KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Oncology Nursing Society

Is this your company?

Oncology Nursing Society

Add a Review

Oncology Nursing Society Reviews

Updated Aug 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 of over 38 reviews

3.9
80%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Oncology Nursing Society CEO Brenda Nevidjon (no image)
Brenda Nevidjon
21 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good

    Jul 21, 2021 - Project Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice group to work with!

    Cons

    Newer departments so processes are still being created

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Great coworkers, poor leadership

    Aug 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Tons of time off and amazing continuing education benefits

    Cons

    Senior leadership is only interested in hiring their nurse friends to fill business roles that they are unqualified for. Extremely low pay. 10% of the people do 90% of the work.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Oncology Nursing Society Response

    Director of HR

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed the staff benefits during your employment. It looks as though you were employed with us for a significant period! We're sorry that you feel that there is a disparity in workload. All staff members are valued for their efforts as well as the experience and education that they bring to the organization. ONS is committed to an open culture where employees can express their concerns. We encourage staff members to speak with Human Resources about any issues and how we can improve recognition of staff members.

  3. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great company!

    May 12, 2021 - Designer in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work-Life Balance; good benefits; flexible telecommute schedule

    Cons

    Minimal room for growth in the organization

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Ask around before applying

    Jun 17, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some remote options pre-COVID Flexible schedule

    Cons

    Constant "Restructuring" Big Business packaged as Industry Serving Nonprofit Top heavy management (Chiefs) Overpaid management - see https://projects.propublica.org/nonprofits/

    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee

    I would think twice

    May 14, 2021 - Executive Assistant in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people in the group I worked with was great! Work flexibility.

    Cons

    Constant changes. Positions being eliminated or changing all of the time with people being let go regularly. Tough environment to feel any job security. Almost all of the people from my group have been let go or been moved w/o consult to other position, including the Executive I worked for. Upper management gave the illusion of caring but they are cut throat.

    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Flexible Environment for Lower Pay

    Apr 16, 2021 - Business Analyst in Robinson, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Kind people; flexible work environment

    Cons

    Lower pay, skillsets of some employees are below normal professional standards

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work

    Mar 15, 2021 - Project Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - work life balance - work environment - management

    Cons

    - would prefer to have more private cube space.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Top heavy with leadership challenges

    Feb 24, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The mission and work of the organization is important and critical to oncology care of patients. There are very experienced people not in executive leadership who are in the organization. Flexible working arrangements and beautiful office.

    Cons

    Very little strategic vision overall. Lack of agility and leadership effectiveness. Culture is lacking or otherwise absent.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    Oncology Nursing Society Response

    HR Generalist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on the leadership structure of ONS. As you note, we have a very important and critical mission to positively impact oncology care. A lot of effort and strategic planning does go into delivering on our mission and vision for over 35,000 members. Our members depend on a strong leadership foundation within ONS to provide the highest level of expertise in our offerings. We hope that you found your 10+ years of tenure here to be meaningful and fulfilling. We are very proud of the meaningful work and outstanding benefits that we offer. People interested in making a difference are always welcomed and encouraged to check us out!

  9. 2.0
    Former Employee

    If Everyone's a Chief, No One Is.

    Jan 23, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    ONS provides strong opportunities to improve yourself as an employee. They provide multiple avenues for you to learn new skills and a generous continuing education budget per employee. They also allow certain employees to telecommute up to 2 days a week.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, the best thing about the continuing education is that you are able to make yourself marketable to outside companies. The organization is very up front about flat structure, promotions are incredibly scarce, and hard workers will find themselves burdened with more responsibility but still no upward advancement. After a few years, many employees find themselves overworked, underappreciated, and at a loss for how to grow in their career. In the past few years, ONS has added multiple senior level positions and filled them with outside hires. Too many C-level executives have led to differing priorities, top-level bickering, and an inability to have a strong, concise strategic goal. This has left many staff with conflicting work loads or weeks of effort that result in a dead project, which all leads to dwindling respect for leadership.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful

    Oncology Nursing Society Response

    HR Generalist

    Thank you for your sharing your experience and feedback. It will be shared with our management team. We are glad you enjoyed the generous continuing education benefit and flexible scheduling we offer. As noted, our structure is such that upward mobility is not the same as what might be found in larger organizations. However, this also allows our employees the opportunity to learn new skills and contribute in new and different ways instead of being siloed in narrowly defined roles. We have many employees who have benefited from this and have been promoted here or moved to exciting opportunities elsewhere or even come back because they love the work we do. If you come to work here, you can expect to grow and be supported in that growth. Not everyone can be an executive, but everyone’s work here has impact. ONS is a small organization with a big mission of leading the transformation of cancer care. If you’re a curious person with a positive attitude, desire to learn new things, and who wants to help us fulfill our mission of advancing excellence in oncology nursing and quality cancer care, this could be a great place for you!

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work.

    Feb 28, 2019 - Project Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture. Awesome folks to work with. Feel appreciated and respected.

    Cons

    There are not any cons.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 37 Reviews

Popular Careers with Oncology Nursing Society Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Oncology Nursing Society? Share Your Experiences

Oncology Nursing Society logo
or