Onyx MD Reviews | Glassdoor

Onyx MD Reviews

Updated Apr 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Onyx MD CEO Robert Moghim, M.D. (no image)
Robert Moghim, M.D.
27 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Onyx MD full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment and very flexible.

    Cons

    Some processes and procedures can be improved.

    Onyx MD2019-03-05
  2. "Horrible Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Onyx MD full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice People on the sales floor for the most part.

    Cons

    There is no real vision .

    Advice to Management

    You finally listened and sold the company.

    Onyx MD2019-04-10
  3. "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Physician Recruiter in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Onyx MD full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company culture is great, let’s just start there. Great leadership, great work life balance, love the guidance & support from the sr recruiters as well as the overall office vibe/dynamic! So glad I started here as opposed to the larger firms I received offers from before Onyx. The environment is PERFECT for anyone who is willing to learn and do the work it takes to be successful. The VP is a wealth of knowledge... and encourages you to pick his brain; for a person who’s full of endless questions (like me!), this quality alone is invaluable and I’m not sure if I would have found this anywhere else. I came in with zero industry knowledge and with his help and help from the Sr. recruiters, I’ve experienced so much growth in this position. Lastly, I’m not a fan of being micromanaged, so I appreciate the fact that management at Onyx has a “hands-on” approach & are easily accessible if you need guidance BUT they’re not breathing down your neck. There’s a ton of autonomy, which is great if you’re the type to work hard when nobody’s watching...if not, then let’s just say you’ll definitely have enough rope to hang yourself with.

    Show More

    Cons

    -Better leads. Leads that come from account managers are golden, but leads that come from some of the resources used are dead on arrival. This can be frustrating especially if you’re a recruiter who receives most of their leads from the latter. -Better training on the database. Onyx’s CRM is a really resourceful tool if you actually know how to use it..otherwise it’s just a huge database with a lot of outdated... profiles in need of a little love and attention.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None, thanks for the opportunity! =)

    Onyx MD2019-01-23
  4. Helpful (2)

    "A Former Recruiter's Wisdom"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruiter in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Onyx MD full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I started my career with Onyx MD. I came in with zero industry experience and quickly became the top producer and moved up the company. It’s been a couple of years since my time with Onyx came to an end, but I am very thankful for the foundation Onyx built for me. Recruiting isn’t for everyone, but it’s easy enough where anyone can do it; that is, if you have the discipline, motivation, and drive to do so. If you... have those things, or are at least working towards having those things, you have control over your destiny at Onyx. What you put into your work, you get out of it. You are almost in complete control of your paycheck. Onyx wants you to succeed and they have tools, leaders, and solid pay structures in place to help you do so. I believe Onyx is a great place to begin your career, to get back on track with one, or to advance one. When I think of the skills I acquired in the professional world and value the most, I know I can accredit Onyx for helping me build them. I believe that Onyx has build a solid leadership team, weeding out the ones not invested in growing with the company. Leadership should not only care about advancing the company and their careers, but also be invested in their team and building employees and an atmosphere that fosters growth. Onyx provided that for me. I am once again advancing my career and interviewing with potential employers. I am very picky these days when choosing a play where I want to invest my energy and most of my waking life. I have high standards and thank Onyx for that. When I think of the type of environment I would like to work in/can tolerate spending the majority of waking life, I think back on Onyx... There were so many perks. We had long holiday breaks, the ability to work towards a team goal to get an extra day off around the holidays or sporadically, bonus incentives on top of an already superb commission plan, team events, birthdays recognized, lunch outings, holiday parties, great pay and benefits, awesome PTO, and more. Overall, a pretty rewarding workplace. I truly enjoyed going into work.

    Show More

    Cons

    One sour person can bring down an entire team and ruin it for everyone. Team bonuses really pull everyone together. You must be a team-player. If you are unhappy, it's up to you to make changes and/or talk to management. If someone on your team is unhappy, it's up to you or managment to help them. This is a true team environment. If you aren't a team player, it won't work. It's also up to management to recognize... that bad apple before the whole team is infiltrated, which sometimes it can be too late for. Lines of communication between management and employees should always be open and trust established.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep lines of communication open with employees. I truly benefitted from consistent one-on-ones. I also did the best in my career at Onyx when we did tape training. It made me hold myself accountable so every conversation I had was thoughtful and thorough. Consider hiring more employees with industry experience. There are some great recruiters out there with extensive experience looking to build with a great... organization where they are in control of their income. It's all about finding the right people. The CEO could engage with employees more often. I value a CEO who allows his face to be seen and isn't just off with one of his many business endeavors.

    Show More
    Onyx MD2019-01-09
  5. "Starting soon and will update"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Onyx MD full-time

    Pros

    The office environment did not appear stressful

    Cons

    I have none at the time

    Onyx MD2018-11-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onyx MD full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    OnyxMD is such a great company to work for! The environment is professional and there are lots of room for growth opportunities. With uncapped commission, the possibilities are endless and the only person who can hold you back is yourself.

