Once Upon A Child Reviews | Glassdoor

Once Upon A Child Reviews

Updated Nov 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
52%
Recommend to a Friend
25%
Approve of CEO
Once Upon A Child CEO Brett Heffes  (no image)
Brett Heffes
25 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "work you like a slave for low pay(in 22 reviews)

  • "no benefits, bonuses or incentives(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 

    I have been working at Once Upon A Child part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with and flexibility with scheduling.

    Cons

    Kind of long hours for single parents

    Once Upon A Child2019-08-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Cashier at the Orland Park IL store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Orland Park, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Once Upon A Child part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I just started and so far i like it a great deal. You work at your own pace. No one is following you around looking to drill you. As long as you do your full job in a timely manner and come to work every time you schedule to come in you should have no problems. If you want extra time they do they best to accommodate you with more days and hours

    Cons

    At 15 minutes to 8 pm. They should make a announcement 15 minutes bef closing that the store is about to close and for customers to bring all items to the front of the store.

    Once Upon A Child2019-11-13
  3. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Once Upon A Child part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Dedicated owner and GM

    Cons

    Overwhelming stock and some issues with intake

    Once Upon A Child2019-10-27
  4. "Good starter job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Once Upon A Child

    Pros

    Hours, experience, good starter job

    Cons

    The customers are entitled and there is no growth, the pay is not good.

    Once Upon A Child2019-10-08
  5. "Basic Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Holder in Spokane, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Once Upon A Child part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great job for parents. access to affordable children's items.

    Cons

    no benefits, bonuses or incentives. Employee discount is the same as what the customer gets. Shifts are understaffed and the work day is stressful. Not always enough coverage for breaks or completing tasks. High turnover rate.

    Advice to Management

    Have a full staff available at all times and a full time manager on duty. offer bonuses to employees for performance. follow through on disciplinary action for violations.

    Once Upon A Child2019-10-06
  6. "Good for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Once Upon A Child part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flexible hours, decent pay, work with people your age

    Cons

    some drama, but you'll get that anywhere

    Once Upon A Child2019-09-13
  7. "Great Part Time Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Once Upon A Child part-time

    Pros

    Good Manager and Flexible Schedule

    Cons

    Little disorganized, but owner made it a priority to fix!

    Once Upon A Child2019-08-25
  8. "Worst job over"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Orland Park, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Once Upon A Child full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The workers and cost if onesies

    Cons

    Pay unorganized no insurance faulty system dirty favoritism

    Once Upon A Child2019-09-21
  9. "Low pay, high expectations, drama, not valued as an employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Once Upon A Child part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Longtime employees are sweet and very helpful

    Cons

    Very low pay (for everyone) and very high expectations, so employees often don't do their work or quit, managers/owners do not value or praise employees much, manager very unprofessional at times and has lots of drama, expected to stay hours after closing even if you are a student and availability isn't open, buys will pile up on the line but you could not stop accepting buys and had to stay late until they were... done, no benefits for full-time employees, the store isn't clean at all and doesn't have a breakroom, the AC/heat doesn't really work

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees more, raise the pay (significantly more than minimum wage) if you want employees who will stay with the company and will actually be motivated to do their work, put more work into how the store looks, reevaluate how professional you are with your employees, I could go on and on

    Once Upon A Child2019-09-18
  10. "Amazing place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Somers, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Once Upon A Child part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved it and everything was great

    Cons

    No cons where seen there

    Once Upon A Child2019-08-12
Found 244 reviews