Online Business Systems Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Online Business Systems Consultant Reviews

Updated Dec 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.9
99%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Online Business Systems President and Chief Executive Officer Charles (Chuck) Loewen
Charles (Chuck) Loewen
41 Ratings
  1. "Very Nice Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Consultant in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Online Business Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people who work here are great. Everyone is kind, personable, and willing to help out. I really enjoyed working here. I shouldn't have left the first time.

    Cons

    Some unsurety in company lines of business strategy and direction when I was there. They'll figure it out.

    Continue reading
    Online Business Systems2017-05-17

    Online Business Systems Response

    June 7, 2017Chief People Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback. It is good to hear from former Onliners as well as current ones. When you say you “shouldn’t have left”, know that we have several Onliners who returned after trying other ventures and are now “Boomerangs” with us. We know sometimes people must leave and try new things before they can determine where they best belong. We celebrate the return of Onliners with the presentation of a real boomerang at one of our team events. We are here if you decide it’s time to come back!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Consultant in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Online Business Systems

    Pros

    Great people and excellent corporate culture. Generous professional development allowance. Large variety of placements with different required skills and a wide variety of client placements and projects

    Cons

    Currently do not offer matching contributions for RSPs. Online presence is limited to a few offices in Canada and the USA.

    Continue reading
    Online Business Systems2017-05-01

    Online Business Systems Response

    June 7, 2017Chief People Officer

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. The pros you list are the ones we hear as being most important to Onliners. The people, the culture, the professional development allowances and of course the work itself are the reason so many Onliners choose to make this home. We know Onliners are looking for RRSP/401K matches. We have built out other benefit plans (PD, referral bonus, travel bonuses, interest free computer loans, team events etc.) that we thought were equally important, but we recognize this is still the one area we need to address. It is on the radar. As we build out new practices across North America. We seek out the best and the brightest, who are also a great cultural fit. They may not always reside where we have an office. Today there are more opportunities to work remotely in some of our practices so while we have 6 offices in North America, we have an Online presence in 7 provinces and over 10 different states today. We expect our representation across North America will grow as we do. Our founder and CEO, Chuck Loewen has often said that “growth for growth’s sake” is not a model for success. Our corporate culture will always remain at the forefront as we consider opportunities for growth.

    Continue reading
  3. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very exciting work environment, opportunities to work on many different project and with a wide range of clients

    Cons

    Sometimes it can seem a bit of a dull downtime being in between client projects

    Online Business Systems2017-03-28
  4. "Looking forward to many more great years at Online"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst, Consultant in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The management are incredibly supportive and willing to discuss anything and everything. They don't just "talk the talk" they "walk the walk". The culture is fantastic. I have never worked with such high level practitioners that are extremely strong in their fields but also have fantastic personalities. I know I can trust and rely on my co-workers which isn't something I could not always have said in past work environments. We work hard and play hard which is exactly what drives me. I am given the opportunity to try new things and to grow my career. Professional development is a huge benefit that I have used to obtain many certifications, grow my network and to stay on top of best practices.

    Cons

    There are very few negative things I can say about Online. One of the areas that has been a bit of a challenge is ensuring I put enough away in RRSP. A matching program would be great.

    Continue reading
    Online Business Systems2017-02-15

    Online Business Systems Response

    March 8, 2017Director, People Care

    Thanks for the amazing feedback. We like to think our culture is unique and what sets us apart from others, but it is gratifying when our team members validate those sentiments. We believe in hiring very bright individuals who have a strong EQ and desire to learn and we believe in creating an environment where they can grow and thrive. That was central to our thinking when we started over 30 years ago, and it still is today. Building on this foundation will support further growth and success. We review all our benefits programs on an ongoing basis. The RRSP/401K match continues to be on our radar. This past year had a renewed focus and investment on marketing, branding and building out new practices which we believe will eventually help us fund such a program.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good staff. Learning environment. Pay is good. Lot of benefits like medical benefit, vacation leave, Personal development leave, sick leave

    Cons

    Couldn't think of any issues so far. Mentor is quite understanding and it is your wish what you want to do not mentor wish you need to fulfill.

    Continue reading
    Online Business Systems2016-10-28

    Online Business Systems Response

    November 10, 2016Director, People Care

    Thanks for taking the time to submit your feedback We also believe it is an exciting place to be given all the opportunities that we see in front of us. We believe that an amazing team (which we have) combined with our commitment to maintaining a culture where people care about and support each other, will provide the building blocks that support future growth. We are happy to have you on our team and know you are part of the reason we have a promising future.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company that is eager to grow with strong emphasis on teamwork and work-life balance. There is lots of opportunities to grow and compensation is above average in the consulting world. Overtime is paid per hour when billable which is a massive perk.

    Cons

    Extended onsite client engagements make it hard to get to know everyone on the team. There should be some fun team building events like go-karts or laser tag instead of a boring powerpoint and beer/food.

    Continue reading
    Online Business Systems2016-08-30

    Online Business Systems Response

    September 16, 2016Director, People Care

    Thanks for your feedback. There is certainly a focus on growth but we are very mindful of continuing to promote strong teamwork and work-life balance as we grow. Our cultural values, now referred to as “The Onliner’s Code” have always been extremely important to us and will continue to be top of mind as we look to the future and build out new opportunities. This will be supported by our new “Cultural Ambassador” program that will focus on ensuring we continue to be a Great Place to Work and a Great Place to work with. We agree that we need to consider what else we can do to ensure Onliners stay connected and engaged even when working remotely. This will be part of the Cultural Ambassador mandate. Any suggestions on this front are more than welcome, including go karts and laser tag. Some of the workstations we have in Calgary were a requirement of a very large project that we supported in that market. As our hardware is replaced you will see a variety of options that are based on the needs of the Onliners. We suggest you work with our internal support team to address your specific requirements. We are always looking at programs and options to improve Onliners’ work environments. Honestly, free snacks are not currently on that list because we feel there are a bunch of other priorities; but then again, no idea is a bad idea. Thanks for the suggestion.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Great People!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Online has a uniquely friendly culture; co-workers and managers are very supportive and genuinely interested in helping you succeed. It's a great place to work if you like to work with really smart technical people. The leaders make an effort to hold social events that get people together, important when consultants work at companies around the city. The company has a great portfolio of clients, and the result is interesting challenging work for the consultants.

