Online Business Systems Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Consultant

Online Business Systems Consultant Reviews

Updated Dec 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.9
99%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Greatest Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, Collaborative Work Environment, Team-Focused, Excellent Training & Development Program, Outstanding Leadership

    Cons

    Nothing negative about Online Business Systems

    Continue reading
    Online Business Systems2019-08-26

    Online Business Systems Response

    September 9, 2019Chief People Officer

    “Greatest Place to Work” is pretty high praise. We will continue to work hard on to ensuring Online is an amazing place to work. Thanks for taking the time to let us know things are going well from your perspective.

    Continue reading
  2. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A very respectful and professional workplace. The management is always looking for ways to get work done better. They invest in their consultants.

    Cons

    Sometimes on longer contracts you might feel disconnected from the company.

    Online Business Systems2019-07-06

    Online Business Systems Response

    July 15, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you for submitting feedback. We know that our success is largely due to the Onliners who work here. We believe that an investment in our team members’ growth and development not only enhances their own skills, but also ultimately results in a better Client experience. When consultants work at Client sites for longer durations, it is even more important to find ways to stay engaged. We encourage you to attend Team Meetings, Summer BBQ’s, get involved in internal committees (Social Committee, Wellness Committee, etc.) , Slack Channels, and so on. Start by meeting with your Career Mentor and/or People Care team member who may be able to provide additional suggestions. As always, if you have any ideas as to what else we can do to better engage, please feel free to drop me a line.

    Continue reading
  3. "Senior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great support for professional development; strong emphasis on adhering to company's values and culture; many of opportunities to build local network; friendly senior management staff.

    Cons

    Limited opportunities to work in cutting-edge technology projects due to the market this company services. Mostly staff augmentation roles servicing local clients, although there may be few exceptions.

    Online Business Systems2019-02-24

    Online Business Systems Response

    April 15, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to respond. The pros you list are the ones we most commonly hear from team members. We believe our culture, our people, and our professional development program are what set us apart from others. Our focus and mindset has always been to solve our clients business and technology issues. For that reason, we have engaged with our clients based on the model that works best to solve their problem at hand, be it project based or staff augmentation. Over the years we have seen that preference shift from one side to the other, based on a variety of factors. Our continued focus on Digital Transformation and Cybersecurity has most recently created many more exciting projects based opportunities and we see that trend continuing.

    Continue reading
  4. "Onliners have Leadership, Intelligence, Experience, and Drive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Online places a high value on personal and professional leadership skills, heavily influenced by Dale Carnegie leadership principles. I'm amazed to always work with smart colleagues on smart challenges. Online's leadership lives their core values. Excellent Professional Development program for professional growth. Great benefits (health, RRSP program) Great experience opportunities. (I've been engaged in 13 projects across 6 clients in almost 8 years.) I'm honored to count myself an Onliner.

    Cons

    If you're an Onliner you're a consultant. Time tracking is important. You are expected to onboard quickly in client environments. You are expected to learn leadership skills. You often have less creative control and project ownership in client-run projects. You may need to navigate complex accountability and governance structures of mid-to-large enterprise. These can be struggles for those seeking purely technical growth.

    Continue reading
    Online Business Systems2019-01-25

    Online Business Systems Response

    January 30, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for your feedback. We were so pleased that your “Pros” comments hit on a lot of things that we take pride in and work hard to achieve. We know we have an amazing team of Onliners who meet challenges head on and persevere until they find a successful solution. While we have always supported professional development of our team members (both soft skills and hard skills) this had even more focus this past year when we introduced “Goal Setting” as part of our revised Performance Management framework. We know that setting goals and working to achieve goals is a lifelong commitment to growth and development and something we encourage all Onliners to do. It is gratifying to hear that you see our core values alive and well on the team. While many speak of their commitment to core values, we all know that actions speak volumes. We agree that as a Consultant you may be expected to navigate complex environments within our client sites. This is what separates great Consultants from others. We believe that the best Consultants have well rounded skills that allow them to shine in whatever environment they are placed. This becomes the basis for our next version of “How to Be an Onliner” (HBO), specifically the “Growing as an Online Consultant” programs.

    Continue reading
  5. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent company. Benefits and Professional Development budget are very good.

    Cons

    As any consultant company, sometimes we saty on bench.

    Online Business Systems2018-12-10

    Online Business Systems Response

    January 2, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for submitting feedback. “Excellent company” is exactly what we continually strive for, so it’s great to hear you feel that way. We know that no one likes to be on base camp, and when this happens we encourage you to take professional development or get involved in internal initiatives or talk to the Business Development team to ensure you are front of mind. As always, feel free to reach out to your Career Mentor for further guidance.

    Continue reading
  6. "Checkpoint Interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Management Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Trust, Honor and Integrity, best company I have ever worked for.

