Online Trading Academy Reviews | Glassdoor

Online Trading Academy Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 187 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Online Trading Academy CEO Eyal Shahar
Eyal Shahar
157 Ratings
Pros
  • "Lots of companies like to say they're like a family but OTA is the real deal(in 40 reviews)

  • "Most positive work environment and culture I’ve ever been a part of(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "OTA is a place where careers can blossom and lives can be transformed(in 13 reviews)

  • "You do have to work weekends and some days pass 6pm(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "No place is perfect, but OTA may be a close as it gets …"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Online Trading Academy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have worked in education, fortune 100, and non-profit organizations. I highly value being surrounded by smart people who challenge me to grow. I love disrupting and feeling supported when my bets don’t pay off. I love knowing that what I do matters. I love that this is the culture I experience everyday at OTA!

    Cons

    Nothing that could be categorized as a con.

    Online Trading Academy2019-01-11
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Opportunity to Make Good Use of My Strengths"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Online Trading Academy full-time

    Pros

    I love working at Online Trading Academy. I am not only part of an amazing team of caring people and leadership, but I have been given immense freedom to pursue my interests and make good use of my strengths. Its a win win for both the company and myself.

    Cons

    There are no cons worth noting

    Online Trading Academy2019-01-11
  3. "It's a decent, conservative company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Online Trading Academy full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    high commission, easy tasks. Each franchise is owned by individuals, so if you meet a good owner, you're in luck.

    Cons

    management. overly competitive. high turnover.

    Online Trading Academy2019-03-25
  4. "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Online Trading Academy full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Innovative but sometimes overreaching products

    Cons

    Overpriced product that is sold to too many who cant afford it

    Online Trading Academy2019-02-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "It Feels Like Family!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Operations in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Online Trading Academy full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    What I love about Online Trading Academy is the genuine love they have for their employees and students. It is a fast paced environment where people are able to grow and are encouraged to bring their talents to the table. The culture flows from the top and is evident in all they do.

    Cons

    There aren't too many down sides. The company is willing to take risks and try new things! If you're used to a subdued, slow moving organization, this wouldn't be a good fit. The team work makes it all possible.

    Advice to Management

    The benefits are great in so many ways, health/dental/vision obviously, Compensation for gym memberships, amazing breakfast and lunch options daily. Loving people to work with, my advise to management would be to keep on doing what you do :)

    Online Trading Academy2019-01-10
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Don't believe all those positive reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Online Trading Academy full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Free Food, meeting great people (i.e. the students)

    Cons

    Horrible culture, as stated in other reviews "bag em and tag em" in sales as long as someone has credit. Support staff in the office is not respected (Student Support, Operations, Admin). Right from the very top "they have no value in the sales process" so you can never get a raise. 3 years and on opportunity for even a cost of living increase.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better and stop saying you have a great culture and actually embrace it.

    Online Trading Academy2019-01-15
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Education Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Educational Counselor in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Online Trading Academy full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Most positive work environment and culture I’ve ever been a part of. I’ve worked in the Corporate world for many years and Online Trading Academy is a truly unique and inspiring company to work for. I’ve never been a part of anything like it. At Online Trading Academy the focus is all on the students. This is truly education that can change lives. The environment in the Brooklyn & LI locations is unparalleled....

    Show More

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. After attending our Annual International Conference last week in CA, I am so fired up for everything to come and where OTA is going. What a time to be at OTA!!

    Online Trading Academy2018-10-30
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Almost a decade with Online Trading Academy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Online Trading Academy full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Culture, In ten years i have never had a "case of the Mondays" we have very little turn over, we work together across divisions to get it done. Online Trading Academy Encourages and reward out of the box thinking. Great work life balance. It is a company where you can grow, i started almost 10 years ago fairly entry level I worked hard and have been mentored by a few executives here. About 5 years ago I was...

    Show More

    Cons

    AT HQ they serve lunch every day and i have gained a few lbs. so yea no cons from me, I love it here.

    Online Trading Academy2018-11-15
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Online Trading Academy full-time

      Pros

      Definitely a great culture - everyone truly cares about each other and the success of the students.

      Cons

      The company has grown a lot quickly which creates growing pains.

      Online Trading Academy2018-12-07
    • Helpful (8)

      "Glorified Tele Marketing Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Representative in Lake Mary, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Online Trading Academy full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Training is free. Decent Saturday lunches.

      Cons

      Work at least 3 weekends a month. Mostly phone work with some interaction with clients. Pure sales. Bang em and tag em. Doesn't matter if they can absorb the info as long as their credit is good and then can pay the $25,000 up to $50,000.00 payment. Location is on its 3rd management team. Since my time there they have gone through multiple managers and personnel. High turnover.

      Online Trading Academy2018-11-27
    Found 187 reviews