    Cons

    Like all consulting companies it can be challenging to move from assignment to assignment, although the company is supportive, ramping up can be a challenge. Benefits are average.

    Continue reading
    Online Business Systems2015-08-12

    Online Business Systems Response

    September 5, 2015Director, People Care

    The Leadership team is committed to creating an environment where people really like what they do and who they work with. Great work for Onliners is always top of mind, but we also know social events are key to building a cohesive team. There are numerous social events in locations where we have offices. This can be more difficult when Onliners are dispersed geographically, but efforts are made to encourage strong working relationships through annual team events, collaborations calls, checkpoint meetings, and the Career Mentor program. We know that moving from one assignment to the next can sometimes be a challenge. We are continuously looking at ways that we can provide support to those Onliners who require it. Please know that your People Care team, your BD team, and your Career Mentors are there to provide guidance and assistance as needed. Our benefits package is part of our holistic compensation program and there are many complicated factors we have to continually analyze and consider. We continue to expand and improve our benefits wherever we can. Recently, we enhanced our vacation policy so that all Onliners now qualify for 3 weeks’ vacation upon hire and can earn up to 5 weeks based on tenure.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Let go while on short-term disability for depression and anxiety caused by my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Winnipeg, MB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Online Business Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    To compensate for job insecurity, their consultants make an above average salary.

    Cons

    I was hired as a .NET developer and on my first day I was instructed to rework my resume to hide the fact that I had no Java experience so that they could send me to my new placement at a Java shop. We had to make it look like I had more Java experience than I did so that the client would agree to take me on. While this was happening, they assured me that I wouldn't be there long, that they would find me a better placement "soon". I had no support in this position. I was the only person working on a legacy project in a language I didn't know. Nobody at the office or at the client site knew the system I was working on, and there was no documentation available to help me figure it out. Due to the fact that I was the only developer on the project, I spent most of my days secluded and working alone. After 6 months I started asking for a new placement. I received many assurances that they were close to finding me a new position. After 9 months I started medication and therapy for depression and anxiety brought on by my situation at work. I brought up the fact that I was unhappy at work and wanted a new position. Again I was reassured that they are close to finding me a new placement. At 14 months, with no support from Online and no end in site to my "short term placement", my depression and anxiety reached a boiling point leading to an absolute breakdown at the client site. I began my short term disability a few days after that. After 6 weeks on disability, as I was preparing to go back to work, my employment was terminated with little to no explanation. This is despite the fact my disability was covered by the insurance company and was not costing Online any money whatsoever. My co-workers were simply told that I left the company. Assuming that I had moved on of my own accord, coworkers started to congratulate me on my new employment asking where I was working, and what the new opportunity was. Consultants at online are not notified that someone's employment has been terminated. Only that they have moved on. It keep the lucky consultants remaining more complacent I think. My experience at Online showed me that they care more about your billable hours than they care for you as an employee or person. They are willing to match you with work you are totally unqualified to do, as long as the client pays for it. They are also willing to actively deceive clients as to the level of expertise that their consultants have, all so that they can get another billable bum in a seat.

    Online Business Systems2015-07-29

    Online Business Systems Response

    August 19, 2015Director, People Care

    “Thank you for your feedback. First off I want to say how sorry I am that you had a negative experience. While we know some client engagements are more challenging than others, we are committed to ensuring that the overall experience for Onliners is a positive one. In the event that someone requires assistance on an assignment we do have a strong network of support. We encourage Onliners to follow-up with their Career Mentor, a People Care team member and/or a member of the Business Development team. We also have a Wellness Committee that focuses on the well-being of Onliners and an EAP program which Onliners can access confidentially. I can’t help but wonder if more open communication could have helped circumvent this situation. We will follow-up to see if there are any lessons to be learned from this. Thank you again.”

    Continue reading
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are the greatest asset of this company - each and everyone is a goldmine of skills both technical and social. I'm never bored - every new client is a new experience and challenge - that's a big plus personally for me because I love dynamic work environment, constant learning, and working with the newest technology available on the market.

    Cons

    I can't think of any.

    Online Business Systems2014-11-14

    Online Business Systems Response

    January 7, 2015Director, People Care

    Wow! Thanks for providing feedback. Our goal is create an environment where everyone feels as you do. Your feedback tells us we are on the right track. Thanks again.

    Continue reading
  10. "Best job of my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, specially if you like working remotely. Greet place for beginners.

    Cons

    Working remotely all the time means less interaction with other colleague, sometime that is boring too.

    Online Business Systems2014-09-24

    Online Business Systems Response

    October 21, 2014Director, People Care

    Your headline tells me we are doing something right and so am glad to hear that. We hire junior to senior levels and all have a place at OBS. while the Seniors may lead projects and new initiatives, they are also there to mentor more junior members. Insofar as juniors, we have found some really potential superstars in this category who show the desire and aptitude for learning, while also being a great cultural fit. These are tomorrow's leaders. I agree we need to figure out how we can improve upon the remote model so everyone feels connected. if you have any ideas please know that we would love to hear them. Please feel free to contact me.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 50 reviews