KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Ontraport

Is this your company?

Ontraport

Add a Review

Ontraport Reviews

Updated Jul 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 95 of over 106 reviews

4.4
85%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Ontraport CEO Landon Ray
Landon Ray
77 Ratings
Pros
  • "ONTRAPORT provides breakfast and lunch which is a very nice perk(in 15 reviews)

  • "great people and fun work environment(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Far from Downtown SB (lunch-wise)(in 4 reviews)

  • "It is an unpaid internship for school credit so that’s also a con(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Best thing that's ever happened to me

      Jul 15, 2021 - Junior Customer Service Representative in Santa Barbara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The community, pay, people and benefits.

      Cons

      None at all. Employee happiness is a priority at Ontraport.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Great expectations sorely let down

      Apr 8, 2021 - Client Success Representative in Santa Barbara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They pay well. The owners are super nice.

      Cons

      They make you feel like you're not good enough. Very misleading, and not friendly towards disabilities. They say one thing and do another.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Career growth has dried up, look elsewhere!

      Dec 3, 2019 - Anonymous (Client Facing) in Santa Barbara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits Passionate employees Beautiful location

      Cons

      Career growth opportunities for client facing roles have completely dried up. Extremely overworked support and client success teams with low pay and awful hours (pay has gotten better as of late, but still low). Constant turnover with client facing employees and no path for growth (they have a "vision" of growth, but not much has actually happened). Lots of changes to management personnel (sometimes based off seniority, not qualifications). Lots of changes to departmental processes, with no prior review or planning before implementing those processes - if changes need to be made and feedback is given, it can take months to adapt a process for the benefit of the company. Huge disconnect between teams - with a feeling that engineering and marketing is constantly rewarded and doing great things, while client facing achievements are overlooked. Possibly a good place to start a career, gain skills, and move onto something better - but I wouldn't recommend it with lots of better options available!

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Ontraport Response

      CEO

      Sorry to hear you feel this way! To respond to some of your concerns: 'Extremely overworked support' is an odd complaint, but one sometimes expressed by entry level employees in support. I believe you may be confusing 'overworked' with 'busy while at work'. We don't ask employees to work overtime except in very rare circumstances (multiple people called in sick, ex). It is true that we keep people busy while they're here, and we monitor response times to ensure that we are providing our clients with the level of service we are aiming for. If you are doing your best, then that's all we ask! "Constant turnover" is something that happens with entry level positions, but our employee retention rates remain stellar and we haven't seen a negative change recently. "No growth" is simply incorrect. In 2019 there have been 61 promotions on the customer facing teams (and we only have ~115 employees total!) and that's not including the exec management changes you mentioned. This includes promotions within the client facing teams and to other teams. However, you are right that the number of moves OUT of the department is down in 2019, and that was on purpose. If you'll remember, when we increased the salary of the entire client facing team at every level, the goal was to create a longer-term career path within the client facing departments and to reduce the number of people who treat the client facing teams as a stepping stone to other departments. The reason for that shift is to reduce churn in the client facing teams so we can retain knowledge and talent on the team and provide better experiences for our clients. "No planning for changes". Really? Um... perhaps you weren't invited to the planning sessions? I encourage you to discover your curiosity and use that in place of your judgement. "We won't retain clients with no sales team". This is a misunderstanding of the role of sales, who is not responsible for retention. We have had a long-standing goal of increasing the % of clients who buy without speaking to sales, and our launch of free trial this year has improved that number to the point where we've felt comfortable letting attrition in the sales department reduce the team size. In general, you sound frustrated. A lot of your concerns stem from lack of understanding about why decisions are being made, and those are great opportunities for you to learn. I would recommend speaking to your manager about these issues in your 1on1 or bringing them directly to me if you don't feel good about the answers you are getting. As I have said in our team meetings many times, if you don't understand why things work the way they do, then ask! If we can't explain, then there's probably an opportunity for us to fix something. I hope you'll take responsibility for your experience here and work to improve it. No one wants you to suffer in silence, while thinking those around you are stupid! :)

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      A place with endless opportunity if you've got grit

      Jan 15, 2020 - Engineer in Santa Barbara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - A place where you can get your foot in the door and work your way up internally - Everyone gets along pretty well for the size of the company. - Free Lunch Monday-Thursday - Many different growth paths I started in level 1 support here and worked my way into Engineering in a matter of 3 years. I won't say it was easy but my managers were supportive the whole way and did as much as they could to help me feel appreciated. A lot of the growth is out of management's hand and is dependent on a lot of external factors that I wasn't as privy to until I moved into a new department. I can appreciate the more negative reviews because there is some truth there but be sure to take them with a grain of salt. Support is no easy role no matter what company you work for.