    Cons

    Nothing to add here,

    Online Business Systems2018-08-16

    Online Business Systems Response

    August 21, 2018Chief People Officer

    “Best company I have ever worked for” is amazing feedback. We appreciate knowing that you feel that way. Our goal is to ensure you are saying the same thing 10 years from now! Thanks so much for taking the time to submit a review.

    Continue reading
  7. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Rigorous, but positive and respectful interview process. * Mentoring program where you can get great advice on how to move your career forward. * Professional Development program giving you time and money to invest in your skillset. * Get to work with extremely talented people every day. * Clear guidelines on things like how to fit in with the culture and what is expected of you as an Onliner.

    Cons

    It's been a 100% positive experience so far!

    Online Business Systems2018-06-28

    Online Business Systems Response

    July 10, 2018Chief People Officer

    I can’t tell you how gratifying it was to read this review. It confirms that our focus on finding the best talent and our commitment to Online growth and development are evident and valued by those who work here. Our culture is often cited as something that differentiates us from our competitors, and so cultural fit is always front of mind. Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback!

    Continue reading
  8. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Online Business Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Opportunities for career growth Great people to work with Yearly professional development budget (time and money) Management made effort in supporting work life balance

    Cons

    None. You might feel that you are under paid if comparing to oil/gas company.

    Online Business Systems2018-05-01

    Online Business Systems Response

    May 14, 2018Chief People Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to submit your feedback. Great to hear from our former Onliners as well. Let us know when you are ready to come back! We love our “boomerangs!”

    Continue reading
  9. "It's a body shop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Winnipeg, MB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Online Business Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Benefits of a full-time employment (health, life insurance) * "Professional development" a.k.a. training budget but with caveats

    Cons

    It's a body shop. Sure there are a few who do consulting in-house but for the majority of the "consultants" especially the QA folks, it's a typical body shop. They try to hide that image by emphasizing company events or quarterly meetings. But at the end of the day, its just about billable hours and how much you squeeze out of the clients. They sell you the training budget and with so many conditions and things you have to do in return that you will rather just leave it alone.

    Continue reading
    Online Business Systems2018-01-31

    Online Business Systems Response

    March 4, 2018Chief People Officer

    Thanks for the feedback. It’s difficult to read but important to know. While you are right in saying we offer different perks to Onliners, we know it is the work itself and the opportunity for professional development that is most important to Onliners. We are proud of our professional development program. Last year we approved 98% of the requests for training and development. We review requests for training and conferences only to ensure that team members are aligned to the goals of the Company and the Business Unit. If PD plans are not aligned it makes it more difficult to engage our consultants and ensure they have opportunities to work on great assignments. We encourage every Onliner to fully utilize their PD allowance each year. We will review our on-boarding process to ensure that this is clear at time of hire. Our work ebbs and flows. We fully admit that there are times when we will take on staff augmentation assignments because our focus is on solving our client’s problems. The work that starts as staff augmentation can also turn into project work which is our sweet spot. We are sorry to hear that you were assigned to do staff augmentation and left before you had opportunity to work on a project. We do our best to rotate Onliners on assignments so they can build upon new experiences and work with a variety of clients. If you’d like to continue this conversation one-on-one, I encourage you to reach out to me at feedback@obsglobal.com.

    Continue reading
  10. "Intermediate Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intermediate Consultant in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Online seems to legitimately care about their employees careers, and offers flexibility in professional development, and will listen and respond and help you find the right fit of client for you to pursue what you most want to do. Generally fun and happy culture with great people.

    Cons

    Long term RRSP matching is an issue and continues to be so. Sometimes the discussion of balance seems disingenuous. Professional Development Budget is touted as part of our compensation, yet can be revoked during financially challenging times. I don't mind when this helps keep co-workers employed, but it is discussed as part of our compensation, and I dislike that it can be revoked at any time. PD budget has also not been updated in some time.

    Continue reading
    Online Business Systems2017-10-11

    Online Business Systems Response

    November 22, 2017Chief People Officer

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I can honestly say that working with the various Business Units and our Corporate Leadership team, there is a level of caring that I have not seen elsewhere. That’s one of the reasons I am here after so many years. They do their best to take the needs of their team members into account when making decisions. That doesn’t mean everyone gets what they want, but I know every decision is weighed carefully and when we can accommodate we do. In the 20 years that I have been here, there have only been 2 short moratoriums on professional development. It is a measure of last resort as we know it is near and dear to folks who work here. Our professional development budgets are intended to provide learning and growth with the ultimate goal of building high performance teams. We recognize how important this investment in our team members is to our overall growth. In instances where a good case can be made to increase one’s annual budget, we have done so as it supports and aligns to the company’s strategic goals. RRSP matching continues to be on our radar. We are currently doing a review to understand different plan options and costs associated with each. We recognize many Onliners would like to see this benefit added.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 50 reviews