KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Onset Financial

Engaged Employer

Onset Financial

Add a Review

Onset Financial Employee Reviews about "onset financial"

Updated Jul 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 of over 170 reviews

4.6
87%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Onset Financial Chief Executive Officer Justin Nielsen
Justin Nielsen
146 Ratings

The latest conversations about Finance

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "You get paid on commissions after the company has made money on your deal.(in 4 reviews)
  • "The youngest manager is doing the best with his team on the Mazuma Capital side because he uses the OLD and the NEW.(in 3 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "onset financial"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Learn to go BEAST MODE!!!

    Jan 10, 2018 - National Account Executive in South Jordan, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Professional and comfortable atmosphere, can where business casual or casual with Onset swag. -Plenty of swag to go around, my whole casual wardrobe is short and long sleeve Onset Financial shirts. - The management really takes into consideration your success and will do everything they can to help you understand how to do your job on the sales floor. - The opportunity to make more than a doctor is more than possible here, you gotta expect to know you have to put in the work to get it. - The company wants to see you grow, providing a couple books to read to help you succeed in the long term sales process. - Salary based (and good salary too), no need for silly punching in and out. - Decent CRM program that is simple and easy to use to do your work, though could use a little tweaks here and there. - Incentives for performing and bringing in deals on a weekly and monthly basis and the prizes are pretty stinking sweet! Gaming bundle, Jazz tickets, Ping gold driver, I phone X, Under water drone, Blendtec, Travel packages...just to name a few. - Amazing charity that they get employees to participate in. Recently had a fancy gala with Brian Reagan as part of a charity event. - Other incentives and events to encourage and boost enthusiasm because you need it on every call talking with every C-class client you talk to. - FREE friggin' cereal any time you want it. - Free pizza on Fridays

    Cons

    - It is a GRIIIIIND, but what sales job isn't? Sales people who are successful embrace the so called "grind" and turn it into the fuel that can get you financial stability. (Was this meant to be a con?) - Beginning and end of year the company hopes you put in a little more time to get deals. Welcome it, especially if you are new but expect to have a little less work/life balance during those times. Summer does make up for it as its the slower time of year.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Onset Financial Response

    VP of Marketing and Public Relations

    Thank you so much for the review! We appreciate your great attitude and your feedback.

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Environment

    Jun 23, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Onset financial has a fun modern office. The benefits are quite good. The game room is pretty fun too. However I feel on top of all of the 'nice to haves' is a culture of rewarding those that perform. I have been with the company for just under 3 years I have seen many come and go but those that perform are rewarded generously. I like the fact that if you suck at your job you don't keep your job at onset. I like going to work and being expected to perform.

    Cons

    I have been working here for quite a while and I like it so I may be a bit biased. I think this more so falls on the building maintenance but I will say the bathrooms on our level could be cleaned more frequently.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    Onset Financial Response

    Talent Recruiting Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience!

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Culture, Culture, Culture!

    Jul 30, 2021 - Recruiter 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It doesn't get better than Onset Financial and the company culture. -There is so much growth happening right now. It's a really exciting time to be working here! The energy and excitement is something I haven't seen anywhere else -They provide regular communication to their employees about company goals -You get to work with top leaders in this industry -The best coworkers that really feel like a family -Plenty of opportunities to learn from others -An awesome employee recognition program! -Incredible campus and work environment

    Cons

    Unfortunately Onset does not provide remote work opportunities. They do prefer their employees work onsite at their Draper or St. George office. However, they do allow employees to work from home when sick or if something comes up!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Onset Financial - Leading Equipment Finance in the 21st Century

    Oct 30, 2017 - National Account Executive in South Jordan, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As an Account Executive at Onset Financial - I get to play an important role in funding projects for companies all over the world in critical industries from health care to energy production and beyond. It's rewarding to know that I am facilitating the deployment of Onset's vast resources to finance much needed equipment purchases and capital expenditures for companies and organizations of all sizes. Onset Financial's positive impact doesn't stop at the first class experience and aggressive capital we offer our clients. One of my favorite things about working here is the fact that I am compensated well for the hard work that I do day in and day out. If you're willing to really put in the effort and improve your skills, you will be handsomely rewarded. I also really enjoy the work/life balance that I have - and being able to take advantage of my nights/weekends. At previous jobs - I always seemed to be working around the clock without being properly compensated. More than anything else - the access that I have to my VP and upper management is invaluable. Whether it's going to them with a question about a particular transaction or for constructive feedback on one of my sales calls - I would simply not be successful without their mentorship. Onset Financial has experienced incredible growth over the years and there is no better time than now to join the teamFinancial has experienced incredible growth over the years and there is no better time than now to join the teamFinancial has experienced incredible growth over the years and there is no better time than now to join the team. If you want to be a part of a firm that consistently strives for excellence and success - Onset is the place to be!

