Once Upon A Child "low pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

Once Upon A Child Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
22%
Approve of CEO
Once Upon A Child CEO Brett Heffes  (no image)
Brett Heffes
25 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "work you like a slave for low pay(in 22 reviews)

  • "no benefits, bonuses or incentives(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Owners, Flexible Schedules"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Once Upon A Child part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule. Small, independently owned business.

    Cons

    Micro-managing. Little-to-no advancement opportunities, low pay.

    Advice to Management

    Trust your long time employees to get the job done and to do so correctly without heavy micro-management, consider higher pay and further advancement for employees who show the ability and loyalty.

    Once Upon A Child2017-02-13
  2. "Low pay, high expectations, drama, not valued as an employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Once Upon A Child part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Longtime employees are sweet and very helpful

    Cons

    Very low pay (for everyone) and very high expectations, so employees often don't do their work or quit, managers/owners do not value or praise employees much, manager very unprofessional at times and has lots of drama, expected to stay hours after closing even if you are a student and availability isn't open, buys will pile up on the line but you could not stop accepting buys and had to stay late until they were... done, no benefits for full-time employees, the store isn't clean at all and doesn't have a breakroom, the AC/heat doesn't really work

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees more, raise the pay (significantly more than minimum wage) if you want employees who will stay with the company and will actually be motivated to do their work, put more work into how the store looks, reevaluate how professional you are with your employees, I could go on and on

    Once Upon A Child2019-09-18
  3. "Not so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Once Upon A Child part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    they gave out 25% discount, flexible, and close.

    Cons

    low pay, alot of work, up all day, long hours (one time they forgot to give me a break and lunch), super tiny work space, and kinda rude owner.

    Once Upon A Child2019-06-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Run while you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Once Upon A Child part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only good thing was having a break

    Cons

    Everything....work you like a slave for low pay

    Once Upon A Child2019-03-13
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Horrible place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Fredericksburg, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Once Upon A Child part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great children's items, discounts on clothing.

    Cons

    Short breaks, low pay, rude customers, bad managers, horrible training.

    Advice to Management

    respect your employees.

    Once Upon A Child2019-01-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Once Upon A Child part-time

    Pros

    No pros for this job position.

    Cons

    Very low pay rate, overworked employees, rude customers.

    Once Upon A Child2019-01-05
  7. "No bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Once Upon A Child part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers were great for the most part, job was easy.

    Cons

    Low pay, management was difficult to talk to sometimes.

    Once Upon A Child2018-11-15
  8. "Nice Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in North Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Once Upon A Child part-time

    Pros

    Friendly workplace and friendly co-workers You get first dibs on merchandise

    Cons

    Worked many hours and low pay, but would be good for a first job

    Once Upon A Child2017-10-30
  9. "Don't Do It!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Once Upon A Child part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent discount on clothes Fast-paced environment

    Cons

    Low pay Micromanagement to the nth degree Passive aggressive employees Being treated like a child - management does not seem to trust staff

    Advice to Management

    I worked here as a part-time job and was lucky to make it three weeks on this job. In my full-time job I am treated like an adult - boy was I surprised when I started here! Employees at the location that I worked at were not very nice; management would speak about performance to other employees just loud enough so you can hear it (but not confront actual employee about situation); too many hands were in the pot in... terms of who is the shift leader, which made it very confusing about who to actually listen to when working. Employees are not allowed to carry purses and have to use company-issued 'clear' purses which needed to be checked each night (this is USED children's clothing we are talking about here people!). I wondered why the employees seemed so nasty, but after coming home BEAT tired and getting sick from working so hard to only have a measly $100 paycheck after all of the work, I understood their plight. Thanks, but no thanks.

    Show More
    Once Upon A Child2017-11-05
  10. "Assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Once Upon A Child full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great co workers. Flexible hours. Fun job.

    Cons

    Low pay. They claim company discounts but make it so you can't actually get it. District manager is awful and tends to talk down to employees. She has made many employees cry and walk out on the spot. Job would be fun if corporate did not micromanage every little thing. Not worth the stress.

    Advice to Management

    Make it so employees could actually get discounts. Needs management changes.

    Once Upon A Child2017-04-30
Found 22 reviews