      Cons

      - Client-facing roles aren't easy and can feel overwhelming - Growth doesn't happen as fast as what may be presented at face value - When people are out sick, the client-facing teams feel it the most

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Greatness is a bunch of small things done right

      Jan 17, 2020 - Sale Manager in Santa Barbara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      In life, much like in business, you often realize that success or failure, however you quantify it, is rarely defined by a single set of strengths or weaknesses. Instead a business is a combination of its team, its vision and its resilience in the face of adversity. Ontraport is a company that started from scratch, not with VC funding, but with a very small team and a vision that helping small businesses, the backbone of working forces around the world, mattered. They endured tough periods and they pressed on. They listened to their customers and adapted their product. They put the customer first, and genuinely listened because they knew.... That is how you win long-term. Many times throughout their history I am sure they could have “sold-out” to an outside partner that didn’t really believe in their vision but would provide great funding. But they didn’t because their values, and their mission and their commitment to small business success came first. They staffed the company with people that cared. That got up every day excited to do their jobs, excited to make an impact on the world that meant something. When they screwed up, they took ownership, created transparency and communicated. Ontraport isn't great because they have a good product, or because their team is resilient or because they embrace an internal culture with inspiring values or because they are a rare case of a business with a truly important mission... They are great because they do all these things, and all the little things, each day, to grow and learn and prevail.

      Cons

      Every company has its faults, but if you look at a group of leaders and you can say "Look, right or wrong, they tried their best to do the right thing, not just the easy thing" then you have my respect.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good if you're entry level, bad for anything else

      Feb 6, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Some really great people work here - Free food - 1/2 day Friday - Good place to start if you want a support job and right out of college

      Cons

      - Pay is better elsewhere - Experience in upper management seems to be a lot of people who have just been there a long time, instead of industry veterans - Execs have feedback loops in place to often entertain the idea they want feedback when in reality, it doesn't really matter - Too many "yes men" - The bootstrapped company stuck in startup mode, even with 80 or something people

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Lots of learning opportunities

      Jan 30, 2020 - Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - people are friendly - on campus lunch - hands on learning

      Cons

      - intern program isn't really structured

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great benefits

      Feb 24, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Santa Barbara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good location and good benefits

      Cons

      None I can think of now

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Learning valuable marketing and PR skills preparing me for a full-time job

      May 9, 2012 - Marketing/PR Intern in Santa Barbara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -This internship is extremely organized and structured. If you're the type of person who doesn't want to be sitting around not knowing what to do, this internship will keep you very busy! Every time you intern there will be 'assignment' like projects to do as well as being a helping hand in the office. Unlike many other internships you won't feel like a burden constantly asking people if they need help with anything. -There are free lunches everyday and a room filled with snacks, yum! -Gourmet coffee machine- do I need to say more -The office is beautiful and has amazing ocean views and is right next to the Santa Barbara Mission -The team is very friendly, young and make the work environment fun. -You will learn A LOT and receive 'real life' experience. I know the assignments I have completed here will truly be helpful at my next job, plus I always have so much to talk about in an interview when discussing my time here.

      Cons

      -The internship is unpaid. -About 30 minutes from UC Santa Barbara (where most of the interns go to school), a little bit of a uphill drive and they do not compensate for gas. -About 12 hours a week (pro/ con)

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      This is probably one of the best first out of college jobs I could have asked for.

      Oct 20, 2014 - Marketing Assistant in Santa Barbara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is so much room for learning and personal/professional improvement, and grow into a new role and take on new responsibility. I can say that i got my best friends from working here, and are ones that are going to be around for a long time. Also, every individual here is welcoming and friendly. When someone is overwhelmed or stressed out, there are always people who will reach out and see how you're doing and if they can lend a hand. The work load is what I would expect it to be, it keeps you busy, but you never get bored working on your projects. The best thing about projects, is that now you get the opportunity to work with people you wouldn't normally get to.

      Cons

      I would change the time off policies, and give people the opportunity to accrue more PTO, get some over-time even if they are salaried employees, and a 401K plan.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 95 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Ontraport Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Ontraport? Share Your Experiences

    Ontraport logo
    or