OneMain Financial Reviews | Glassdoor

OneMain Financial Reviews

Updated Jul 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1045 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Doug Shulman
44 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (7)

    "I love my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Loan Specialist in Massillon, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OneMain Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities for growth and advancement Great benefits (Medical, dental, vision and paid maternity leave) Fantastic Leadership Nice level of competition and bonus structure is nice.

    Cons

    Training process needs some improvement.

    OneMain Financial2018-08-15

    OneMain Financial Response

    August 24, 2018Community Manager

    We appreciate your feedback, and we're happy to see your comment regarding advancement opportunities and Benefits. OneMain continues to develop and expand upon training for all levels and departments in the organization. We encourage team members to discuss training opportunities ...

    Show More
  2. "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Rockledge, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OneMain Financial full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have a great management team, always opportunities to advance.

    Cons

    I really can’t think of any downsides.

    OneMain Financial2019-07-20
  3. "Overall a good company to work for, can provide stability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OneMain Financial full-time

    Pros

    Pay is competitive, they are trying hard to catch up on technology

    Cons

    There are a lot of re-alignments and re-organizations. I was affected 2 times in 3 years and ultimately was laid off. They have very lofty goals for delinquency.

    Advice to Management

    You really expect a lot of your managers. You talk a good game with work /life balance, but I didn't really have it.

    OneMain Financial2019-07-18
  4. "Good Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OneMain Financial full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Bonus, Benefits, Salary, Clear view of where the company is going.

    Cons

    A lot of policy changes frequently

    OneMain Financial2019-07-04

    OneMain Financial Response

    July 16, 2019Sr. Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoy our Benefits. We hope that you have a great day! - CK

  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Servicing Specialist in Tifton, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at OneMain Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    you are not micro managed you have helpful co co workers calm work environment very understanding management

    Cons

    understaffed corporate does not want to hire addl people

    OneMain Financial2019-07-03

    OneMain Financial Response

    July 16, 2019Sr. Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for sharing! We are happy to hear about your positive experience. -CK

  6. "Personal loan specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Loan Specialist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at OneMain Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, pay is not bad though I should have asked for alittle more. Training on hand and over the phone conferences. Team is great and branch manager is really helpful.

    Cons

    Plenty of things to learn and when they say fast paced it is depending on branch location. Trying to learn everything is not possible but you have to write down what you learn and do it yourself for practice. Customers coming in like 20 minutes before closing. You can’t really tell them to leave.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe more training like the sandbox is okay but it’s not really helpful when filling up an app. I learn more when I actually speak with someone and go over it.

    OneMain Financial2019-07-03

    OneMain Financial Response

    July 16, 2019Sr. Social Media Community Manager

    We appreciate your feedback. Our goal is to help everyone be successful, and we work hard to ensure people perform at their highest level. Thank you for your commitment to our customers. -CK

  7. "With the right manager you can excel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Personal Loan Specialist in Conyers, GA

    I worked at OneMain Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Growth Opportunities Opportunities to maximize earnings You get to meet many different people from all walks of life

    Cons

    This is a collections and sales focused position. Work/life balance was non existent if delinquency is high. Company needs come before all personal needs including graduations, family vacations, anniversary celebrations, etc. You were not allowed to schedule PTO the last 7-10 days of the month or during "Customer Appreciation Day/Month."

    Advice to Management

    Conduct regular sit in reviews on all District and Branch Level Management to ensure they are cultivating an environment that represents the company well.

    OneMain Financial2019-07-01

    OneMain Financial Response

    July 16, 2019Sr. Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed meeting many people. In regards to your concern, we encourage our team members to discuss their individual work life balance needs with their direct managers or HR Business Partner. You may send any additional feedback to ...

    Show More
  8. "Great post college job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consumer Loan Officer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OneMain Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get to learn all the components of the loan industry.

    Cons

    No work life balance

    OneMain Financial2019-07-01

    OneMain Financial Response

    July 16, 2019Sr. Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for sharing! We are happy to hear about your positive experience. We encourage team members to discuss their individual work life balance needs with their direct managers or HR Business Partner. - CK

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great job if willing to put in work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Marinette, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OneMain Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, bonus if you have good quarter, paid vacation, sick time

    Cons

    Big company means little flexibility , hours can be long.

    Advice to Management

    Remember who puts money in your pocket and who is working the front line everyday

    OneMain Financial2019-06-25

    OneMain Financial Response

    July 16, 2019Sr. Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for your review. We're happy to see your comment, and we appreciate your commitment to our customers. -CK

  10. Helpful (3)

    "Job from hell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Loan Specialist in Portage, IN
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OneMain Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No pros this place is a joke, stay far way

    Cons

    Poor training, poor management, unrealistic goals, filthy office, no room for growth, co-workers who have a few years under their belt run the show, if your a person of color stay away from the Indiana network

    Advice to Management

    I suffered tremendously while working for this company, I reached out to HR and they did absolutely nothing. The lack of diversity is sickening, take a good look at whats going on in the offices before the company is a 5 o’clock news special for being racist fools! I watched customers literally walk out because of how unprofessional the environment was, whats done in the dark always come to light in due time.

    OneMain Financial2019-06-20

    OneMain Financial Response

    June 28, 2019Community Manager

    We're sorry to hear about your experience and take this matter seriously. We are committed to offering an environment in which diversity and inclusion is embraced and strive to provide a welcoming environment to all. Please send additional feedback to hrsocialmedia@omf.com for HR ...

    Show More
Found 1045 reviews