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons, but I do wish that company ordered "The Pie Pizzeria" more often for the delicious weekly lunch that it graciously provides to all employees!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Onset Financial Response

    Talent Recruiting Specialist

    Thanks for your comments and feedback! Onset does go all out to ensure the success of every salesperson. They love handing out those huge commission checks. It's rewarding for both employee and employer! I feel like I sound like a broken record when I say this but it's so true! If you come in, learn the biz, put in the hard work and apply the sales model, you will be successful. It's a given. You'll probably never want to leave this company. And yeah, I'm with you on the pizza. Maybe we can get them to order from The Pie more often! But hey, no complaints here, right?! :)

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Onset Financial - the industry leader in equipment finance!

    Aug 4, 2022 - National Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Onset Financial is a proven industry leader. With record-breaking growth year-over-year, we continue to set the standard for independent finance companies. Always making improvements and getting better and more effiecient in every aspect of the business, from lead generation to credit, to underwriting, and documetation, to closing and funding, we are the best in ALL categories. The Onset family of companies is like a well-oiled machine.

    Cons

    If you can call this a CON, the expectations for success are high. If you're not a 'gamer,' you will quickly discover that you don't belong here. To clarify, Onset Financial provides ample training and opportunities, but 'real' effort is required on a daily basis from each member of the team.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Best Company for Driven Sales People

    May 10, 2017 - Account Executive in South Jordan, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I work for Mazuma Capital, a subsidiary of Onset Financial. We share the same office, resources, executive management, training materials, and benefits/comp package. I have worked for the company for just over 2 years. I have written several deals and personally funded over $50MM. As a result, I have a unique understanding of the internal workings of credit, operations, documentation, accounting, executive management, and sales. I have spent countless hours working with each of these departments. Let me share my experience: • Sales: In 2016, I funded a $36MM transaction. This customer had gone to every conceivable outlet for financing and had not been able to obtain the capital they needed. I was fortunate enough to work with a VP and EVP who are the best in class. Not only were we able to win the deal on the proposal, but our VP and EVP of sales were able to navigate a lengthy and difficult underwriting process while creating minimal stress and pressure for the customer. I have been in professional phone sales for over 7 years and I can confidently say that this sales team is the best in the industry and one of the best professional sales management in the country. If you have a REAL DEAL, they will do everything in their power to get the deal done. They give you the tools, resources, and training to be successful and make an income that is most efficiently communicated by its relation to a million. • Documentation: If you want to work in equipment finance in Utah, I invite you to go interview with VFI, Tetra, Bank of the Internet (or whatever their name is in 6 months), CG, or any bank with a leasing arm. When you are in the interview, ask them how many people they have in documentation. Ask them how many years of experience their management team for documentation has. Ask to actually see their offices. If you don't think a good docs team is one of the most (if the not THE most) important factors to your success in getting transactions done and earning commissions, you are crazy. Onset Financial has the single best documentation team in the industry. Onset's documentation team has more people, more experience, and more expertise. • Credit: I see a few comments on here that Onset/Mazuma couldn't get their deals done and you might think that falls on credit. 'I brought in deals, but they couldn't get them done.' A lot of finger pointing, like losers do. Let me give you a concept of what credit has gotten bank approved for me in the last 2 years: HVAC, drywall, wallpaper, software, specialized equipment, phones, doors, parts that go inside equipment owned by another party, parking lots, and I'm sure plenty of other equipment that has almost no value outside the use by those specific customers. The oddest part is that half of these companies were facing serious financial headwinds. What were these phantom 'deals' that people brought in that credit couldn't get done? Can I call another department best in the industry without sounding trite? • Accounting: I always get paid what I am owed. I have never had a commission withheld or given to someone else. I have confidence that my customers are working with precise professionals in regards to billing, payments, and invoicing. I don't have any cool stories, but that illustrates my point. • Executive Management: The ridiculous performance of the individual departments is a testament to their expert vision and execution. Justin is a driven force in the leasing industry. He demands the best of those working for him because he holds them to the standard by which he holds himself. • Benefits: Great health benefits. My mother has been an independent insurance agent for 20 years and is especially complimentary of our benefits package. Great 401k package. All of these start after you are employed for a brief period. We get 2 weeks paid vacation and I don't know the exact amount of sick time - and last year we got an extra, unplanned, 2 weeks of paid vacation in the summer. We have professional sales trainings twice a year in Park City - just watch the video of it. • Compensation: We make great commission on the margin we generate. In 2016 (my second year here) I made 6x my salary in commissions (but it's easier to say over a quarter of a million). And I made a comfortable six figures in the 9 months I worked here in 2015. All of this working 8-5. Ask my wife how our all-expense-paid trip to Maui was. Ask me how the two tents, $2k Weber grill, multiple pairs of Oakleys, firepit, Apple gear, Ruth's Chris dinner, or any of the other incentives I have claimed are. My wife and I were able to pay cash for our entire in vitro fertilization (and we have the cutest baby boy from it) because of the commissions I have earned here. It is amazing to work at a company that so heavily invests in your success both professionally and personally. All they ask is that you go out and win business so this machine can keep plowing full steam ahead.

