Once Upon A Child "no benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Once Upon A Child Employee Reviews about "no benefits"

Updated 6 de Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
22%
Approve of CEO
Once Upon A Child CEO Brett Heffes  (no image)
Brett Heffes
25 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "work you like a slave for low pay(in 22 reviews)

  • "no benefits, bonuses or incentives(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "no benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Flexible schedule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Once Upon A Child part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Casual dress, flexible scheduling, fun atmosphere, fun work

    Cons

    No benefits , low compensation, no healthcare

    Once Upon A Child2018-12-26
  2. "Basic Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Holder in Spokane, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Once Upon A Child part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great job for parents. access to affordable children's items.

    Cons

    no benefits, bonuses or incentives. Employee discount is the same as what the customer gets. Shifts are understaffed and the work day is stressful. Not always enough coverage for breaks or completing tasks. High turnover rate.

    Advice to Management

    Have a full staff available at all times and a full time manager on duty. offer bonuses to employees for performance. follow through on disciplinary action for violations.

    Once Upon A Child2019-10-06
  3. "Low pay, high expectations, drama, not valued as an employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Once Upon A Child part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Longtime employees are sweet and very helpful

    Cons

    Very low pay (for everyone) and very high expectations, so employees often don't do their work or quit, managers/owners do not value or praise employees much, manager very unprofessional at times and has lots of drama, expected to stay hours after closing even if you are a student and availability isn't open, buys will pile up on the line but you could not stop accepting buys and had to stay late until they were... done, no benefits for full-time employees, the store isn't clean at all and doesn't have a breakroom, the AC/heat doesn't really work

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees more, raise the pay (significantly more than minimum wage) if you want employees who will stay with the company and will actually be motivated to do their work, put more work into how the store looks, reevaluate how professional you are with your employees, I could go on and on

    Once Upon A Child2019-09-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not the best place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Once Upon A Child full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I cannot think of any pros. It is honestly terrible working here. Only there until I find something better.

    Cons

    No benefits. Terrible people. Everyone gossips. There’s no real reason to work here unless you are in high school. They have no sick days and people get written up even with a doctors note. Ridiculous amount of rules and policies.

    Advice to Management

    Be better than you are.

    Once Upon A Child2019-05-21
  5. "Good place to work...in school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Key Holder in Erie, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Once Upon A Child part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flexible hours, new skills to learn, fun people to work with

    Cons

    long/busy days, no benefits, going through people's items is gross

    Once Upon A Child2019-03-22
  6. "Key Holder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Once Upon A Child full-time

    Pros

    If you know any kids you get a discount on the items sold. That's about the only positive I have.

    Cons

    No benefits to speak of. Managers and key holders severely underpaid. Never enough staff for the work that needed to be done. Unless it was a minor on a school night no one ever left at their scheduled time. My longest shift was from noon to 2 AM. Yes, AM, not PM. That's a fourteen hour shift with only a thirty minute break the whole time, and I had to work at noon again the next day. Do yourself a favor and stay... away from this place.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Compensate your employees fairly, and stop keeping employees far past their scheduled time.

    Once Upon A Child2017-10-13
  7. "Whew"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Once Upon A Child full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule. Great job for retail. No excessive hours during the holidays. Great regular customers. Good pay.

    Cons

    Very angry customers when you don't buy their dirty or very old used clothing. Small place, can be lots of drama with co-workers. Owners micro-manage. No benefits.

    Advice to Management

    Let the managers manage the store. Give praise where praise is due.

    Once Upon A Child2017-07-06
  8. "They will work you to death"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Buyer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Once Upon A Child full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They worked with school schedule.

    Cons

    Threaten to be fire by the owner if i couldn't work more. No trust, no benefits and over worked. Employees gossip in front of customers.

    Advice to Management

    Listen and trust your employees. I'm one of the hardest workers I know and I never receive a pay raise the whole (3 years) time I worked for this company.

    Once Upon A Child2017-01-30
  9. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Once Upon A Child full-time

    Pros

    Fun, fast paced place to work. Employees are friendly. Both Manager and Owner know what theyre doing

    Cons

    Sometimes (like in any other place) you'll run into drama. Pay wasnt so great. No benefits. Felt like sometimes you were the only one doing most of the things.

    Once Upon A Child2016-11-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Apopka, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Once Upon A Child full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No pros as in to working here. All you get is a 20% employee discount. Also there is an allowance at the end of each month.. Decided by management

    Cons

    Horrible place to work. No benefits. Horrible franchise. Some management don't know how to run the business. Need to step it up a little

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to run a franchise

    Once Upon A Child2015-12-25
Found 14 reviews