OneMain Financial "good benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

OneMain Financial Reviews

Updated Jul 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1043 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Doug Shulman
44 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Personal Loan Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Loan Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at OneMain Financial

    Pros

    Good benefits. Added bonus options.

    Cons

    Un-realistic goals. Under staffed offices. Poor Management. Do not give pay raises.

    Advice to Management

    More Training and assistance to staff

    OneMain Financial2016-01-28
  2. "Loss Mitigation Specialist III"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Mill, SC

    I worked at OneMain Financial for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, bonus and pay

    Cons

    Tedious work, incompetent managers, crazy schedule

    Advice to Management

    Work more

    OneMain Financial2015-11-05
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at OneMain Financial

    Pros

    Challenging work with great coworkers. Good work life balance Good benefits. Citi overall is a great place to work. I learned so much on each project that I worked on, my co-workers and management are talented, intelligent, ambitious, motivated, and driven. The management team welcomes constructive feedback on business processes from every level of the organization. Citi main goal and focus is to invest a lot in their...

    Show More

    Cons

    A typical day at work includes constant reminders that you are expendable and can be replaced. What I learned is that I cannot work for Citi because of their low compensation rates. The company has a severe lack of real talent mostly because they refuse to compensate employees with market rates. So people move on to other jobs that pay them what they are worth. It is not unusual for them to offshore work or bring someone...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management is so stressed out that they frequently make bad decisions that effect many employees and their lives. It sad really, but Citi refuses to hire enough people to have the level of productivity they demand. It's no wonder they are being downgraded...again.

    OneMain Financial2015-09-25
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Branch Account Executive II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at OneMain Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    At first it was an awesome job, with an awesome team, but 6 months into, things changed. Good benefits, flexible schedule.

    Cons

    They do not train employees, manger always leaves early, blames every mistake on you, but does not want to own up to their faults of inadequate training.

    Advice to Management

    Please, please, please have people that want to actually work for you, train new hires. Because when I started all I heard were negative things!

    OneMain Financial2015-08-25
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Sell your soul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Representative in North Augusta, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OneMain Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits, room for advancement

    Cons

    Shady, does not follow laws, all about numbers

    Advice to Management

    Harder loan approvals, take what employees say for face value

    OneMain Financial2015-08-03
  6. Helpful (2)

    "BAE2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BEA2 in Florence, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at OneMain Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, Fixed work schedule, and overtime possibilities

    Cons

    Very unprofessional management, questionable collection practices, difficult to earn bonuses, and not enough pay for the amount of work.

    Advice to Management

    Create more structure in the workplace and with the application process.

    OneMain Financial2015-08-21
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Branch Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at OneMain Financial full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible work/life balance. Good benefits. Nice co-workers. Clear expectations. 401k match. Bonuses. Good training program. Good communication.

    Cons

    High goals, expected to control things out of your control. Evaluated off of reports without taking the time to look at individual situations. Working lots of hours including Saturdays.

    Advice to Management

    Take the time to evaluate each branch. Don't use a coverall system that rewards certain branches and makes other branches goals too high.

    OneMain Financial2015-07-29
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Lies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OneMain Financial for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, though they cost an arm and a leg.

    Cons

    Last minute changes to schedule. Broken promises about raises and promotions, unreasonable targets. Managment is abused when it comes to overtime. They will tell you that you won't work weekends and nights and that you will get a bonus every month, lies all lies. I was a top employee and when I managed my office went from third from last to third in the state, so it's not as though I am gripping because I was mediocre....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Remember who is earning you those big bonuses, and remember that those people are dealing with real people not account numbers, also that those people probably have families. Just tell the truth when interviewing potential employees, don't sell them a pack of lies or unrealistic expectations.

    OneMain Financial2015-08-13
  9. "16 year employee, never happier. Excited about the future!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at OneMain Financial

      Pros

      Huge opportunity for advancement and great leadership at all levels. Good benefits, flexibility and profit sharing, good salary ranges and employee engagement.

      Cons

      Very fast paced, hard to keep up. Outdated technology but improving constantly. Suggest management look to upgrade current system with something already created.

      Advice to Management

      Continue to strive to improve technology. With right systems, we are unstoppable! Continue the employee survey and goals of making Springleaf a "Great Place to work!" We are getting there! Continue to offer profit sharing, great benefit!

      OneMain Financial2015-04-15
    • Helpful (4)

      "Financial Representative"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Financial Representative in Milwaukee, WI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at OneMain Financial full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good benefits, learn about loan process, good starter job

      Cons

      Didn't like having to solicit clients to increase loans and continue their debt cycle. The company doesn't help its customers but traps them in debt for as long as they possibly can.

      OneMain Financial2015-04-13
    Found 1043 reviews