    Cons

    • Pressure to Perform: If you are in sales is this really a con? I hear it a lot from low performers so I guess you could argue it's a con. • Hard Work: This job and the benefits it brings are incredibly rewarding. However, it is incredibly difficult. You learn to grow a thick skin through days of cold calling catty gatekeepers, challenging CFOs, and dealing with constant rejection. This job is hard. You will earn every last penny of your incredible commissions through the process. It doesn't get easier. You don't earn the right to twiddle your thumbs at work. You don't get to sit back and watch your garden grow. You need to work at it every day. It is exhausting. But all of those challenges make it rewarding beyond any sales job I have encountered. • Competition: If you come work here in sales you will have to compete against me. You will know exactly who I am from the moment you start working here. And I do not lose. • Someone complained on here that we have free pizza every Friday. I guess you could add these intangibles to that list: Justin is really big and physically intimidating (6'4" 220 lbs). The men in executive management all seem to prefer the chrome dome - so you may have to sacrifice your stylish hair if you aspire to executive management. You get paid on commissions after the company has made money on your deal. There may be a random week in the summer when you are not allowed to come in the office and are still paid and it will not be deducted from your vacation time. The office is 72 degrees except for about a half hour in the morning where it is a couple degrees warmer. Our computers that have two monitors for each sales rep are a little old. There is a 173 page training manual that you are expected to use to improve your leasing and sales proficiency. When we have all hands meetings, you need to drop everything to be there and usually get donuts afterwords. We have free cereal stations on both sides of the office - but sometimes they have "no sugar" cereal right next to the actually good cereal. Real talk - the bathrooms do not support the amount of male employees in this building. You may get tired of ESPN/NFL Network on the TVs all day long.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful

    Onset Financial Response

    VP of Marketing and Public Relations

    Thank you so much for the review. Very well said and we are so happy to have you here at Onset Financial/Mazuma Capital!

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Onset Financial is a Company that gives, grows, and unifies

    May 4, 2022 - Executive Assistant in Draper, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Onset Financial has an incredible team that empowers all employees to do their best and work as a unit to accomplish phenomenal goals. Not only do we continue to break records and receive local and national awards, but we have the best perks! We have Onsite Professional Fitness Trainer and daily team workouts during lunch break. We also have an awesome Incentive program that allows employees to award eachother when someone has gone above and beyond. We have incredible swag, pizza fridays, and awesome training.

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    National Sales Director

    Jun 19, 2018 - Sales Director in South Jordan, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Onset Financial has the best culture and leadership. The leadership of Justin Nielsen, founder and CEO, is inspiring. My six year old son is in end stage heart failure, needing a heart transplant. Nielsen’s Heart is as big as they come, and the way he has rallied the entire company in support of me and my family, is the single greatest act of love and kindness I’ve ever seen. The business is cutting edge, and our commitment to to our customers coming first is what differentiates us, along with our flexibility and funding backing! We get deals done that help our clients grow their business and operations. Behind the scenes, you see smiles, energy, and an engaged workforce. You don’t smell the doldrums at Onset. It’s a fun, safe, and inspiring place to be.

    Cons

    Every career has its pros and cons. But I can’t think of any when it comes to Onset.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Onset Financial Response

    VP of Marketing and Public Relations

    Thank you so much for the review. You are an important part of our success here at Onset. We are all #TreyStrong!

  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    I love my job!

    Jun 26, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The very best thing about Onset Financial is the amazing people behind it. Executives and Managers of all kinds with years and years of experience. You are constantly rewarded with incentives, swag, parties, food - just to name a few. Each department has its own perks and incentives; no one is left without acknowledgement. Everyone is upbeat, positive, and actually enjoy going to work.. such a plus!!! Management encourages employees to further education to better the employee for opportunities that may arise. Overall, a great place to be.

    Cons

    No flip flops (even on casual Friday); Occasionally, too much time is invested in employees who do not deserve chance after chance. Basically, cons that exist in any AND every company because as you all know, no company or person is perfect.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Onset Financial Response

    Talent Recruiting Specialist

    Thank you for your review! We will ensure that your comments and suggestions are shared with management.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews

Popular Careers with Onset Financial Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Onset Financial? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Onset Financial Photos

+ Add Photo
Onset Financial photo of: Onset Financial Finance Committee
Onset Financial photo of: Onset Building Ribbon Cutting
Onset Financial photo of: Onset Building Ribbon Cutting
Onset Financial photo of: Onset Building Ribbon Cutting
Onset Financial photo of: Onset Building Ribbon Cutting
Onset Financial photo of: Onset Building Ribbon Cutting
Onset Financial photo of: Onset Building Ribbon Cutting
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Mazuma Capital Corporation

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Onset Financial Job Seekers Also Viewed

Domo Logo
Domo

4.4

527 Reviews
Compare