One Hour Air Conditioning & Heating Technician Reviews | Glassdoor

One Hour Air Conditioning & Heating Technician Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
60%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
One Hour Air Conditioning & Heating CEO Denise Kurtz
Denise Kurtz
3 Ratings
  1. "My best job yet!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HVAC Technician in Medina, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at One Hour Air Conditioning & Heating full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Continued training to help me become better at what I do. Supportive co workers to motivate and push me. I make enough that my wife can be a full time student and stay at home mom.

    Cons

    I feel that the uniforms are a bit ridiculous considering we get pretty dirty in this industry. The white shirts look nice but before noon each day I begin to look a mess. And the rules about black socks is obnoxious

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. You make working here enjoyable. Our team is incredible and supportive. I don't plan on leaving Anytime soon.

    One Hour Air Conditioning & Heating2016-03-31
  2. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Technician 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at One Hour Air Conditioning & Heating part-time

    Pros

    Good workplace. Decent pay. Competitive work

    Cons

    Long hours. Never a set time off.

    One Hour Air Conditioning & Heating2019-08-20
  3. "Get what you put in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Virginia Beach, VA

    I have been working at One Hour Air Conditioning & Heating full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Support, open conversation with management for improvements, good space for learning, tool lease program

    Cons

    More geared towards replacement than repair, office/dispatch over booking without understanding repairs, lack of technical training, does not always seem to stick to “customer first” mentality

    Advice to Management

    Listen to service and instal when asking for changes/ technical training, carry the conversation into action

    One Hour Air Conditioning & Heating2019-06-11
  4. "Installer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    HVAC Technician in Rockwall, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at One Hour Air Conditioning & Heating for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to start off in.

    Cons

    Not super flexible but they will work with you

    One Hour Air Conditioning & Heating2018-12-13
  5. "Technition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at One Hour Air Conditioning & Heating full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Large company with decent pay

    Cons

    Have to deal with corporate rules

    Advice to Management

    Decent place to work

    One Hour Air Conditioning & Heating2018-06-08
  6. "Worst Company I’ve Ever Experienced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - HVAC Technician in Virginia Beach, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at One Hour Air Conditioning & Heating full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None all Pros were a lie to get you in the door

    Cons

    Lies Lies Lies Treat employees like dirt Over work Underpaid Disrespectful

    Advice to Management

    treat your employees better

    One Hour Air Conditioning & Heating2018-06-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Low Pay and Quick to Charge Employee for everything"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Technician in Virginia Beach, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at One Hour Air Conditioning & Heating full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get hours to make up for the low pay

    Cons

    Low Pay, Have to buy coveralls from them, have to buy their tools and take out of your check. Lowest stipends. 10-13 dollars per hour, pscyhological games to sell, push comfort club, what a joke, can't wait to leave and get better job

    Advice to Management

    Are you guys ex car salesmen?

    One Hour Air Conditioning & Heating2017-06-16
  8. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Service Technician in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends

    I worked at One Hour Air Conditioning & Heating for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company and great environment

    Cons

    Can not think of anything

    One Hour Air Conditioning & Heating2016-06-29
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Must be a seller, and mechanically inclined."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Technician in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at One Hour Air Conditioning & Heating full-time

    Pros

    I went here because of the technical side, great pay, and the possibility of a good career, not just a job. Literally excited about getting up every morning and getting to work. It's different everyday. If you're not a morning person, don't waste your time. Must be at the shop every morning by 7:30am for mandatory training. You receive your first call by 8:15 and must arrive at the customers house or business as... soon as possible (typically within 30-60 minutes) given typical Tidewater traffic. One Hour teaches you everything about HVACR via classroom and hands-on training by doing a ride-a-long with a trainer. Personally I was screwed out of a proper training because my trainer was tired, overworked, and didn't care anymore. I did not realize how much I didn't know until I was released to go on my own. It typically takes around 2 to 3 weeks to be let out on your own. I have a technical background, and am very mechnically inclined, so basically after I learned the company history, policies, and procedures, I was released in 10 days. It is totally up to you when you go on your own. You must be neat, clean, well spoken, and willing to learn, and be responsible for being out on your own. You are given a compny van, phone, Ipad, and uniforms. All strictly only for company use. There is a type of "resource" manager on hand, via company phone, who can walk you through any type of HVACR technical hicup you find yourself in. Morning training sessions are cool. You go over and fine-tune your HVACR skills. Two days tech training, two days kinda personal like (goal setting, finance, Q&A). It's pretty neat. Then on Friday's training is an inspirational video or speach, game time, or pizza or breakfast. All is paid training at what ever the pay is that you got hired at. During your ride-a-long, whatever hours your trainer works, you get too. Anything over 40 hours is time and a half. Totally depending on if the company is fully staffed with enough techs, the work week is typically M-F, 7:15am until your last call is completed, with every third weekend on call. Be prepared to spend upwards of $1,200 - $1,500 for tools and equipment. The company will front you around $300 - $400 for your essential tools to start, being paid back through your paychecks at $50 each paycheck.

    Show More

    Cons

    The cons I'm about to list are only my personally perceived cons. During winter and summer months, you WILL average 60 or more hours per week. If you're a family man, heavy drinker, partier, you get the picture, this isn't the right job for you. You have to climb ladders, from 6ft - 24ft, in precarious positions and landings and roofs. You have to climb under houses and squeeze (depending on your size)... through small, dirty, rank, bug infested crawl spaces. You CANNOT be color blind! You'll kill yourself, working with 120 - 240 volts. You must be willing to sell added amenities or upgrade a customers unit at every call. Not always easy, but can be done.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I would like to see a trainee sign off sheet during the ride along to make sure the trainee isn't missing anything from their training before they're released.

    One Hour Air Conditioning & Heating2015-09-22
  10. "OK place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    HVAC Technician in Egg Harbor Township, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at One Hour Air Conditioning & Heating

    Pros

    Gave Overtime pay. In early out late.

    Cons

    Management is a bit pushy. Also, senior hvac are needy.

    One Hour Air Conditioning & Heating2015-10-03
Found 12 reviews