Onyx Brands Reviews | Glassdoor

Onyx Brands Reviews

Updated May 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 39 reviews

2.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
24%
Recommend to a Friend
24%
Approve of CEO
Marsha Martin
37 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Best place I’ve ever worked!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Maumelle, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onyx Brands full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Good work environment, great coworkers and work-life balance. CEO is very personable and committed to the company. Management cares about the employees.

    Cons

    No cons to share. I've come to enjoy work and love the culture here.

    Advice to Management

    Continue supporting employees and their development.

    Onyx Brands2018-03-30
  2. Helpful (2)

    "I still have nightmares."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Maumelle, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Onyx Brands full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You’ll appreciate every other job you’ve ever had a lot more.

    Cons

    Everything. The owner and family are complete sociopaths who just take advantage of everyone. The lady who runs accounting downstairs talks to you worse than the owner does and is two-faced. She’ll hunt you down in the warehouse constantly and is untouchable. You’ll see if you ever get desperate enough to apply here. Little pay for the amount of garbage you have to put up with. All the positive reviews are paid for or...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    To have an entire office quit in the matter of a month should be a red flag.

    Onyx Brands2019-05-19
  3. Helpful (2)

    "You are micromanaged and not appreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Maumelle, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Onyx Brands full-time

    Pros

    This company have supportive co-workers.

    Cons

    The top management is very rude and inconsiderate. You are not paid for extra hours worked. The CEO capitalizes on employee talents without crediting or appreciating this. Lots of micromanagement which does not allow employees to work effectively.

    Onyx Brands2019-05-15
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Horrible Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Freelance Graphic Designer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Onyx Brands

    Pros

    Nothing that I can think of.

    Cons

    I was hired as a freelance graphic designer for this company. What a joke. They took my designs and paid me nothing. I spent grueling hours on their false promises. They deserve the worst.

    Advice to Management

    I hope you all fail.

    Onyx Brands2019-05-06
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Circling the Drain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Onyx Brands full-time

    Pros

    The Keurig in the break room is pretty much the highlight of this place.

    Cons

    Rude and patronizing CEO, no vision for the future- all they know how to do is copy other brands and buy cheap crap from China.

    Advice to Management

    Sell out while your company still has value.

    Onyx Brands2018-09-21
  6. Helpful (3)

    "False Promises, added to Nepotism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Onyx Brands full-time

    Pros

    Steady work, 401k/benefits after close to 2 years, peer employees work well together to achieve goals

    Cons

    Extremely steep learning curve with little to no training, expectations to meet goals without proper instructions or training, as a family business: nepotism is allowed a foothold and the "blame game" is shifted versus taking responsibility for their own actions, staff turn-over is high, condescending and thinly veiled threats on job status not a surprise, authority is undermined by admin when it suits them Very little...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to concerns and when someone answers you. Don't ask a question and interrupt someone answering with the "correct" answer. Inventory needs to be physically inventoried, not just checked in the computer to prevent shortages. Allow someone to be empowered in their position, not when it's "going well", only to undermine when things don't go perfect.

    Onyx Brands2018-07-24
  7. "Inventory management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inventory Specialist in Little Rock, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Onyx Brands for more than a year

    Pros

    Allowed to be in control of counting incoming and outgoing inventory.

    Cons

    We could use more people to offload trucks.

    Advice to Management

    Should go with a scan system for all boxes but I know it would be difficult for the amount of products shipped.

    Onyx Brands2018-03-26
  8. Helpful (11)

    "*SAVE YOURSELF FROM THIS PLACE* the recent positive reviews were paid for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Maumelle, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Onyx Brands full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My co-workers are good people for the most part.

    Cons

    Many, but it all stems from the owner. Her attitude and mentality are literally cancerous. She is very deceitful during the hiring process (including paying for false positive reviews to be written). However, her arrogance, negativity, and most importantly her business incompetence, will all become abundantly clear within a few weeks of starting your job here.

    Advice to Management

    None. It is laughably obvious these positive reviews are being artificially generated. Ultimately it won't matter though, the truth is out about you Marsha.

    Onyx Brands2018-04-05
  9. "Fun and Exciting workplace!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onyx Brands part-time

    Pros

    Onyx Brands is a growing company with lots of career opportunity. It is an office full of energy and hard working people. This company gives you an opportunity to learn from the best in the business in retail and sales. Overall it is a very exciting place to work and grow in your career.

    Cons

    It's a fast paced environment causing you to think quickly and work fast.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in hardworking, experienced employees who will positively contribute to the company.

    Onyx Brands2018-02-27
  10. Helpful (7)

    "This place is terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer in North Little Rock, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Onyx Brands full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food sometimes. Working in the beauty industry. I met some really incredible ladies who will be lifelong friends.

    Cons

    Everything. Run. Don't walk. The CEO is crazy and can't run the business like a real leader. She just exploits her teammates talents and takes all the real credit. Oh also, don't believe the obviously fake reviews. They only pay you on salary for 80 hours.... THEN you MIGHT get a bonus of $100 if you work like 20 hours overtime for no overtime pay.

    Advice to Management

    Run your business like a GOOD PERSON. Treat your employees better.

    Onyx Brands2017-12-30
Found 39 reviews