    Cons

    Coming in the pay is comparable with most recruiting positions, but I wish it would have been higher. However, after commission I am making more than I was in my last position.

    Advice to Management

    Management (the COO and VP) are on the floor and have an open door policy. Having individual one offs monthly helps to build rapport and keep management in the know of your career aspirations, so that they can better mentor you - keep up the great work!

    Onyx MD2018-06-13
  7. Helpful (3)

    "They do not know where they are going"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Onyx MD full-time

    Pros

    They are always hiring, or is that a con?

    Cons

    leadership, or lack there of

    Onyx MD2018-05-03
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Sucks!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Onyx MD full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company taught me a lot. Some of the people there were friendly.

    Cons

    If you work at onyx my only suggestion to you would be to get out! If you’re looking to work at onyx know that they are not the company they make you believe they are. Everything is great at first then the people who their true colors. Especially the COO. I’ve never worked for a company that was so horribly managed before in my life!! I’m not surprised the company hasn’t gone bankrupt yet. They bring you in and tell... you that you can make an X amount of money when in reality they’re barely paying their bills. Everyone good that I’ve worked with there has either left for a better opportunity or were fired. Those who were fired actually count it as a blessing. I have nothing against the CEO or CFO, they seem to be amazing people but they should really look into the COO and realize that person is running the company into the ground!!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I suggest you get a new management team. It should be easy to replace the only TWO left. It’s a joke really!!

    Onyx MD2018-04-21
  9. Helpful (11)

    "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Onyx MD full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    During my time with Onyx, I learned ENOUGH about the industry but it was only from peers. They try to have events. The people there is the only reason I stayed as long as I did.

    Cons

    Everything that has to do with why I left was because of ONE person so lets start there. We all know who this person is. When I started, they had true leaders who knew the industry inside and out. Due to the nature of the CEO and CFO, they choose to remove not one but four VP's all at the same time and put a single someone (who has been fired from Onyx several times) as acting COO. Mind you that this person has had... NO experience in the Recruiting, Business Development or Accounting world but only logistics. We were constantly told that we were in our best times in company history financially but that only because we didn't have 4 VP's salaries to pay. They also began the PURGE so to speak but firing people before they were even in a position to make anything in commissions. Moving on, my drive for success was ripped away from me several months after starting due to providing solid candidate over to opportunities and nothing ever happened with them for several months then it was decided that the position was now closed. They then came back on me that I wasn't doing my job by providing enough physicians over to the jobs that we had available which were so few due to the non existence of the Business Development team due to budget restrictions and cuts. Don't buy into the lies of Onyx as they are only looking for people that they can walk all over. If you were to take each person in there and ask them how long they've been there, you would be shocked at the amount of people that has only been there for 1 or less. They have their select few that they make examples to new hires saying they can make a certain amount because their vets are making x amount of money but in whole, they churn and burn very quickly. Save yourself the hassle.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Just to start off, I have NEVER left any comments on this site about your company. I know that the CEO will always come on here trying to defend his mess of a company here in the Texas office by saying that the same person wrote all of these comments. I have to say that by reading them and knowing who wrote them, they are clearly unique in there own way from different people. Sinking ship is used because that is... clearly what Onyx is. I like to call it more of a tax write off. My advice to you is that if this is how you're going to run what you call a company then please shut it down and stop wasting people's time on your tax write off. You own pain clinics and sit on the Colordado Board, what is the reason for keeping a failing company open? So that you can mentally destroy and humiliate your current and former employee's? If you truly care about Onyx the way I have HEARD you say you do, then FIRE the COO and put one of the guys that you have running Account Managers or Recruiters in charged as acting COO and you could see some AMAZING things done in such a short time. This is just another reason why all your former (and current) employee's say that Onyx is falling apart. Because you don't listen to what the employee's have to say about leadership. You brought a shrink in to figure out what was going on with the company and what people truly felt and yet the COO is still there. I know of many people including myself that told the shrink how awful the COO is even just as a person yet you still allow then to run your Dallas office. "Good Luck and I wish you the best in all your future endeavors".

    Show More
    Onyx MD2018-01-10
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Addison, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Onyx MD full-time

    Pros

    The people. I made some great friendships that have lasted.

    Cons

    Training when I came on was poor. They had made some major changes in key roles and did nothing to even temporarily cover those positions leaving the new feeling lost and overwhelmed.

    Advice to Management

    Hiring and then laying off shortly there after, is not good business. I saw a lot of that in my time with Onyx. Those people made decisions in their current situations and employment to come on board with a company that may have not been ready for them. It was horrible to see someone sitting at their desk one minute and then HR would be packing up their belongings the next. It made everyone uneasy and fearful of... the direction of the company.

    Show More
    Onyx MD2017-12-05
Found 44 reviews