgs. There's been very little communication from Enova about what was/is happening - at least to the people that are on the ground working. Maybe they're communicating to senior leadership - I'm not sure. They are cutting people that they no longer need, based on roles that already exist at Enova. From what I hear, they are giving severance. Losing your job in the midst of a global pandemic is my worst fear. Had it not been for this acquisition, I would have rated OnDeck much higher but all I can give here are two stars.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      So Much Growth Potential at OnDeck!

      Apr 26, 2021 - Account Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Atmosphere, Culture, Education System, Work Life Balance

      Cons

      A lot of moving parts due to company growth. You can get overwhelmed

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company

      Mar 4, 2021 - Software Development Engineer In Test (SDET) in Arlington, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good upper management and awesome team

      Cons

      No cons for this company

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      Apr 21, 2021 - Loan Advisor in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work at

      Cons

      Hey. They have downsized considerably

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      They really care about employees' happiness.

      Jan 29, 2021 - Business Intelligence Analyst in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, solid comp package, lots of data floating around

      Cons

      Occasional lack of transparency from the top

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A good company to start your career

      Feb 7, 2021 - Credit Risk Model Analyst in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very good work environment, friendly and helpful colleagues, very good benefits

      Cons

      Did not perform well in COVID period

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Get in and Get Out

      Jul 12, 2020 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This depends on what you think is a pro. I think the only thing I can say is a pro is the flexible work from home policy and the salary. But if you like constantly being taken away from your task to eat, drink or listen to some “we are the world” stuff then there you go. Ondeck is full of younger people who think work should include happy hour and snacks. most of it is unnecessary.

      Cons

      They pay really high salaries which bit them in the rear during COVID. They furloughed people and after 99 days they laid off. If they kept salaries and entertainment reasonable they would not have had to reduce people. They also buy all the latest and greatest software some of it not being used. More ridiculous spending. I know there were alot of lay offs during COVID but These folks are extremely irresponsible with the budget. They spend tons of money on feel good items, entertainment, salaries, software. You can get a spot bonus for holding the elevator door for someone. This place is definitely a stepping stone. Use it to get your salary up or get a title. Then get in and get out.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      OnDeck Response

      Communications and Culture

      Thank you for your feedback and we regret to hear about your experience with OnDeck. We do believe in investing in our people and our culture, and we believe in that both before and during the COVID-19 environment. Like many companies, we did have to reduce expenses due to economic conditions, and are providing severance and outplacement assistance to departing team members. If you see opportunities for further cost saving, please raise through our internal communication channels.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      I' m Really Happy Here.

      Jan 13, 2021 - Business Intelligence Analyst in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun and chill culture, very good work/life balance, pretty good benefit package, solid comp

      Cons

      There can sometimes be a lack of transparency from the people at the top

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 312 Reviews

    Popular Careers with OnDeck Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at OnDeck? Share Your Experiences

    or